If you like reading, you will LOVE reading without limits!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Calling Vicki - cover

Calling Vicki

rodney cannon

Publisher: rodney cannon

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Carlos Reyes is the boss of one of the worlds most ruthless and powerful drug cartels. Daniel, a second rate criminal, along with his friends, have made the mistake of stealing valuable property belonging to Carlos Reyes something that gets Carlos personally involved in the hunt for those responsible and Carlos’s way of hunting is to kill all those involved along with those closest to them. Liz is Daniel’s wife and she must go on the run with her two daughters before they get caught up in the cross fire. Fearing for their lives and running out of time Liz does the only thing that she can think of to keep her family alive. She calls her sister Vicki, an ex military officer who was trained by both her government and her parents to deal violently with problems like Carlos and his cartel. A call that comes at the moment in Vicki’s life when she has just reunited with a former love and beginning to allow herself to feel something since the murder of her parents many years before. With the lives of her family and the man she loves on the line no price is too great to pay and not even one of the worlds most violent criminals is safe from what Vicki will do to protect those closest to her.

Other books that might interest you

  • Sail Away - cover

    Sail Away

    Celia Imrie

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    The deliciously effervescent new novel from Celia Imrie, beloved character actress and author of Not Quite Nice, follows the exploits of two women on a cruise ship. 
      
    The phone hasn't rung for months. Suzy Marshall is discovering that work can be sluggish for an actress over sixty--even for the star of a wildly popular 1980s TV series. So when her agent offers her the plum role of Lady Bracknell in The Importance of Being Earnest in Zurich, it seems like a godsend. Until, that is, the play is abruptly cancelled under suspicious circumstances and Suzy is forced to take a job on a cruise ship to get home. 
     
    Meanwhile Amanda Herbert finds herself homeless in rainy Clapham. The purchase of her new apartment has fallen through, and her children are absorbed in their own dramas. Then she spots an advertisement for an Atlantic cruise and realizes that a few weeks onboard would tide her over and save her money until her housing situation is resolved. 
     
    As the two women set sail on a new adventure, neither can possibly predict the questionable characters and strange dealings they will encounter, nor the unexpected rewards they will reap. Vividly evoking the old-world glamour of a cruise ship--and the complex politics of its staff quarters--Sail Away is at once a hilarious romp and a thrilling adventure.
    Show book
  • Last Song Sung - A Cullen and Cobb Mystery - cover

    Last Song Sung - A Cullen and...

    David A. Poulsen

    • 0
    • 8
    • 0
    A musical cold case has Cullen and Cobb back on the beat. 
     
    
    
    On February 28, 1965, a young singer named Ellie Foster stepped into the alley behind The Depression, a Calgary folk club where she shared the bill with Joni Anderson, later to become famous as Joni Mitchell. During a cigarette break in the back alley, Ellie was forced into a car and the musicians with her were shot and killed. The investigation that followed turned up no sign of the kidnappers, and Ellie Foster was never seen again. 
     
    
    Now, more than fifty years after the singer’s disappearance, Ellie’s granddaughter approaches Cullen and Cobb to try to find out what happened to her grandmother. The search for the truth about Ellie Foster takes the two investigators straight into the past. They find themselves investigating a failed political assassination and discover that there are those who will stop at nothing, even half a century later, to ensure that certain secrets remain untold.
    Show book
  • Dead End - cover

    Dead End

    Sally Spencer

    • 1
    • 16
    • 0
    The discovery of a body on a local allotment site re-opens an unresolved cold case for Monika Paniatowski and her team.
    He was going to have to terminate Monika, he decided. It was a pity, but there it was.
    The body has lain buried for years, and has no face and no fingertips. Monika Paniatowski’s team have no real leads, but when they discuss the case at her hospital bedside – where she lies paralysed – Monika begins to see possible links with a case she closed four years earlier.
    Are the two cases connected? Did the first murder make the second almost inevitable? She doesn’t know, but she does know that she is being watched by an old enemy who will kill her if he decides there is ever any chance of her sharing her thoughts and information with her team.
    Show book
  • No Mardi Gras for the Dead - cover

    No Mardi Gras for the Dead

    D.J. Donaldson

    • 1
    • 4
    • 0
    A medical examiner and a psychologist once again make a “formidable team” in this mystery set in colorful New Orleans (The Washington Times).   Criminal psychologist Kit Franklyn feels like she’s been spinning her wheels in both life and career. She gets a lift from her malaise when she moves into a new home with a garden—and then a jolt when, in that garden, she discovers human remains.   Along with the unconventional and ever-cheerful chief medical examiner Andy Broussard, Franklyn sets out to close a case that’s well beyond cold. They identify the body as a streetwalker who vanished almost thirty years ago. But her death may be connected to a pair of recent killings . . . and a murderer who’s out to bury the past for good.   With an irresistible Big Easy attitude and a hard-to-crack mystery, “Donaldson’s genre gumbo keeps you coming back for more” (Booklist).   “Likable, modern protagonists, abundant forensic lore and vivid depictions of colorful New Orleans and its denizens.” —Publishers Weekly
    Show book
  • The Innocent - A Ryan Lock Crime Thriller - cover

    The Innocent - A Ryan Lock Crime...

    Sean Black

    • 1
    • 3
    • 0
    The series that's perfect for fans of Robert Crais, Harlan Coben, Gregg Hurwitz, Lee Child and James Patterson's Private series."It's not the crime that kills you – it's the cover-up."When college basketball coach Malik Shaw goes missing after a family tragedy, it looks like just another retired athlete gone off the rails. But Malik's childhood friend, private security specialist Ty Johnson, quickly begins to suspect that there is more to it.Chasing the truth, Ty, along with his business partner, Ryan Lock, begin to uncover a sinister conspiracy of silence in a sleepy Minnesota college town."Sean Black writes like a punch to the gut." – Jesse Kellerman"The heir apparent to Lee Child." – Ken Bruen
    Show book
  • Carve the Heart - The Jack Palace Series - cover

    Carve the Heart - The Jack...

    A.G. Pasquella

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    Ex-con Jack Palace returns in a world of violence, heartbreak, and revenge. 
     
    
    
    Cassandra, the woman who broke Jack Palace’s heart, is suddenly back in his life. She owes $600,000 to a brutal gangster who has threatened her life, and she needs Jack’s help. Meanwhile, Melody, Jack’s new girlfriend, has set a dangerous plan of her own in motion. Things start to get violent when Cassandra suddenly disappears … but not everyone believes Cassandra is in danger. Is Jack being set up? 
     
    
    
    Bikers, mobsters, and strippers collide as Jack storms the mean streets of Toronto searching for Cassandra. To find her, he must rip open old wounds and confront new enemies. But as loyalties falter and secrets are revealed, Jack begins to wonder who he can really trust. If he doesn’t figure it out fast, he — and everyone he cares about — could end up dead.
    Show book