Which book are you going to read today?
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Red Car - Stories - cover

Red Car - Stories

Sallie Bingham

Publisher: Sarabande Books

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

A dozen “vibrant . . . strikingly perceptive” stories about love—romantic, familial, comedic, and tragic, by the celebrated novelist and playwright (Booklist). Crossing a range of landscapes and eras, spanning age and gender, and circling taboos with a sly wit, “these 12 luminous stories . . . feature narrators who find mature, often solitary forms of reckoning, and even happiness. There is not a false note in Bingham’s striking collection” (Publishers Weekly). In “A Gift for Burning” a woman regrets wasting all her energy on getting married, getting unmarried, and getting married again; “That Winter” introduces us to a woman writer in a Colorado cabin, isolated by the brutal weather, and liberated by a mysterious guest; in “Sagesse,” an American family gets a startling awakening while vacationing on the beaches of Normandy after World War II; the fearsome and tiring demands of matrimony are exposed in “Porn”; “Sweet Peas” exquisitely seizes on one single precious moment that destroys a couple’s budding romance; and in the title story, the eponymous ‘65 Pontiac comes to symbolize the inevitable end of a marriage. Praised for her “skillfully suggestive amalgam of Katherine Mansfield and Eudora Welty . . . and their “unblinking gaze”, Red Car is Sallie Bingham at her masterful best (The New York Times Book Review).

Other books that might interest you

  • Heretic - cover

    Heretic

    Bernard Cornwell

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    From New York Times bestselling author Bernard Cornwell, the sequel to The Archer’s Tale and Vagabond—the spellbinding tale of a young man, a fearless archer, who sets out wanting to avenge his family’s honor and winds up on a quest for the Holy Grail. 
    Already a seasoned veteran of King Edward's army, young Thomas of Hookton possesses the fearlessness of a born leader and an uncanny prowess with the longbow. Now, at the head of a small but able band of soldiers, he has been dispatched to capture the castle of Astarac. But more than duty to his liege has brought him to Gascony, home of his forebears and the hated black knight who brutally slew Thomas's father. It is also the last place where the Holy Grail was reported seen. Here, also, a beautiful and innocent, if not pious, woman is to be burned as a heretic. Saving the lady, Genevieve, from her dread fate will brand Thomas an infidel, forcing them to flee together across a landscape of blood and fire. And what looms ahead is a battle to the death that could ultimately shape the future of Christendom.
    Show book
  • Once More My Darling Rogue - cover

    Once More My Darling Rogue

    Lorraine Heath

    • 4
    • 33
    • 0
    They are England's most eligible bachelors, with the most scandalous reputations. But for the right woman, even an unrepentant rogue may mend his ways . . . 
    Born to the street but raised within the aristocracy, Drake Darling can't escape his sordid beginnings. Not when Lady Ophelia Lyttleton snubs him at every turn, a constant reminder he's not truly one of them. But after rescuing her from a mysterious drowning, he realizes she doesn't remember who she is. With plans to bring her to heel, he insists she's his housekeeper—never expecting to fall for the charming beauty. 
    While Ophelia might not recall her life before Drake, she has little doubt she belongs with him. The desire she feels for her dark, brooding employer can't be denied, regardless of consequences. So when Ophelia's memory returns, she is devastated by the depth of his betrayal. Now Drake must risk everything to prove she can trust this rogue with her heart once more.
    Show book
  • Vagabond - A Novel - cover

    Vagabond - A Novel

    Bernard Cornwell

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    From New York Times bestselling author Bernard Cornwell, the sequel to The Archer's Tale—the spellbinding tale of a young man, a fearless archer, who sets out wanting to avenge his family's honor and winds up on a quest for the Holy Grail. 
    In 1347, a year of conflict and unrest, Thomas of Hookton returns to England to pursue the Holy Grail. Among the flames of the Hundred Years War, a sinister enemy awaits the fabled archer and mercenary soldier: a bloodthirsty Dominican Inquisitor who also seeks Christendom's most holy relic. But neither the horrors of the battlefield nor sadistic torture at the Inquisitor's hands can turn Thomas from his sworn mission. And his thirst for vengeance will never be quenched while the villainous black rider who destroyed everything he loved still lives. 
    "Cornwell writes the best battle scenes of any writer I've read past or present."—George R.R. Martin
    Show book
  • The Rufus Spy - A medieval mystical mystery - cover

    The Rufus Spy - A medieval...

    Alys Clare

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Apprentice healer Lassair heads on a perilous journey north in the absorbing new Aelf Fen medieval mystery.October, 1093. Two young men have been brutally beaten to death; a third viciously attacked. All three men are of similar appearance. But could there be another connection?Lassair meanwhile has agreed to accompany her former lover Rollo on a perilous journey north in search of King William. On their trail is a skilled, relentless and ruthless assassin. Who is he ? and why has he targeted Rollo? If they are to survive, the hunted must become the hunters: Rollo and Lassair must lure their pursuer to the treacherous fenland terrain Lassair knows so well and turn the tables on their would-be killer.
    Show book
  • A Breath of Hope (Under Northern Skies Book #2) - cover

    A Breath of Hope (Under Northern...

    Lauraine Snelling

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Nilda Carlson has been trying to save enough money to go to America for months, so when a letter from Einar and Gerd Strand arrives, offering to pay her ticket, she jumps at the chance. Her younger brother Ivar accompanies her, and they can't wait to join their brother Rune and his family in the northern forests of Minnesota. Signe and Rune Carlson are thrilled to welcome Nilda and Ivar to America, but life on the farm remains a struggle. Though Gerd has softened and grown to love the Carlson family, Einar is still harsh and unforgiving, obsessed solely with felling as many trees as possible. Rune is trying to build a new home for his wife and children, but Einar refuses to help and forbids anyone from the nearby community from stepping foot on his land. What dark secret must lie in his past to have caused him to isolate himself--and anyone living under his roof--in this way? When a tragedy lays the truth bare, the Carlsons and Strands will have to come together like never before and become a true family.
    Show book
  • The Lady Chapel - The Owen Archer Series - Book Two - cover

    The Lady Chapel - The Owen...

    Candace Robb

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    “A lovingly detailed background informs and animates the plot at every point.” —KIRKUS
    
    Perfect for fans of both Ellis Peters and CJ Sansom, THE LADY CHAPEL is a vivid and immersive portrait of court intrigue and a testament to the power of the medieval guilds.
     
    Summer in the year of our Lord 1365. On the night after the Corpus Christi procession, a man is brutally murdered on the steps of York Minster. The next morning his severed hand is found in a room at the York Tavern—a room hastily vacated by a fellow guild member who had quarreled with the victim. 
    
    Archbishop Thoresby calls on Owen Archer to investigate. As Owen tracks the fleeing merchant, he uncovers a conspiracy involving a powerful company of traders, but his only witness is a young boy who has gone into hiding, and his only suspect is a mysterious cloaked woman. When Owen discovers a link between the traders and a powerful coterie in the royal court, he brings his apothecary wife Lucie into the race to find the boy before he is silenced forever by the murderers.
    Show book