Subscribe and enjoy more than 1 million books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced 7236434c7af12f85357591f712aa5cce47c3d377e8addfc98f989c55a4ef4ca5
Burning Altar - cover

Burning Altar

Sarah Rayne

Publisher: Severn House

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

Patrick Chance was a notorious Victorian rake whose memoirs of his travels through Tibet caused a sensation at the time.  But, having retraced his ancestor's footsteps, Sir Lewis Chance is the only one who knows the truth. For he has also stumbled on the strange, secret tribe who guard the sinister Stone Tablets in remote Tibet. A group whose perverted beliefs, blood rituals and horrific customs have torturous, hellish consequences.

Other books that might interest you

  • Welcome to Night Vale - A Novel - cover

    Welcome to Night Vale - A Novel

    Joseph Fink, Jeffrey Cranor

    • 3
    • 61
    • 0
    From the creators of the wildly popular Welcome to Night Vale podcast comes an imaginative mystery of appearances and disappearances that is also a poignant look at the ways in which we all struggle to find ourselves...no matter where we live. 
    "Hypnotic and darkly funny. . . . Belongs to a particular strain of American gothic that encompasses The Twilight Zone, Stephen King and Twin Peaks, with a bit of Tremors thrown in."--The Guardian 
    Located in a nameless desert somewhere in the great American Southwest, Night Vale is a small town where ghosts, angels, aliens, and government conspiracies are all commonplace parts of everyday life. It is here that the lives of two women, with two mysteries, will converge. 
    Nineteen-year-old Night Vale pawn shop owner Jackie Fierro is given a paper marked "KING CITY" by a mysterious man in a tan jacket holding a deer skin suitcase. Everything about him and his paper unsettles her, especially the fact that she can't seem to get the paper to leave her hand, and that no one who meets this man can remember anything about him. Jackie is determined to uncover the mystery of King City and the man in the tan jacket before she herself unravels. 
    Night Vale PTA treasurer Diane Crayton's son, Josh, is moody and also a shape shifter. And lately Diane's started to see her son's father everywhere she goes, looking the same as the day he left years earlier, when they were both teenagers. Josh, looking different every time Diane sees him, shows a stronger and stronger interest in his estranged father, leading to a disaster Diane can see coming, even as she is helpless to prevent it. 
    Diane's search to reconnect with her son and Jackie's search for her former routine life collide as they find themselves coming back to two words: "KING CITY". It is King City that holds the key to both of their mysteries, and their futures...if they can ever find it.
    Show book
  • Alpha Wolf - Alpha Company Series #1 - cover

    Alpha Wolf - Alpha Company...

    Molly Evans

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The Alpha Company wolf pack is on a mission led by commander Vic Stone. Nothing and no one gets past them. Not even the Ridge Runners, their sworn enemies, determined to control the entire shifter community of New Mexico. In order to save the lives of countless shifters and humans, Vic and Alpha Company have to take out the rogue band of wolves hidden deep in the Sandia Mountains. 
    When one of Vic's wolves is seriously injured on a mission to rescue a kidnapped child, Vic takes him to the woman who will change Vic's life forever. Trista Holiday is the only vet he trusts with his wolves. She's brilliant, a skilled surgeon and sexy as hell. Determined to save the life of this wolf, Trista stops at nothing, even threatening to infiltrate Alpha Company's secret compound to ensure his health.. 
    Without a choice, Vic takes the sexy and troublesome veterinarian to his secret hideaway and there they discover the passion and connection that make each other complete. Determined to cause as much destruction as possible, the Ridge Runners kidnap Trista to draw Vic out of his sanctuary. As she lies dying in his arms, Vic knows there is only one thing he can do to save her life and his own soul. 
    Now, they are a family, a pack, and together they will fight for their land, their lives and the future of their species against all enemies.
    Show book
  • The Familiar - cover

    The Familiar

    Benjamin E. Sawyer

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A six year old boy has vanished, taken from his bed whilst his parents slept. He was not the first.
    Now a whole town lives in a state of fear.
    Single parent Emma is worried. Nuisance calls in the early hours. Her daughter, Caitlin’s obsession with an imaginary friend. A man she calls Mr. Pig. 
    Drawings begin to appear all over the house, on windows and place that Caitlin cannot reach. Each drawing telling the tale of Mr. Pig. Of his strange, animal features and his promise to take Caitlin away with him, whilst her mother sleeps…
    Soon events conspire to make Emma believe that her daughter’s friend may be all too real. She cannot escape the fear, is Caitlin next? 
    From the past has risen a dark evil. The Tall Man is coming. The Familiar. Right hand of vengeance. The devourer of children. Within the walls of a secure hospital is the only person who might be able to stop it…
    Age old Fear. Brand new terror…..
    Show book
  • Robert E Howard's Conan the Cimmerian Barbarian - The Complete Weird Tales Omnibus - cover

    Robert E Howard's Conan the...

    Robert E. Howard, Finn J.D. John

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    This 860-page collection contains all of Robert E. Howard's Conan the Cimmerian stories published during his lifetime, contextualized with biographical details of their author. The hardcover, a Multimedia Bundle Edition, includes the e-book and audiobook editions as downloadable bonus content. 
    Excerpt from Introduction: 
    "When the first Conan of Cimmeria story appeared in the pages of Weird Tales magazine in December 1932, nothing quite like it had ever before appeared in print.Author Robert E. Howard had been writing stories broadly similar to it for half a decade; but it was with Conan, and the Hyborian Age storyworld in which he was placed, that Howard finally fully doped out the sub-genre that would become known as “sword and sorcery,” of which Howard is today considered the founding father. 
    "Conan’s origins date back to an experiment in 1926 titled “The Shadow Kingdom,” featuring the character Kull, exile of Atlantis. The idea — Howard’s great innovation — was, at its core, historical fiction set in a pre-historical period. That pre-historical period — being, of course, lost in the mists of time — could contain anything Howard might like to include: evil races of sentient snake-things, sorcerers, undead creatures, demons walking upon the earth, anything. 
    "In other words, Howard was creating a secular mythology. 
    "And as with any mythology, secular or no, there would be a hero, a Ulysses or a Theseus, an exceptional man of legend striding through that myth-world, sword in hand, righting wrongs and slaying supernatural monsters and, along the way, providing metaphorical insight onto his world and ours. 
    "At the same time, he was finding success with another historical-fiction-fusion innovation: The grim, savage English Puritan Solomon Kane. Kane’s world was the skull-strewn chaos of Europe and north Africa during the Thirty Years War, in the early 1600s. Little enough is known about specific events during that dark time that it was possible to take historical liberties with it as a storyworld, so that it could accommodate dark magic, walking skeletons, vampires, magic staffs, and, of course, N’Longa the witch-doctor. 
    "Howard quickly realized he was onto something with Solomon Kane. The first Solomon Kane story, “Red Shadows,” appeared in August 1928 in Weird Tales, and readers loved it. Here was a dark, brooding world of menace and witchcraft connected pseudo-genealogically to their own. It was easy for readers to “take the ride” — to suspend their disbelief and envision Kane’s adventures as a part of the real world. 
    "But, perhaps the connection with the real world was too close. The countries of 1630s Europe are well known; the causes of the conflict fully understood. There was only so much Howard could do in Solomon Kane’s world. Moreover, Solomon Kane is just a hard character to root for. Unlike Kull, he is, not to put too fine a point on it, really not a sane man. 
    "So it makes perfect sense that after the shadowy, prehistoric world of Kull and the dark, necromantic world of Solomon Kane, Howard would combine these two precursors to develop a world that was far enough into the distant past to be free of actual historical constraints — like Kull’s — yet close enough to the present to still exist as echoes and legends in the world’s mythologies. 
    "And so Howard created The Hyborian Age, circa 10,000 B.C. And to play the role of our avatar as we explore this shadowy, almost-historical  world, he gave us Conan the Cimmerian - to tread the jeweled thrones of the Earth under his sandalled feet."
    Show book
  • Wicked Angel - A Novel - cover

    Wicked Angel - A Novel

    Taylor Caldwell

    • 1
    • 16
    • 0
    A tale of family horror in the tradition of The Bad Seed and The Omen from the #1 New York Times–bestselling author of Dialogues with the Devil. To his mother, Angelo is the most beautiful and brilliant child in the world. She caters to his every whim and dismisses his malicious outbursts as childish pranks. But as Angelo grows older, his behavior only becomes more disturbing.   A pet dog disappears. A playground run-in leaves one of his teachers with a broken arm. Still, his mother refuses to believe that anything is wrong with her precious angel. His father and his aunt, however, have begun to suspect that behind Angelo’s cherubic smile lurks a dark and twisted monster who preys on the innocent. But how do they reveal Angelo’s true nature before it’s too late?   A mesmerizing portrait of evil personified, Wicked Angel is a psychological tour-de-force from an author who “never falters when it comes to storytelling” (Publishers Weekly).
    Show book
  • Sin - cover

    Sin

    Erin Lee, Alice La Roux, Mila...

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Cardinal sins, they vary by person, but seven always seem to make the list. 
    Pride, greed, lust, envy, gluttony, wrath, and sloth. 
    These are said to be obvious, everyday sins, but something about them isn't so ordinary. 
    What happens when these excessive desires become more than a craving, but a way of life? 
    Prepare to meet the embodiment of each. 
    Seven authors present seven deadly sins and what happens when you give in to temptation. 
    Forgive us, for we have sinned...and we will do it again and again.
    Show book