Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced 7236434c7af12f85357591f712aa5cce47c3d377e8addfc98f989c55a4ef4ca5
Ayiti - cover

Ayiti

Roxane Gay

Publisher: Grove Press

  • 2
  • 7
  • 0

Summary

From New York Times -bestselling powerhouse Roxane Gay, Ayiti  is a powerful collection exploring the Haitian diaspora experience. Originally published by a small press, this Grove Press paperback will make Gay’s debut widely available for the first time, including several new stories. In Ayiti, a married couple seeking boat passage to America prepares to leave their homeland. A young woman procures a voodoo love potion to ensnare a childhood classmate. A mother takes a foreign soldier into her home as a boarder, and into her bed. And a woman conceives a daughter on the bank of a river while fleeing a horrific massacre, a daughter who later moves to America for a new life but is perpetually haunted by the mysterious scent of blood. These early stories showcase Gay’s prowess as one of the voices of our age” (National Post, Canada).

Other books that might interest you

  • The Brief - cover

    The Brief

    Simon Michaels

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    In the 60s London of gangsters, prejudice and terrifying gang wars, Barrister Charles Holborne spends his life dealing with the worst examples of violent criminality. After successfully winning a number of high profile cases, he is building a reputation among Soho’s criminal classes as a man who gets the job done, a reputation that doesn’t endear him to his establishment colleagues.
     
    Yet Charles is not all he seems, and is battling both personal demons and his own past. When his philandering wife Henrietta is found with her throat slashed, Charles finds himself on the wrong side of the law and in serious trouble of the murderous kind. Arrested for her murder, can Charles discover the truth of her brutal slaying and escape the hangman’s noose?
     
    Based upon a real case and genuine court documents, The Brief is a compelling criminal drama, and an evocative slice of sleazy glamour from the Swinging Sixties. Simon Michael delivers an addictive read for any crime fan.
    Show book
  • Aurora Resonant: The Complete Collection - Aurora Resonant - cover

    Aurora Resonant: The Complete...

    G. S. Jennsen

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Over 1,400 Pages of Sci-Fi Adventure 
    **3rd and final trilogy in the Aurora Rhapsody series: includes Relativity, Rubicon, Requiem + the Re/Genesis short & an exclusive excerpt from the upcoming novel, Exin Ex Machina** 
    Our universe is but a snowglobe--an experiment born of desperation and hope. The true universe is unfathomably vast, teeming with life and untold wonders. And it is enslaved. 
    Created by ancient aliens in a daring gambit to understand the nature of the enemy, humanity is now asked to be the savior of a universe not their own. If they are to succeed, they must rise above not only their fractious past but the sins of their genetic ancestors to boldly embrace a future they never dared imagine possible. 
    * 
    RELATIVITY 
    "I'd tell you to be careful, but we wouldn't be here if you'd ever taken that advice. No reason to start now, right?" 
    For millennia the Anadens have ruled the known universe. They believe they've crafted the perfect empire, ordered and impervious to challenge. They believe the fight has been crushed out of the species they subjugate. They are wrong. 
     
    It's a suicide mission, without a doubt. Alex Solovy and Caleb Marano must steal crucial intelligence from the Anadens' central military headquarters. To succeed, they'll need to navigate a strange universe ruled by a cabal of powerful immortals, populated by aliens they've never met and fueled by technology they've never seen. 
    * 
    RUBICON 
    "We are you--the you that you could have been." 
    The Anaden Directorate has ruled Amaranthe for millennia, subjugating species and galaxies in a neverending quest for control and order. For as many millennia, the anarchs have rebelled, defiantly claiming their own freedom yet without hope of winning it for everyone. Now, an alliance with humans offers a tantalizing chance to at last defeat their immortal masters. But can they trust an ally who looks suspiciously like the enemy? 
     
    Humans like to make their own destiny, and they have overcome great challenges to achieve unprecedented peace and prosperity. But have their trials prepared them for the enemy they now face? 
     
    "The battle for the heart and soul of Amaranthe will be joined, and we must be unafraid." 
    Amidst the chaos of an escalating war, Caleb's bond with the mysterious diati grows ever more powerful, even as Alex's forays into the hidden dimensions of the universe lead them to unfathomable places. But when the anarchs are pushed to the breaking point and the AEGIS fleet is dealt a devastating blow, Miriam Solovy must find a way to defeat a foe wielding superior technology, firepower and numbers, or else more than one civilization will be lost. 
    * 
    REQUIEM 
    The end of the world began with a library query...how will it conclude? 
    What began as a chance discovery of an anomalous signal is now a multiverse war between humanity and its genetic ancestors over who controls the levers of life and death. Over who decides what life is and whether it will be allowed to exist. For the ruling Anaden Directorate, victory means immortality. For humanity, defeat means extinction. 
     
    On the heels of a breakthrough in wormhole technology, AEGIS and the anarchs enjoy the upper hand in the war. But their escalation pushes the Directorate to the brink, and now it will stop at nothing to destroy its enemy. 
     
    In the thrilling finale of Aurora Rhapsody, events rush headlong toward an explosive conclusion that will decide the fate of civilizations, and only the victor is making it out the other side.
    Show book
  • Murder with Majesty - Auguste Didier Mystery #10 - cover

    Murder with Majesty - Auguste...

    Amy Myers

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Spring of 1905. Getrude Pennyfather, American heiress and folklore enthusiast, is set to enjoy the perfect English village wedding. Even King Edward VII is due to attend. What more could a society bride dream of? For as she arrives in Frimhurst, Gertrude believes that her fiancé, Arthur Montfoy, is the lord of the manor and the joyful celebrations of the local folk seem to confirm this. Indeed, everything about Frimurst seems picture-perfect. Perhaps a bit too perfect… 
    As time goes by and her wedding approaches, Gertrude realises that not everything in Frimhurst is as it seems. Does that include her husband-to-be, and the wonderful future she has planned for them? 
    Meanwhile a renowned French chef, and distant relative of the King by marriage, is working hard to produce the perfect wedding banquet, at the King's command. August Didier is a master of his craft, and his focus is such that little distracts him from his enormous task. Until, that is, he spots a familiar face among the wedding guests. The face of a man who has sworn to murder him. Very shortly afterwards, the body of a murder victim is discovered, but it is not Auguste – for now, at least. 
    The death brings Scotland Yard to the scene, and Auguste is reunited with his friend, Inspector Rose. As the men investigate, the bucolic façade that Frimhurst has produced for the wedding is stripped away to reveal lies, frustrated loves, tales of financial ruin and rampant dishonesty. 
    Auguste Didier and Inspector Rose have just a short time to find out the truth. For death is closing in on Auguste — will the murders be solved in time for him to outwit it? Only time will tell…  
    Murder with Majesty is a delightful mystery, perfect for fans of Agatha Christie. 
    Praise for Amy Myers 
    'Reading like a cross between Hercule Poirot and Mrs Beeton…this feast of entertainment is packed with splendid late-Victorian detail' - Library Journal Amy Myers was born in Kent, where she still lives, although she has now ventured to the far side of the Medway. For many years a director of a London publishing company, she is now a full-time writer. Married to an American, she lived for some years in Paris, where, surrounded by food, she first dreamed up her Victorian chef detective Auguste Didier. Currently she is writing her contemporary crime series starring Jack Colby, car detective, and in between his adventures continuing her Marsh & Daughter series and her Victorian chimney sweep Tom Wasp novels .
    Show book
  • Flirting with Danger - Sloane Monroe Series #5 - cover

    Flirting with Danger - Sloane...

    Cheryl Bradshaw

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    A fancy hotel. A weekend getaway.  
     
    For Sloane Monroe, rest has finally arrived, until the lights go out, a woman screams, and Sloane's nightmare begins. 
     
    If you're a fan of James Patterson and Lisa Gardner, you'll enjoy Bradshaw's mysteries.  
     
    A New York Times bestselling mystery series.  
     
    "The characters are excellent."  
     
    "This is a fast moving story full of drama and surprises which will keep you gripped right to the end." 
     
    "Danger, intrigue, and just the right amount of latent emotional/romantic feelings to appease readers."
    Show book
  • Vampire Sacrifice - cover

    Vampire Sacrifice

    Vivian Lane

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    With Charlotte and Simon off being happy newlyweds, Della has resumed her work with The Agency—and Adam is back to helping her when she allows it. When a vamp cares for your family like she’s his family, you have to give a little trust, though Della is hiding this new whatever-it-is from Amelia and The Council until she figures out what to do with him.Adam was intrigued with Agent Seven from the moment they met and getting to know Della over the years has only intensified his feelings. Romance is impossible when her touch can burn him dead, but following her around the globe brings new life to his never-ending existence.Until Adam’s personal boogeyman Vittore kidnaps them both, tricks her into using a Sword of Cato, and makes a vicious bargain—reunite Della’s spirit with her body in exchange for Adam’s immortality. The only way to save her is to enter the sword’s spell world, but the consequences will change Della and Adam forever.This story is intended for readers over the age of 18 due to adult language, sexual content, and adult situations.
    Show book
  • The Golden Vial (Legends of the Realm Book #3) - cover

    The Golden Vial (Legends of the...

    Thomas Locke

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Lady Shona, the newly crowned queen of the realm, is a leader without a throne. Pursued relentlessly by a dark force, her small contingent of loyal followers must make a difficult choice--flee or fight. Determined to save her land from nefarious threats, Lady Shona decides that she must seek out the enemy and attack them head on--a strategy that leads back to the region of the Three Valleys where Hyam was born.Alas, Hyam has been struck by a mysterious illness that is silently sweeping through the realm. Known as the wasting disease, the sickness has no cure. But there is one shred of hope for Lady Shona and the realm--and it comes in the most unlikely of forms. A young orphan, untested and untrained, could well mean the difference between victory and total defeat.Thomas Locke concludes his epic trilogy with a gripping tale of courage that will inspire readers to persevere even when all seems lost.
    Show book