Instant satisfaction for your thirst for knowledge!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Ruby Dove Mysteries - 4-6 - cover

Ruby Dove Mysteries - 4-6

Rose Donovan

Publisher: Moon Snail Press

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Books four through six in the Ruby Dove Mystery Series: The Mystery of Ruby’s Stiletto, The Mystery of Ruby’s Tracks, and The Mystery of Ruby’s Mistletoe. 
 
Enjoy golden-age cozies with a twist? Then you’ll love Rose Donovan’s fashion-spy-amateur sleuth heroes, Ruby Dove and Fina Aubrey-Havelock.
 
What readers are saying:
 
"The plot grabbed my attention right at the beginning and held it right to the end."
 
"This series is like watching a 1930's mystery/comedy with the tongue in cheek comments and antics of the characters that just make you laugh out loud."
 
"Great series and great writing!"
 
"'Clue" has always been my favorite board game, and going on a murder mystery cruise is on my bucket list, so I was beyond thrilled at the opportunity to read this book, and I wasn't let down."
 
"The plot had a lot of twists and turns that are necessary for a good mystery."
 
"Vivid descriptions of locations and events make you feel as if you are part of the story. Strong women characters, political intrigue, and a murder mystery that keeps you guessing as to who the murderer is and the motive behind the murders."
 
"If you love this genre this is a must read."
 
Book 1: The Mystery of Ruby’s Stiletto
 
An invitation to an island off the coast of Italy. What could be more relaxing? 
 
Nothing. Until a murderer strikes.
 
Autumn in Sardinia, 1935.
 
Ruby and Fina find themselves in a world of glamour once again, this time on a private island owned by a famous Italian shoe designer. 
 
A riotous guest list of artists, flowing wine, passion and political intrigue guarantee a thrilling time for all. 
 
But it could be a little too thrilling unless Ruby and Fina find the murderer. 
 
Soon. 
 
Book 2: The Mystery of Ruby’s Tracks
 
Ready for a snowy ride aboard the Train Blanc? 
 
Murder and mayhem await.
 
November, 1935.
 
With its velvet sofas and bone china teacups, the Train Blanc is a haven of 1930s luxury. But for Ruby and Fina, the trip holds some shocking surprises – not least that one of their fellow passengers is a murderer …
 
As the famous train steams through the cold Alpine night, the detective pair must work out which of the travellers is not what they seem. Could it be the friendly Swiss priest? The glamorous erotica author? The ‘artistic’ dilettante? Or even the grandmother with the hideous knitting?
 
Ruby and Fina are at the top of their game in this witty, sophisticated tale, which weaves together politics, fashion, intrigue and romance in a mystery with more twists and turns than a train track through the Alps.
 
Book 3: The Mystery of Ruby’s Mistletoe
 
Snowbound at Christmas. 
 
Very cosy. 
 
Until a murderer and a thief appear.
 
December, 1935.
 
Ruby and Fina are anticipating a quiet Christmas. But the snowy peace of Quenby College is shattered when the police come looking for Ruby. She and Fina escape to a relative’s plush country home — only to find that Aunt Millie has a few surprises in store …
 
As the mercury drops, Ruby and Fina are drawn into a web of false identities and half-truths. Why did someone spike the cocktails during the after-dinner jazz? Who stole Aunt Millie’s priceless hatpin collection? Could it be a coincidence that all the house guests were also present on the day when Fina’s father was murdered?
 
With the police on their tail, and a killer on the loose, the two dressmaking sleuths have to use all their considerable wits to solve Fina’s family tragedy – and bring a little joy back to Christmas.

Other books that might interest you

  • Cobra - A Novel - cover

    Cobra - A Novel

    Deon Meyer

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A riveting thriller from the acclaimed “King of South African crime” and the author of Blood Safari: “Deon Meyer is one of the unsung masters” (Michael Connelly).   Deon Meyer is a world-class writer whose page-turning thrillers probe the social and racial complexities of his native country. In Cobra, a famous English mathematician is kidnapped and his two bodyguards are killed at a guest house in the beautiful wine country outside Cape Town. It’s clearly a professional hit, and the spent shell cases offer a chilling clue: Each is engraved with the head of a spitting cobra.   Meanwhile, in the city, a skilled thief is using his talents to put his sister through college. But he picks the wrong pocket, grabbing the wallet of a young American woman delivering something very valuable and dangerous to South Africa. The thief not only becomes the target of the deadly hit man known as the Cobra, but unwittingly holds the key to stopping a deadly international threat. It’s up to Captain Benny Griessel and his elite investigation team to find the pickpocket and track down the Cobra as the novel hurtles toward a brilliant, heart-stopping finale on the suburban commuter trains.   “Mr. Meyer, the leading thriller writer in his native country, traffics in crime-novel situations familiar the world over: drunken cops, charming robbers, dangerous murderers, sudden violence—and sometimes, issues of race.” —The Wall Street Journal  
    Show book
  • Blue Water - cover

    Blue Water

    Joseph Parcell

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Emily Hunter is a woman suffering. She is finally making strides at living independently after being mandated to residential psychiatric care for most of her adult life. Now, holding down a night shift job, taking her medication regularly, and meeting with her therapist twice a week, she's finally on solid ground — or so she thinks. Amongst Emily’s frequent delusions is a hallucination of a little girl in purple pajamas that she has come to call “Carrot.” In the past, Emily believed that Carrot was real, and that the little girl desperately needed help. Her visions of this child have always been strong and surreal. Now they're becoming too powerful to ignore. Carrot is guiding Emily.  Determined to find the answers, Emily starts down a deadly and terrifying path, following Carrot into madness.
    Show book
  • House of the Red Slayer - A Brother Athelstan Medieval Mystery 2 - cover

    House of the Red Slayer - A...

    Paul Doherty

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    December, 1377.  A great frost has London in its icy grip; even the Thames is frozen bank to bank. The Constable of the Tower of London, Sir Ralph Witton, is found murdered in a cold, bleak chamber in the North Bastion.  The door is still locked from the inside and guarded by trusted retainers. So how did the assassins slip across a frozen moat to climb the sheer wall to commit such a dreadful crime? Appointed to investigate, Brother Athelstan and Sir John Cranston soon discover that Sir Ralph’s murder is only the first in a series of macabre killings which have their roots in a terrible act of betrayal committed many years previously.
    Show book
  • Blood on the Rocks - cover

    Blood on the Rocks

    Priscilla Masters

    • 1
    • 4
    • 0
    DI Joanna Piercy is irritated at what she perceives to be an attempt to wrap her up in cotton wool during her pregnancy when she is asked to take on the case of Zachary Foster, a missing ninety-six-year-old man suffering from dementia. Zachary has vanished from his residential care home on the edge of Leek during the night with his beloved old teddy bear. He can’t have gone far, surely, but how did a frail, elderly man manage to abscond from a secure house at night? As Joanna investigates, it soon becomes clear that this apparently minor case is far more sinister than it first appears. Could her own life, and that of her unborn child, be at risk?
    Show book
  • Famous Mysteries - Ten Top Mysteries - cover

    Famous Mysteries - Ten Top...

    Albert Jack

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    From the Author of the Internationally Bestselling Books - Red Herrings & White Elephants, What Caesar did for My Salad, Shaggy Dogs, Pop Goes the Weasel, They Laughed at Galileo:  We all love a good mystery, don’t we? And by all, I mean each and every one of us are, or will be, captivated at one time or another by a decent, real-life mystery; either one of the world’s best, or something on a smaller scale such.   But writing a book on just one of these would have been relatively easy. The challenge came from researching lots and lots of them and then condensing them down in a way that I know you, the reader, who continue to pay my wages, enjoy reading. And that is short, sharp informative sections you can read on the train, bus queue or while waiting to pick the kids up after you arrive at school to find them in detention.   In other words, the challenge was to explain the mystery in a way you can enjoy and absorb in about ten minutes. Inevitably some information will be missing, for which I apologize in advance. But the missing information isn’t critical to the basic story; the ‘core’ details of the mystery in question should all be there. In some cases, such as the sections on The Loch Ness Monster, Bigfoot and crop circles, there are literally thousands of examples that I could have used of course, but, in each case, i’ve kept it down to just a handful.  And this brings me to an important point. Given that I am a fan of the unknown and the unexplained, I have not set out to be a mystery buster in this volume. Instead I just wanted to tell the story, provide some little-known detail and offer a rational explanation wherever I could. I wanted to provoke a bit of thought and conversation, but leave you to decide the answer for yourselves: does the story remain a mystery, in your view, or have you managed to piece together a theory of your own that you ca then share with your friends. Although, to be fair, I must admit there are some cases where I just couldn’t resist presenting my own ideas and giving full rein to my scepticism, but don’t let that stop you enjoying yourselves.  Including:  Mystery 1 – Bigfoot Mystery 2 – Crop Circles Mystery 3 – Who Killed Marilyn Munroe? Mystery 4 – The Loch Ness Monster Mystery 5 – The Death of Robert Maxwell Mystery 6 – Will the Real Paul McCartney Please Stand Up Mystery 7 – The Awful Fate of Edgar Allan Poe Mystery 8 – The St Valentines Day Massacre Mystery 9 – The Chilling Tale of The Chase Vault Mystery 10 – Fairies at the Bottom of the Garden
    Show book
  • Emily’s List - cover

    Emily’s List

    Sean Platt, David W. Wright

    • 3
    • 12
    • 0
    All Cora wants is a new start. But how do you start over when you’re still you? After the tragic loss of her horror writer father, Cora is starting over in a new town, at a new school where nobody knows her.Nobody knows about her OCD tics. Nobody knows about her time spent in a mental hospital. And nobody knows that she may be seeing her father’s ghost. But her new start is shattered when the OCD tics she tries to keep secret come out in class. She soon finds herself a target of bullies again.New town, same loneliness and shame. And she’s afraid to turn to her overworked mother who is already worried about her sanity.Then she meets Emily.The abused homeschooled girl has her own problems, but she’s the only person that gets Cora.Also, Emily has a list.A list of people who have hurt her.A list of people that include Cora’s bullies.And now Emily wants Cora’s help in getting revenge.Can Cora find a normal life by striking back at her tormentors? Or is she being lured into a darkness that will consume the sanity she’s desperately clinging to?Emily’s List is a character-driven suspense thriller full of dark secrets and twisted revelations perfect for fans of Thirteen Reasons Why and The Haunting of Hill House.
    Show book