Subscribe and enjoy more than 1 million books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced 7236434c7af12f85357591f712aa5cce47c3d377e8addfc98f989c55a4ef4ca5
Murder at Blackburn Hall - High Society Lady Detective #2 - cover

Murder at Blackburn Hall - High Society Lady Detective #2

Sara Rosett

Publisher: Sara Rosett

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

A missing author and a sleepy English village rife with secrets . . . 
September, 1923. Despite closing her first case, high society lady detective Olive Belgrave hasn't found a new client. She's taken a job as a hat model to pay for her poky boarding house room. But then a job offer comes her way—make discreet inquiries about a famous author who's disappeared.  
Olive travels to the English countryside to hunt for the missing mystery author. But soon after she arrives in the sleepy village, a body is discovered. Then a second murder focuses the police's attention on Olive, and she must clear her name before the murderer pens a plot that frames her.  
Murder at Blackburn Hall is the second book in the High Society Lady Detective series, a lighthearted cozy historical mystery series set in 1920s England. If you love novels that take you back to the Golden Age of detective fiction with interesting plots, posh settings, and twisty mysteries, you'll love the High Society Lady Detective Series from USA Today bestseller Sara Rosett.  
September, 1923. Despite closing her first case, high society lady detective Olive Belgrave hasn't found a new client. She's taken a job as a hat model to pay for her poky boarding house room. But then a job offer comes her way—make discreet inquires about a famous author who's disappeared.  
Olive travels to the English countryside to hunt for the missing mystery author. But soon after she arrives in the sleepy village, a body is discovered. Then a second murder focuses the police's attention on Olive, and she must clear her name before the murderer pens a plot that frames her.  
Murder at Blackburn Hall is the second in the High Society Lady Detective series, a lighthearted cozy historical mystery series set in 1920s England. If you love novels that take you back to the Golden Age of detective fiction with interesting plots, posh settings, and twisty mysteries, you'll love the High Society Lady Detective Series from USA Today bestseller Sara Rosett. 

Other books that might interest you

  • Rage of a Demon King - cover

    Rage of a Demon King

    Raymond E. Feist

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    “A massive, entertaining tale.”—Ft. Lauderdale Sun-Sentinel The Serpentwar rages on! In Rage of a Demon King—the spellbinding third installment in Raymond E. Feist’s masterful epic fantasy, The Serpentwar Saga—the imperiled realm of Midkemia confronts its most devastating horror, as a nightmare beyond imagining descends upon the war-torn land determined to devour and destroy. A terrible conflict reaches a breathtaking climax—a world-annihilating conflagration that pits serpent against man and magician against demon. Rage of a Demon King is Feist at his best, solidifying his standing along with Terry Goodkind, George R. R. Martin, and Terry Brooks, as the elite creators of epic sword and sorcery fantasy.
    Show book
  • Gone Again - A Jack Swyteck Novel - cover

    Gone Again - A Jack Swyteck Novel

    James Grippando

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Winner of the 2017 Harper Lee Prize for Legal Fiction 
    This electrifying and fast-paced tale of suspense from the New York Times bestselling author of the acclaimed Cash Landing, Cane & Abe, and Black Horizon, tells the story of Miami criminal defense lawyer Jack Swyteck takes on his first death-row client since The Pardon in a case as twisty as it is shocking. 
    Sashi Burgette vanished three years ago on her way to school. The night after the teenager’s disappearance, ex-con Dylan Kyle was stopped for drunk driving. An article of Sashi’s clothing was found in his truck, and a police videotape of his drunken explanation under interrogation sealed his fate at trial. Now, just days from Kyle’s execution, Sashi’s mother visits Jack Swyteck, doing pro bono work at the Freedom Institute, and delivers shocking news: “Sashi called me.” 
    The police dismiss the call as a cruel hoax. The State Attorney refuses to consider the new evidence, insisting the case is closed. The governor has already signed the death warrant. An innocent man may be executed and time is running out—unless his lawyers can locate Sashi. 
    A man of principle who believes in justice, Jack jumps into the investigation. But the deeper he digs the more he discovers that nothing is what it appears to be. Not the victim. Not her alleged killer. And definitely not Sashi’s parents, whose grief ruptured their marriage, each openly blaming the other for what happened to their daughter. 
    As their gut-wrenching and hopelessly conflicting version of events unfolds in a Miami courtroom, it becomes clear there is something even more difficult to find than a long-missing girl . . . 
    The truth.
    Show book
  • Death of a Novice - A mystery set in 1920s Ireland - cover

    Death of a Novice - A mystery...

    Cora Harrison

    • 0
    • 13
    • 0
    The sudden death of a young novice nun raises a series of puzzling questions in the latest Reverend Mother historical mystery.The Reverend Mother is delighted with her new entrant to the convent. Young Sister Gertrude is well-educated, has worked for an accountant and has an appealing sense of humour. But one autumn morning, Sister Gertrude is found dead inside a small wooden shed, just beside the river. Surely a young nun could not die from alcohol poisoning?But when the Reverend Mother delves more deeply into Sister Gertrude’s background, she finds some puzzling anomalies. Why did the young nun not delay her entry to the convent until after her sister’s wedding?  Is it a coincidence that her father died of a similar illness not long before? And could there be a link between Sister Gertrude’s death and the gunpowder explosion on Spike Island? The Reverend Mother must find the answers to these questions if she is to safeguard her community from suspicions of murder.
    Show book
  • Wheel of Fire - A British police procedural - cover

    Wheel of Fire - A British police...

    Hilary Bonner

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    A mysterious fire at a Somerset manor house leads to a complex and intriguing case for Bristol detective David Vogel. When Sir John Fairbrother, head of one of the world’s biggest private banks, burns to death, along with his nurse, in a catastrophic fire at his Somerset manor house, Detective Inspector David Vogel finds himself dealing with a complex and mystifying sequence of events. If arson was involved, as Vogel believes, the obvious suspect is Sir John’s chauffeur/gardener, George Grey … but is he guilty?Determined to get to the bottom of the mystery and bring those responsible for the fire and two further suspicious deaths to justice, Vogel uncovers a tangled web of intrigue which exceeds anything he at first imagined.
    Show book
  • The Charlotte and Thomas Pitt Novels Volume Three - Death in the Devil's Acre Cardington Crescent Silence in Hanover Close and Bethlehem Road - cover

    The Charlotte and Thomas Pitt...

    Anne Perry

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Enjoy the “exemplary Victorian company” of this London sleuthing couple with books seven through ten in the long-running New York Times–bestselling series (The New York Times).   “Few mystery writers this side of Arthur Conan Doyle can evoke Victorian London with such relish for detail and mood” (San Francisco Chronicle). Now, in a single volume, readers can enjoy more of Anne Perry’s “unfailingly rewarding” series (The New York Times Book Review).  Death in the Devil’s Acre: A vicious and depraved serial killer is loose in the slums of Devil’s Acre. When Pitt recognizes one of the victims as a blackmailing footman from a case on Callander Square, his investigation reveals a shocking connection between the city’s brothels and Victorian high society. Now Charlotte and her sister Emily, Lady Ashworth, must unveil the dirty secrets of the aristocracy.  Cardington Crescent: When Thomas Pitt’s womanizing brother-in-law is poisoned by his morning coffee, the inspector must exonerate the prime suspect: Lady Ashworth, Charlotte’s sister Emily. With the help of Great-Aunt Vespasia, the couple chip away at a wall of deceit and silence to find the real killer, even after Lord Ashworth’s suspected paramour is strangled—and found by Emily.  Silence in Hanover Close: At the behest of his superior, Pitt reopens a case gone cold. Three years prior, amidst whispered rumors of treason, Robert York, an important member of the British Foreign Office, was murdered in his home in London’s exclusive Hanover Close. When a York family housemaid is found dead shortly after Pitt begins his investigation, he is accused and thrown into prison. Now only Charlotte and her recently widowed sister stand between Thomas Pitt and the gallows.  Bethlehem Road: When members of Parliament are murdered one-by-one crossing Westminster Bridge, Thomas and Charlotte must sift through a wide range of suspects, including anarchists and suffragettes. As more seats open up in Parliament and fear grips London, the couple wonders: Are the killings political or somehow personal?
    Show book
  • Still Lives - A Novel - cover

    Still Lives - A Novel

    Maria Hummel

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Maria Hummel will be at the 2018 ABA Winter Institute in Memphis, TN A deeply satisfying, smart and rapid-paced thriller where each potential suspect will have the reader looking over her shoulder Los Angeles and the art scene are characters in their own right Motherland, Hummel's last novel, sold over 12,000 copies in print and nearly 16,000 copies in digital ARCs available at ALA Midwinter and AWP Advertising and giveaways with NEIBA, Shelf Awareness, Library Journal, Booklist, as well as an extensive and aggressive paid social media campaign For readers who love Tana French, Donna Tartt, or Emma Cline  Praise from Librarians and Booksellers "A smart, well-written art thriller? More please! I loved this book—one of my easiest handsells last year was The Last Painting of Sara de Vos by Dominic Smith, and this too will be an easy book to recommend. The Art Forger and The Muralist were also very big in our area, and I know fans will turn to this, as well. Thanks for publishing such a smart, fun read!" —Mary Cotton, Newtonville Books (Newton, MA)
    "Art is life and art imitates life in this novel about a female artist caught up as a commodity in the art world. Maria Hummel gives us a bird's-eye view of the inner workings of an art gallery in this thrilling novel." —Rachel Watkins, Avid Bookshop (Athens, GA)
    Show book