Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Holding the Fort (The Fort Reno Series Book #1) - cover

Holding the Fort (The Fort Reno Series Book #1)

Regina Jennings

Publisher: Bethany House Publishers

  • 1
  • 21
  • 0

Summary

Jennings Winningly Combines Humor, History, and RomanceLouisa Bell never wanted to be a dance-hall singer, but dire circumstances force her hand. With a little help from her brother in the cavalry, she's able to make ends meet, but lately he's run afoul of his commanding officer, so she undertakes a visit to straighten him out. Major Daniel Adams has his hands full at Fort Reno. He can barely control his rowdy troops, much less his two adolescent daughters. If Daniel doesn't find someone respectable to guide his children, his mother-in-law insists she'll take them.When Louisa arrives with some reading materials, she's mistaken for the governess who never appeared. Major Adams is skeptical. She bears little resemblance to his idea of a governess--they're not supposed to be so blamed pretty--but he's left without recourse. His mother-in-law must be satisfied, which leaves him turning a blind eye to his unconventional governess's methods. Louisa's never faced so important a performance. Can she keep her act together long enough?

Other books that might interest you

  • The Lovely Liar - cover

    The Lovely Liar

    Barbara Cartland

    • 0
    • 6
    • 0
    Two fair-haired, blue-eyed beauties named Noella whose destinies are intertwined before they're even born… One lives the high life in Europe with her mother and her rakish lover while the other leads a sheltered, quiet life… Until, alone, penniless and desperate, a beguiling stranger lures her into a web of deceit from which there's no escape. Posing as her now-dead namesake, Noella Wakefield ingratiates herself with her estranged 'brother', the handsome but bitter Earl of Ravensdale. Too late, she realises that she is part of a murderous plot – and then, after saving him from a dagger-wielding assassin, she realises she's in love. But how could the Earl ever love a liar? And how can true love be based on a lie?
    Show book
  • Coming Home to Holly Close Farm - Addictive heart-warming and laugh-out-loud funny - cover

    Coming Home to Holly Close Farm...

    Julie Houston

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Julie Houston's novels are heart-warming, full of joy and completely addictive. 
     
    Charlie Maddison loves being an architect in London, but when she finds out her boyfriend, Dominic, is actually married, she runs back to the beautiful countryside of Westenbury and her parents. Charlie's sister Daisy, a landscape gardener, is also back home in desperate need of company and some fun. 
     
    Their great-grandmother, Madge – now in her early nineties – reveals she has a house, Holly Close Farm, mysteriously abandoned over sixty years ago, and persuades the girls to project manage its renovation. 
     
    As work gets underway, the sisters start uncovering their family's history, and the dark secrets that are hidden at the Farm. A heart-breaking tale of wartime romance, jealousy and betrayal slowly emerges, but with a moral at its end: true love can withstand any obstacle, and, before long, Charlie dares to believe in love again too... 
     
    Perfect for fans of Phillipa Ashley, Katie Fforde and Jill Mansell.
    Show book
  • The Artful Match (London Beginnings Book #3) - cover

    The Artful Match (London...

    Jennifer Delamere

    • 2
    • 7
    • 0
    Cara Bernay has never fit in. At loose ends in 1881 London after a near tragedy costs her a job, she befriends a carefree artist. With his help, she begins planning a new life and developing her own artistic talent. But soon Cara finds herself at odds with the artist's brother--a handsome but arrogant earl forcing his brother back to a "respectable" life.Henry Burke, the Earl of Morestowe, feels the weight of growing financial burdens. His younger brother is the one person who can save their family, and Henry needs him back home. Despite misgivings about Cara's mysterious background, Henry sees she's a positive influence on his brother and on Henry's young ward, and he strikes a deal with her to return with them to their estate.  But the family has their own secrets, and when Cara, drawn ever closer to Henry, stumbles onto the truth, she must choose between following her heart and pursuing a bold plan that could bring disaster.
    Show book
  • Stand and Deliver your Heart - cover

    Stand and Deliver your Heart

    Barbara Cartland

    • 0
    • 5
    • 0
    Neil, the handsome Earl of Wynstock, is expected back from the English Army of Occupation in France where he has been with the Duke of Wellington since the Battle of Waterloo. And the people of his estate, Wyn Park, await his return to them impatiently. 
    Vanda Charlton, his beautiful childhood neighbour, waits with more concern than the others because, unbeknown to anyone else, a dangerous gang of highwaymen have moved into the West wing of the Earl's ancestral home after intimidating and threatening the caretaker and his wife. 
    Vanda fears that on the Earl's return the highwaymen will capture him and hold him to ransom.
    Intercepting him at a local inn, she warns the Earl and persuades him to enlist the support of the soldiers at the local Barracks. But before the Military can implement their plan of action, the ruthless renegades kidnap Vanda, threatening to kill her if they do not receive one thousand pounds by the next morning.
    Disguised in a highwayman's mask, the Earl arrives in the enemy's woodland camp in the dead of night with a cunning plan to rescue Vanda. Posing as another highwayman he enlists the local Parson and stages a Wedding claiming that he is marrying Vanda for her huge fortune, which he promises to share with the villains.
    Little do they, or even Vanda herself, know that he is as deeply in love with Vanda as she is with him. 
    And that this marriage is completely legal and utterly real!
    Show book
  • Love Saves the Day - cover

    Love Saves the Day

    Barbara Cartland

    • 1
    • 10
    • 0
    The beautiful redheaded Tiana Weston sets out to visit her inheritance in Dorset with high hopes.
    It had been her parents' dream to restore Castle Rose to its former glory as it is now a dilapidated ruin and only a small part is fit to live in.
    But Tiana soon discovers that enthusiasm and determination alone do not pay the workmen or keep property developers at bay and soon she is faced with a dreadful dilemma.
    Her handsome and aristocratic next door neighbour Richard, the Earl of Austindale, also faces considerable problems.
    He has to be married by midnight on his next birthday or he will lose everything he holds most dear to his cousin Alan, Viscount Paige.
    A young girl anxious to protect her home – a man desperate for a wife – it seems like a sensible, business-like arrangement that they should marry each other.
    And Tiana finally accepts the Earl's proposal and they are due to be married on his thirtieth birthday.
    But then an old flame of the Earl's arrives to claim him for herself and Tiana is filled with doubt especially as the Viscount is paying a great deal of attention to her.
    She also finds herself in great danger because now so many are determined that the marriage will not take place.
    How Tiana realises how much she loves the Earl.
    And how she finally finds happiness is all told in this exciting romance by BARBARA CARTLAND
    Show book
  • The Endearing Young Charms Series - cover

    The Endearing Young Charms Series

    M. C. Beaton, Marion Chesney

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    New York Times–Bestselling Author: Seven lighthearted love stories in one volume from “the best of the Regency writers” (Kirkus Reviews). 
     
    Taking us from the English countryside to the social circles of London, the novels in this sparkling collection feature a botched marriage, a drugged bride, a witty governess, an unexpected inheritance, and many other delightful surprises from “a romance writer who deftly blends humor and adventure” (Booklist). 
     
    The Endearing Young Charms Series includes: Duke's Diamonds, The French Affair, Those Endearing Young Charms, To Dream of Love, A Marriage of Inconvenience, A Governess of Distinction and The Glitter and the Gold.
    Show book