Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
I Helsinki – A Finland Visitor’s Guide - cover

I Helsinki – A Finland Visitor’s Guide

Russell Snyder

Publisher: Klaava Media

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

“It took many years for the world to notice me, but during the last decades businesspeople, visitors, and journalists have been looking my way and smiling. After spending time in my city, visitors are full of positive comments and are recommending me to their colleagues and friends. Recently, I’ve been described in the media as cool, hip, fresh, modern, and even stylish and trendy. Well, I certainly don’t mind a bit of flattery!” 
“If you are considering visiting me, just remember, I have a lot to offer. In all modesty, I’m beautiful, creative, safe, easy going, friendly and a bit mysterious. So, why don’t you come over sometime and see me?” 
Yes, for the traveler, Helsinki is certainly worth a visit or three. What’s more, according to recent research, the residents of this city are very content with where they live. 
Let Helsinki tell you in her own words about her city. What to see, do, and expect. She is proud of herself and her accomplishments over the years, and is more than happy to give you some outstanding tips. 
This book contains around a hundred ideas, and these are broken down into sections dealing with sights; getting around; amusement; museums; eating, drinking and nightlife; recreation and sport, and celebrations. The text is easy to read and packed with colorful photos depicting most of the suggestions.

Other books that might interest you

  • We're Asleep Dad - cover

    We're Asleep Dad

    Simon Key

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    'My kids are asleep. I know this because a paper airplane has just smashed against my head & on the wing someone has written "we're asleep Dad"'. 'My kids have done their homework. I know this because according to them, this week their homework is to play 3 hours of Minecraft each night'. 'My kids are ready to go out. I know this because they've hidden all their clothes...' 
     
    In recent times, we've celebrated 'unmumsy' mums, but what about desperate dads? We're Asleep, Dad is a collection of 100 laugh-out-loud tweets from a dad's perspective on the five main struggles of parenting: Bed Time, School, Food, Going Out and Weekends, complete with quirky hand-drawn illustrations by Moose Allain. In this hilarious and stylish gift book, Simon Key perfectly captures all the ups and downs of what it's like to be a frazzled father on the front line.
    Show book
  • Fabric + Paint + Thread = Fabulous - cover

    Fabric + Paint + Thread = Fabulous

    Pat Durbin

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    If you're ready to take your quilting skills to the next level, this is the book for you! Pat's innovative techniques for painting, free-motion quilting, and embellishing allow you to expand your artistic horizons and make breathtaking art quilts.
    
    First you'll paint on fabric to make a simple landscape background. Then the excitement begins! You'll use thread to "paint" astonishingly realistic trees, leaves, and more onto stabilizer, cut out the motifs, and apply them to the quilt. With five projects to choose from, there's plenty of inspiration for your next quilt.
    Show book
  • Cats Are Capable of Mind Control - And 1000+ UberFacts You Never Knew You Needed to Know - cover

    Cats Are Capable of Mind Control...

    Kris Sanchez

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    From the creator of the popular Twitter sensation UberFacts comes this fun compilation quiz book, packed with entertaining infographics and surprising factoids, for fans of Schott’s Miscellany, What If? and Ripley’s Believe It or Not. 
    Providing "the most unimportant things you’ll never need to know”—fun and surprising facts, statistics, and infographics on diverse subjects, from art and science to history and popular culture—UberFacts has become one of the most widely followed and successful accounts on Twitter, followed by nearly 12 million people. 
    Based on the popular social media phenomenon and culled from an exhaustive variety of sources—science journals, books, media, and literary magazines—Cats are Capable of Mind Control is a fascinating collection of shocking, delightful, educational, and informative facts and figures that are entertaining, topical, and sometimes downright bizarre (the safest place to suffer sudden cardiac arrest in the U.S. is a casino). 
    Did you know:The Pentagon was constructed so that no point in the building is more than a ten-minute walk from any other point?Vultures’ stomach acid is so corrosive they can digest anthrax?Farmers in India use Coca-Cola and Pepsi as cheap and effective pesticides? 
    Discover all this and much, much more in this treasure trove of trivia for the social media age. 
     
    Show book
  • You Need More Sleep - Advice from Cats - cover

    You Need More Sleep - Advice...

    Francesco Marciuliano

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    Our feline friends have spent eons observing, napping, pondering, napping, and taking notes about the human condition. In between naps, they've realized that we humans could use some catlike guidance when it comes to handling the ups and downs of life. In this book they've condescended to share their invaluable wisdom in short advice columns such as "Always Stay at Least 30 Feet from a Loved One" and "Never Let Anyone Dress You." Whether it's coping with romance, surviving a social gathering, or clawing your way to the top of the corporate ladder only to realize you can't get down, the cats in this ebook will have you relaxed and ready to take on the world! Just after one more nap.
    Show book
  • The Age of the Horse - An Equine Journey Through Human History - cover

    The Age of the Horse - An Equine...

    Susanna Forrest

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    An essential book for anyone who’s ever been captivated by horses, The Age of the Horse is a breathtaking exploration of the enduring connection between humans and Equus caballus. Equestrian expert Susanna Forrest presents a unique, sweeping panorama of the animal’s prominent role in societies around the world and across time.Fifty-six million years ago, the earliest equid walked the earth—and beginning with the first-known horse-keepers of the Copper Age, the horse has played an integral part in human history. It has sustained us as a source of food, an industrial and agricultural machine, a comrade in arms, a symbol of wealth, power, and the wild.Combining fascinating anthropological detail and incisive personal anecdote, Forrest draws from an immense range of archival documents as well as literature and art to illustrate how our evolution has coincided with that of horses. In paintings and poems (such as Byron’s famous “Mazeppa”), in theater and classical music (including works by Liszt and Tchaikovsky), representations of the horse have changed over centuries, portraying the crucial impact that we’ve had on each other. Forrest deftly synthesizes this material with her own experience in the field, traveling the globe to give us a diverse, comprehensive look at the horse in our lives today: from Mongolia where she observes the endangered takhi, to a show-horse performance at the Palace of Versailles; from a polo club in Beijing to Arlington, Virginia, where veterans with PTSD are rehabilitated through interaction with horses.With passion and singular insight, Forrest investigates the complexities of human and horse coexistence, illuminating the multifaceted ways our cultures were shaped by the powerful creature.
    Show book
  • Welcome to the Club - 100 Parenting Milestones You Never Saw Coming - cover

    Welcome to the Club - 100...

    Raquel D'Apice

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    From the comedian behind the popular parenting blog The Ugly Volvo comes a refreshing spin on the baby milestone book. Instead of a place to lovingly capture the first time baby sleeps through the night, this book shows what it's like the first time baby rolls off the bed/sofa/changing table, leaving mom or dad in a state of pure terror (it happens). These 100 rarely documented but all-too-realistic milestones—such as "First Time Baby Says a Word You Didn't Want Her to Say"—provide comfort, solidarity, and comic relief for new parents. Laugh-out-loud relatable text and distinctive illustrations of these "bad" parenting moments make this a must-have book for anyone entering the mysterious club of parenthood.
    Show book