Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
Cross Country - cover

Cross Country

Robert Sullivan

Publisher: Bloomsbury USA

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Robert Sullivan, who has driven cross-country more than two dozen times, recounts one of his family's many journeys from Oregon to New York. His story of moving his family back and forth from the East Coast to the West Coast (along with various other migrations), is replete with all the minor disasters, humor, and wonderful coincidences that characterize life on the road, not to mention life.    As he drives, Sullivan ponders his Lewis and Clark and other fellow nation-crossers, meets Beat poets who are devotees of cross-country icon Jack Kerouac, and plays golf on an abandoned coal mine. And, in his trademark celebration of the mundane, Sullivan investigates everything from the history of the gas pump to the origins of fast food and rest stops. Cross Country tells the tales that come from fifteen years of driving across the country (and all around it) with two kids and everything that two kids and two parents take when driving in a car from one coast to another, over and over, driving to see the way the road made America and America made the road.      Praise for Cross Country:  "Sullivan writes with precision, humor and empathy, and his own voice carrying us along."-Oregonian   "[A] sprawling, zigzagging, history-drenched memoir."-Boston Globe   "[An] entertaining, eclectic and eccentric memoir."-Cleveland Plain Dealer  "[Sullivan] channels Walt Whitman's sense of wonder."-Washington Times   "[Sullivan] could be the uncrowned king of road tripping."-Seattle Post Intelligencer  "Sullivan is sensitive, witty and well-read, which is why it's so much fun to have him along for the ride."-USA Today  "Sullivan is fascinating...he's in a league with Bill Bryson, a writer who deftly mixes humor and knowledge."-Fort Worth Star Telegram  "Cross Country is, by turns, grand, timely, intriguing...fascinating." -LA Times Book Review  "[Sullivan] is brilliant at

Who read this book also read:

  • Pablo Escobar: The History of the Biggest Narco - cover

    Pablo Escobar: The History of...

    My Ebook Publishing House

    • 0
    • 5
    • 0
    Pablo Escobar
     
    Murderer, philanthropist, drug dealer, politician, devil, saint: many words have been used to describe Pablo Escobar, but one is irrefutable - legend. For the poor of Colombia, he was their Robin Hood, a man whose greatness lay not in his crimes, but in his charity; for the Colombian rich he was just a bloodthirsty gangster, a Bogie Man used to scare children in their beds; for the rest of the world flush with his imported cocaine, he was public enemy number one. When talking about Colombia, there is usually one thing that instantly comes to mind –cocaine. While this stereotype is not completely true, it is difficult not to associate the country with drugs. Naturally, the name Pablo Escobar will come up when reading about the emergence of the drug industry in the country. Escobar and his Medellin cartel once led the drug trade in Colombia, trafficking around 80% of the world’s cocaine supply. During his period of influence, Escobar amassed an estimated net worth of $25 billion.
     
    Here Is A Preview Of What You'll Learn...Early Years of Pablo Escobar Escobar and his Rise to Power Pablo’s FamilyWas Pablo Escobar Like Robin Hood? Prison of La Catedral The End of EscobarMuch, much more!
     
    Download your copy today!
    Show book
  • The Professor and Other Writings - cover

    The Professor and Other Writings

    Terry Castle

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    “[Terry Castle is] the most expressive, most enlightening literary critic at large today.” —Susan Sontag  
    From one of America’s most brilliant critics and cultural commentators, Terry Castle, comes The Professor and Other Writings: a collection of startling, gorgeously-written autobiographical essays and a new, long-form piece about the devastation and beauty of early love. James Wolcott, contributing writer to Vanity Fair, calls Terry Castle a “Jedi knight of literary exploration and lesbian scholarship,” and The Professor and Other Writings “a greatest-hits package of show-stopping monologues and offhand-genius riffs.” The Professor and Other Writings is a hilarious and heartbreaking exploration of gender, identity, and sexuality in the grand tradition of such feminist luminaries as Susan Sontag, Camille Paglia, and Joan Didion.
    Show book
  • Endgame - A Journal of the Seventy-Ninth Year - cover

    Endgame - A Journal of the...

    May Sarton

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    As she battles debilitating illnesses, May Sarton looks back on her life, cherishes new and old friendships, and finds hope in the brave new world of old age “I always imagined a journal that would take me through my seventy-ninth year,” May Sarton writes, “the doors opening out from old age to unknown efforts and surprises.” Instead of musing calmly on the philosophical implications of aging, the writer found herself spending most of her energy battling for her health.   Coping with constant pain and increasing frailty, Sarton fears that the end is not far off. The story of what she calls the “last laps of a long-distance runner,” this yearlong journal addresses such familiar Sarton topics as her beloved garden, the harshness of Maine winters, and the friendships and intimate relationships that have nurtured and sustained her. She settles some old literary scores and paints a generous portrait of Virginia Woolf, who often shared tea with Sarton during the late 1930s. When illness saps Sarton’s ability to type, she dictates into recorders and has the tapes transcribed by devoted assistants. In spite of the loss of independence and the fear that she will never fully recover, she does her best to soldier on, taking pleasure in small things like a good meal; her cat, Pierrot, who loves the rain; and being able to sleep through the night. An enduring inspiration to millions of women, Sarton even finds the courage to achieve again.  
    Show book
  • Paranormal - My Life in Pursuit of the Afterlife - cover

    Paranormal - My Life in Pursuit...

    Raymond Moody, Paul Perry

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    The bestselling author of Life After Life, Raymond Moody, offers a stunning, myth-busting memoir of everything he has learned in a lifetime studying “the other side” and our connection to it. The grandfather of the NDE (near death experience) movement, Raymond Moody has, in the words of Dr. Larry Dossey, author of The Power of Premonitions, “radically changed the way modern humans think about the afterlife.” Paranormal, essential reading for fans of Dannion Brinkley and Jeffrey Long, is “a thrilling and inspiring literary experience. Anyone who is not grateful for Moody’s immense contribution to human welfare ought to check his pulse.”
    Show book
  • Travels with Myself and Another - Five Journeys from Hell - cover

    Travels with Myself and Another...

    Martha Gellhorn

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Out of a lifetime of travelling, Martha Gellhorn has selected her "best horror journeys". She bumps through rain-sodden, war-torn China to meet Chiang Kai-Shek, floats listlessly in search of u-boats in the wartime Caribbean and visits a dissident writer in the Soviet Union against her better judgment. Written with the eye of a novelist and an ironic black humour, what makes these tales irresistible are Gellhorn's explosive and often surprising reactions. Indignant, but never righteous and not always right, through the crucible of hell on earth emerges a woman who makes you laugh with her at life, while thanking God that you are not with her.
    Show book
  • A Game of Thrones by George R R Martin (Book Analysis) - cover

    A Game of Thrones by George R R...

    Summaries Bright

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Unlock the more straightforward side of A Game of Thrones with this concise and insightful summary and analysis!This engaging summary presents an analysis of A Game of Thrones by George R. R. Martin, which introduces readers to the powerful families at war for the Iron Throne in the A Song of Ice and Fire saga. The book depicts a richly detailed medieval world, and interweaves a number of connected storylines involving dragons, warriors, betrayal, manipulation and family secrets. The first volume of A Song of Ice and Fire, A Game of Thrones received the American Locus Award for Best Fantasy Novel in 1997 and the Spanish Ignotus Award for Best Foreign Novel in 2003. The books have also been adapted into a popular and critically acclaimed television series. George R. R. Martin is an American fantasy author, television producer and screenwriter. He has been described as the “American Tolkien”, and in 2011 was named one of Time magazine’s 100 most influential people in the world.Find out everything you need to know about A Game of Thrones in a fraction of the time!This in-depth and informative reading guide brings you:•	A complete plot summary•	Character studies•	Key themes and symbols•	Questions for further reflectionWhy choose BrightSummaries.com?Available in print and digital format, our publications are designed to accompany you in your reading journey. The clear and concise style makes for easy understanding, providing the perfect opportunity to improve your literary knowledge in no time.See the very best of literature in a whole new light with BrightSummaries.com!
    Show book