As many books as you want!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
A Cotswold Casebook - The Cotswolds are full of beauty wonder…and death - cover

A Cotswold Casebook - The Cotswolds are full of beauty wonder…and death

Rebecca Tope

Publisher: Allison & Busby

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

A COLLECTION OF TWELVE NEW SHORT STORIES 
The Cotswolds are full of beauty, wonder . . . and death 
The rolling hills of the Cotswolds are brimming with warmth and, occasionally, something a little darker, as is revealed in this collection of short stories featuring the characters and scenes from Rebecca Tope’s popular Cotswold Mystery novels. 
A suspicious funeral, a fatal encounter at a garden centre, and a country walk marred by the discovery of a hidden corpse, are just some of the perplexing situations with which Thea Osborne and a further cast of characters must contend. Including ‘The Blockley Discovery’ and ‘With Slaughter in Mind’, A Cotswold Casebook reminds us that death and crime will visit even the most idyllic country villages. 
‘The classic English village mystery is alive and well and living in Gloucestershire’ Sherlock Magazine

Other books that might interest you

  • Chaos - A Scarpetta Novel - cover

    Chaos - A Scarpetta Novel

    Patricia Cornwell

    • 1
    • 5
    • 0
    “When it comes to the forensic sciences, nobody can touch Cornwell.” 
    —New York Times Book Review 
    [PLEASE BOX:] 
     
    CHAOS 
    From the Ancient Greek (χάος or kháos) 
    A vast chasm or void. Anarchy. The science of unpredictability. 
     
    On a late summer evening in Cambridge, Massachusetts, Dr. Kay Scarpetta and her investigative partner, Pete Marino, respond to a call about a dead bicyclist near the Kennedy School of Government. It appears that a young woman has been attacked with almost superhuman force. 
    Even before Scarpetta’s headquarters has been officially notified about the case, Marino and Scarpetta’s FBI agent husband, Benton Wesley, receive suspicious calls, allegedly from someone at Interpol. But it makes no sense. Why would the elite international police agency know about the case or be interested? It soon becomes apparent that an onslaught of harassment might be the work of an anonymous cyberbully named Tailend Charlie, who has been sending cryptic communications to Scarpetta for over a week. 
    Even Lucy, her brilliant tech-savvy niece, can’t trace who it is or how this person could have access to intimate information. When a second death shocks Scarpetta to her core, it becomes apparent she and those close to her are confronted with something far bigger and more dangerous than they’d ever imagined.  
     
    Show book
  • Evidence of Murder - A Novel of Suspense - cover

    Evidence of Murder - A Novel of...

    Lisa Black

    • 2
    • 2
    • 0
    Lisa Black, a former forensic scientist whose electrifying thrillers bear the indelible mark of authenticity, brings us Evidence of Murder—a riveting tale of crime and detection sure to enthrall fans of Patricia Cornwell and TV’s C.S.I. New York Times bestselling author Tess Gerritsen calls Black’s new novel, “another tense and unputdownable thriller. She is, quite simply, one of the best storytellers around.” Evidence of Murder delivers that and more—as returning heroine, forensic investigator Theresa MacLean, looks into the death of a young mother that may have terrifying consequences for an innocent child.
    Show book
  • Blackwatertown - cover

    Blackwatertown

    Paul Waters

    • 0
    • 5
    • 0
    Blackwatertown is atmospheric crime fiction that will appeal to fans of Maurice Leitch, James Ellroy, Andrea Camilleri and Lee Child. 
    Author available for events, talks and signings in the UK and Ireland – and by arrangement elsewhere. 
    Twitter: @paulwaters99 
    Facebook: @paulwatersauthor 
    Instagram: @paul_waters_author
    Show book
  • The House on Widows Hill - cover

    The House on Widows Hill

    Simon R. Green

    • 2
    • 2
    • 0
    Ishmael Jones investigates a haunted house . . . but is haunted by his own past in the latest of this quirky paranormal mystery series.
    
    "That house is a bad place. Bad things happen there . . ."
    
    Set high on top of Widows Hill, Harrow House has remained empty for years. Now, on behalf of an anonymous prospective buyer, Ishmael and Penny are spending a night there in order to investigate the rumours of strange lights, mysterious voices, unexplained disappearances, and establish whether the house is really haunted.
    
    What really happened at Harrow House all those years ago? Joined by a celebrity psychic, a professional ghost-hunter, a local historian and a newspaper reporter, it becomes clear that each member of 'Team Ghost' has their own pet theory as to the cause of the alleged haunting. But when one of the group suddenly drops dead with no obvious cause, Ishmael realizes that if he can find out how and why the victim died, he will have the key to solving the mystery.
    Show book
  • RINN'S CROSSING - A novel - cover

    RINN'S CROSSING - A novel

    Russell Heath

    • 1
    • 9
    • 1
    “Put on your life jacket, grab a paddle and enjoy the trip.” 
    —Tony Knowles, former Governor of Alaska 
      
    They had been friends who fought side by side for better things. Now both were running from crimes neither could have imagined of themselves . . . 
    On a remote Alaskan island, Rinn van Ness commits a minor felony. His former lover is arrested for the crime—and a murder someone tried to pin on him.  
    Out on bail, Kit Olinsky fights a scorched-earth battle in the state legislature to save the Alaska she loves. She can only win if she betrays her friend Dan Wakefield, a Tlingit fighting desperately for what was promised to his people a generation ago.  In the back rooms of the legislature, Senator Billy Macon manipulates Alaska’s grimy politics with vindictive mastery in his drive to the governor’s mansion. 
    Like a lone wolf, Rinn slips out of the forest to protect Kit, never suspecting that he has more at stake than a lonely prison cell. 
    Show book
  • Dark Queen Waiting - cover

    Dark Queen Waiting

    Paul Doherty

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Christopher Urswicke must unmask the traitor lurking amongst Margaret Beaufort’s supposedly loyal followers in this gripping medieval mystery.
    October, 1471. Edward IV sits on the English throne; the House of York reigns supreme. With her young son, Henry Tudor, in exile in France, Margaret Beaufort, Countess of Richmond, shelters deep in the shadows, secretly plotting for the day when Henry can be crowned the rightful king.
    But as her supporters are picked off one by one, it becomes clear that a traitor lurks within Margaret’s household. When one of her most loyal henchmen, Jacob Cromart, is murdered in St Michael’s Church, where he had claimed sanctuary, Margaret orders her sharp-witted clerk, Christopher Urswicke, to find out who has betrayed her.
    How could a man be killed inside a church where the doors are all locked, with no sign of an intruder or weapon?  If he is to protect Margaret’s remaining supporters from suffering a similar fate, Urswicke must solve a baffling mystery where nothing is as it first appears.
    Show book