Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Emmet and Me - cover

Emmet and Me

Sara Gethin

Publisher: Honno Press

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

From the author of the Not The Booker Prize shortlisted Not Thomas
I once had a forbidden friend. He was funny and brave, had scabbed knees and grubby shorts, a gleeful grin and fathomless eyes. My co-conspirator and hero. He called himself Emmet.

Summer 1966. Claire and her brothers are packed off to Granny Connemara when their mother runs away. Granny's rural Irish cottage is very different to their Cardiff city home, the peaty air thick with unspoken secrets. With no sign of Uncle Jack picking them up at the end of the holidays, there is school to be survived.

Granny is formidable and the children unsettled by the conversations they're excluded from. Will Mother ever return? Will they ever get home? Why does their father hate everything to do with Ireland?

The only light on Claire's horizon is an out-of-bounds friendship... and it will change her life forever.

'Very special, very powerful... a captivating novel that will leave its mark on every reader.' Mairéad Hearne, Swirl and Thread

'This book is deeply affecting and haunting... I read it twice to see if I would blub as much the second time. I did.' Marie Gameson

'...beautiful, perfectly set in time and place...beneath [the] sweetness was a darkness that was heartbreaking' Sandy Taylor

'The blossoming friendship between would-be writer Claire and orphan Emmet is crisply and touchingly told, the warmth between them competing with the cold-hearted regimes of the industrial schools, Magdalene laundries and the septic priests and Brothers of 1960s Ireland.' Jon Gower
Available since: 05/20/2021.
Print length: 292 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • A Grave for a Thief - A Company of Rogues Book 3 - cover

    A Grave for a Thief - A Company...

    Douglas Skelton

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    England, 1716. The only certainty in a thief's life… is death. 
    Christopher Templeton is a lawyer whose conscience troubles him. He knows many of the secrets of The Fellowship, the shadowy group profiting from the civil unrest in the nation, and has intimated to the Company of Rogues that he is willing to share them. 
     
    The problem is, he has vanished. Jonas Flynt – thief, gambler, killer – still recovering from a duel with death upon the frozen Thames, is tasked with finding him. 
     
    The trail takes him from the dark slums of London to a quiet village in the north of England, where all is not as it seems. But while he hunts for the missing man, someone else may be stalking him… someone with murder in their heart. 
     
    The new gripping historical mystery from the author of An Honourable Thief, longlisted for the McIlvanney Prize 2023. Perfect for fans of Abir Mukherjee, Craig Russell and S.G. MacLean.
    Show book
  • Blood Before Dawn - cover

    Blood Before Dawn

    Daniel V. Meier Jr.

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Death of a 130-year Oligarchy.
    
    Volume 2 in The Dung Beetles of Liberia series.
    
    In April of 1979, Ken Verrier and his wife, Sam, return to Liberia to buy diamonds. They did not return to get caught up in a rice riot and a coup de'etat. But that's what happens. Ken witnesses and unwittingly participates in a period of Liberia's tumultuous yet poorly documented history---the overthrow of the Tolbert presidency and ultimately the end of the Americo-Liberian one hundred thirty-three years of political and social dominance.
    
    Details of President Tolbert's assassination are sketchy, but through Ken's association with his Americo friends from the past, the CIA agents he meets, and the Liberian military he is forced to deal with, a believable scenario emerges.
    
    While describing the once beautiful country and a kind and generous people, Meier intertwines terrifying tales of the atrocities committed that account for the future pain of an entire nation.
    Show book
  • A Mouth Full of Salt - cover

    A Mouth Full of Salt

    Reem Gaafar

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    The Nile brought them life, but the Nile was not their friend. 
     
    A small farming village in North Sudan wakes up one morning to the news that a little boy has drowned. Soon after, the animals die of a mysterious illness and the date gardens catch fire and burn to the ground. The villagers whisper of a sorceress who dwells at the foot of the mountains. It is the dry season. The men have places to go, the women have work to do, the children play at the place where the river runs over its own banks. Sixteen-year-old Fatima yearns to leave the village for Khartoum. 
    In Khartoum, a single mother makes her way in a world that wants to keep girls and women back. As civil war swells, the political intrudes into the personal and her position in the capital becomes untenable. She must return to the village. 
     
    A Mouth Full of Salt uncovers a country on the brink of seismic change as its women decide for themselves which traditions are fit for purpose – and which prophecies it's time to rewrite.
    Show book
  • Coal River - cover

    Coal River

    Ellen Marie Wiseman

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    As a child, Emma Malloy left isolated Coal River, Pennsylvania, vowing never to return. Now, orphaned and penniless at nineteen, she accepts a train ticket from her aunt and uncle and travels back to the rough-hewn community. Treated like a servant by her relatives, Emma works for free in the company store. There, miners and their impoverished families must pay inflated prices for food, clothing, and tools while those who owe money are turned away to starve.  Most heartrending of all are the breaker boys Emma sees around the village—young children who toil all day sorting coal amid treacherous machinery. Their soot-stained faces remind Emma of the little brother she lost long ago, and she begins leaving stolen food on families' doorsteps and marking the miners' bills as paid.  Though Emma's actions draw ire from the mine owner and police captain, they lead to an alliance with a charismatic miner who offers to help her expose the truth. As the lines blur between what is legal and what is just, Emma must risk everything to follow her conscience.
    Show book
  • Edith Wharton: Stories - The Eyes; The Daunt Diana; The Moving Finger; and The Debt - cover

    Edith Wharton: Stories - The...

    Edith Wharton

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Pulitzer Prize-winning American novelist Edith Wharton was most well known for her novels that illuminated privileged life in the 19th century, such as The Age of Innocence and The House of Mirth. In addition to her award-winning novels, she also wrote poetry and short stories.Collected here are some of her best works of short fiction, including: "The Eyes," a famous ghost story; "The Daunt Diana," which tells about the love of art; "The Moving Finger," an eerie story about a man clinging to his wife's memory, "The Debt," a story of loyalty; and more.
    Show book
  • Fragments of a Woman - cover

    Fragments of a Woman

    Emma Venables

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Five women, trapped by duty, fighting to survive…Gentle Ingrid puts her life at risk when she tries to save her beloved daughter from her husband's zealous beliefs.Liesel, a lesbian, marries a gay man in hopes that they can feign the ideal marriage and, in doing so, protect each other from persecution.Lovesick Greta, spurned by Liesel and lost, joins the Resistance, then disappears.Gisela, a prostitute once contentedly in control of her own destiny, is incarcerated at Ravensbrück, where she must fight for a future she cannot yet imagine.While Lore, craving a life beyond Berlin, wifedom and motherhood, steps down a dark and dangerous path.Exploring themes of motherhood, identity, trauma, fascism, and survival, Fragments of a Woman offers a nuanced and heartbreaking exploration of what it meant to be a woman living under National Socialist rule.
    Show book