As many books as you want!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Payment - cover

Payment

Rhys N Rivers

Publisher: Rhys N Rivers

  • 0
  • 3
  • 0

Summary

Take no part in the unfruitful works of darkness, but instead expose them - Ephesians 5:8
 
Deep within the forgotten and misty moorlands of Yorkshire, the secluded village of Middleton Kirkby unknowingly plays host to a dark secret. Malevolent, malignant and patient, It waits as if dormant for the next generation of an ancient family to make their Payment.
 
When the Esquire of Middleton Kirkby returns home to his manor and life of near isolation after a period of time away he finds he is not as abandoned as he always thought. As much as he may try to resist, he realises he cannot keep from making his Payment forever.
 
Payment is the first published work by Rhys N Rivers. Rivers, a veteran of the British Armed Forces, is making his way on a part-time basis through the dozens of fictional ideas conceived as a teenager and during service. Payment evolved from a short story entered in a horror fiction competition in 2017 on fanstory.com and the reviews and comments kindly received encouraged Rivers to develop the idea into a full-length novel.
 
“…very well penned. It reminded me of E.A. Poe.”
 
“I love Poe…many horrifying images…horror theme runs well throughout…”

Other books that might interest you

  • Immortally Yours - An Argeneau Novel - cover

    Immortally Yours - An Argeneau...

    Lynsay Sands

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Irresistible chemistry and thrilling suspense combine in this electrifying new installment in New York Times bestselling author Lynsay Sands’ Argeneau series… 
      
    One hundred and twenty-five years is a long time to nurse a crush. That’s how long it’s been since Beth Argenis first met Cullen “Scotty” MacDonald and he instantly became the star of her most X-rated dreams. Back then, he was rescuing her from a Rogue Immortal. Now Beth’s a Rogue Hunter—a damn good one. She doesn’t need saving anymore, despite what Scotty thinks. What she does need is the fierce, wild desire that finally erupts between them. 
      
    Scotty has hesitated to claim Beth as his own. But one explosive kiss confirms what he’s long suspected: She’s his life mate. But Beth is tough, fearless, beautiful…and in immortal danger. Unless he wants to lose her forever, he’ll have to rethink everything he once believed about love and destiny as well as confront an enemy who’s terrifyingly close.
    Show book
  • Bitten By Cupid - cover

    Bitten By Cupid

    Lynsay Sands, Pamela Palmer,...

    • 5
    • 24
    • 0
    Just in time for Valentine’s Day, there’s Bitten by Cupid, a trio of sinfully hot novellas from three true masters of paranormal romance. These are contemporary love stories with a bite—as Lynsay Sands, New York Times bestselling author of The Renegade Hunter and the popular Argeneau vampire series, joins exciting up-and-comers Pamela Palmer and Jamie Rush to explore the passions of sexy shape-shifters, genetically enhanced humans, and (of course) the undead. Fans of Heroes, The X-Files, Fringe, and Torchwood will surely catch the love bug once they are Bitten by Cupid.
    Show book
  • Volk - A Novel of Radiant Abomination - cover

    Volk - A Novel of Radiant...

    David Nickle

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The sequel to Eutopia is “a nailbiter . . . that is spooky as hell, a critical and sharp demolition of Lovecraft’s own romanticization of eugenics” (Cory Doctorow, Boing Boing). In Eutopia, an orphaned farm boy and a black physician came face to face with monsters both human—American eugenicists—and inhuman—a parasite called the Juke. Volk is “another dive into the horrific . . . a dazzling horror novel that’s unafraid to ask questions and leave some of them unanswered” (Publishers Weekly, starred review). At the dawn of the twentieth century, Dr. Andrew Waggoner and Jason Thistledown made it out of the Idaho town of Eliada alive—but so did the Juke . . .   Now, in 1931 Europe, there are those who seek to resurrect the philosophy of the founders of Eliada. Deep in the Bavarian mountains, research has begun on the creature whose seductive poison can be used in the Nazis’ quest for a master race.   Still struggling with the aftershocks of their encounters with the Juke, Dr. Waggoner has become the head of a secret society in Paris dedicated to the monster’s destruction, while Thistledown is a veteran World War I pilot. Drawn back together to fight the evil that is brewing, they will be forced to confront the diabolical plans of those who will stop at nothing to reshape humanity—and the one being capable of destroying it completely . . .   “The most intellectually provocative horror novel of the twenty-first century.” —Toronto Star “[Volk] cements David Nickle’s reputation as one of the leaders of his generation of writers.” —John Langan, award-winning author of The Fisherman
    Show book
  • Dark Side of the Road The - A country house murder mystery with a supernatural twist - cover

    Dark Side of the Road The - A...

    Simon R. Green

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Introducing Ishmael Jones - a detective with a difference - in this compelling murder mystery.
    
    Ishmael Jones is someone who can’t afford to be noticed, someone who lives under the radar, who drives on the dark side of the road. He’s employed to search out secrets, investigate mysteries and shine a light in dark places. Sometimes he kills people.
    
    Invited by his employer, the enigmatic Colonel, to join him and his family for Christmas, Ishmael arrives at the grand but isolated Belcourt Manor in the midst of a blizzard to find that the Colonel has mysteriously disappeared. As he questions his fellow guests, Ishmael concludes that at least one of them – not least Ishmael himself - is harbouring a dangerous secret, and that beneath the veneer of festive cheer lurk passion, jealousy, resentment and betrayal.
    
    As a storm sets in, sealing off the Manor from the rest of the world, Ishmael must unmask a ruthless murderer before they strike again.
    Show book
  • Eutopia - A Novel of Terrible Optimism - cover

    Eutopia - A Novel of Terrible...

    David Nickle

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    This debut horror novel by the author of short story collection Monstrous Affections “establishes him as a worthy heir to the mantle of Stephen King” (National Post).   Set in 1911, Eutopia “mixes utopian vision, rustic Americana, and pure creepiness. . . . Nickle blends Little House on the Prairie with distillates of Rosemary’s Baby and The X-Files to create a chilling survival-of-the-fittest story” (Publishers Weekly).   Situated on the edge of the woods and mountains of northern Idaho, the tiny settlement of Eliada is an industrialist’s attempt to create heaven on earth. But its secrets are soon to be unveiled, as Jason Thistledown, the sole survivor of a mysterious plague in Montana, and Andrew Waggoner, a black doctor nearly lynched by the KKK, delve beneath the façade of the utopian mill town. What they discover is science warped by ideology—and an unearthly monster that preys on the faith of its own true believers . . .   “A story of piano-wire suspense, grotesque horrors, and, above all, visceral insight into the race politics of American horror, and how they are bound up with the American project itself.” —Cory Doctorow, Boing Boing  Praise for David Nickle   “His stories are dark, wildly imaginative, and deeply compassionate—even when they’re laced with righteous anger.” —Nathan Ballingrud, author of Wounds “David Nickle is Canada’s answer to Stephen King. His writing charms even as it slices like a blade between the ribs: sharp, subtle, and never less than devastating.” —Helen Marshall, author of Gifts for the One Who Comes After
    Show book
  • The Immortal Hunter - A Rogue Hunter Novel - cover

    The Immortal Hunter - A Rogue...

    Lynsay Sands

    • 3
    • 14
    • 0
    Even vampires need a vacation. But Decker Argeneau's ends abruptly when he's asked to help hunt the group of rogue vampires targeting mortals -- one that might include a defector in his own family. Before he can worry about that, though, he's got to rescue the latest victim. It's all part of the job, including taking a bullet for a beautiful doctor. 
    Dr. Danielle McGill doesn't know if she can trust the man who just saved her life. There are too many questions, such as what is the secret organization he says he's part of, and why do his wounds hardly bleed? However, with her sister in the hands of some dangerous men, she doesn't have much choice but to trust him. 
    Except now Decker's talking about life mates and awakening a passion that's taking Dani beyond anything she's ever known. Being undead may not be half-bad...especially if it means spending forever with a man who would love her with his mind, body, and immortal soul.
    Show book