Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Witch from the Sea - cover

The Witch from the Sea

Philippa Carr

Publisher: Open Road Media Romance

  • 0
  • 4
  • 0

Summary

In Tudor England, a dark mystery threatens a marriage. “Carr is a master at creating and sustaining suspense . . . a story that will draw you in” (Regan Romance Review).  Linnet Pennlyon, proud daughter of a sea captain, finds herself in a vicious trap: Pregnancy has forced her to marry the cunning Squire Colum Casvellyn. Once their baby is born, she devotes herself to their son. Yet, little by little, against her will, Linnet finds herself drawn to her passionate, mercurial husband. Dark secrets lurk in their castle: The squire’s first wife died amid rumors of foul play. When a beautiful stranger washes up on the shore, Linnet suddenly finds she’s no longer in control of her family—or her life. It falls to Linnet’s daughter, Tamsyn, to uncover the truth about a long-ago night . . . and put to rest the rumors about her beloved mother. Her discovery sets in motion an unstoppable chain of events that will reverberate for decades to come.  
Available since: 02/19/2013.
Print length: 640 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • Obsession - An unmissable psychological thriller - cover

    Obsession - An unmissable...

    Rob Sinclair

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Fixated on her estranged sister’s death, a woman heads to the Spanish coast to conduct her own investigation—but will the truth bring her peace? Ever since her sister, Anya, was murdered in Sotogrande, a playground for the rich, Natasha’s life has gone off the rails. After three months of poring over the details of what happened, Natasha travels to the scene of the crime where she hopes to unravel the truth—about her sister’s death and life. With no job, how did Anya end up in a multimillion-Euro apartment in one of the most exclusive areas on the continent? The police have no suspect. Publicly, they claim the killing was likely gang-related. But their key person of interest, a local with links to organised crime, is also now dead. His fingerprints were found in Anya’s luxury apartment—but so too were the fingerprints of several others, all of whom could be suspects. But how were these people linked to Anya? And which of them is responsible for her murder?Praise for the novels of Rob Sinclair “Impossible to put down.” —Publishers Weekly on Sleeper 13 “Dramatic and enjoyable.” —Between the Lines on Dance with the Enemy
    Show book
  • Six Ostriches - A Dr Bannerman Vet Mystery - cover

    Six Ostriches - A Dr Bannerman...

    Philipp Schott

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    “Combines the soothing sleuthing of Murder, She Wrote with the humble charm of All Creatures Great and Small.” — Publishers Weekly STARRED review
    		 
    For readers of The Thursday Murder Club comes a lighthearted mystery with an incredible sense of place
    		 
    It’s springtime in rural Manitoba, and the snow has finally left the exotic animal farm when an ostrich finds and swallows a shiny object. (Because this is what ostriches do.) Cue veterinarian and amateur sleuth Dr. Peter Bannerman, who surgically removes the object, which looks like an ancient Viking artifact. Soon after, people around are horrified by a series of animal mutilations. This sets Peter, and his talented sniffer dog, Pippin, on the hunt for answers. Peter begins to suspect a link between the Viking artifact, the mutilations, and a shadowy group of white supremacists on the internet.
    		 
    Before long Peter and Pippin are in over their heads, and the only way for them to get out alive will be to unmask the mastermind before they end up among their victims.
    Show book
  • How You See Me - cover

    How You See Me

    S.E. Craythorne

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Taut and suspenseful,
    How You See Me examines the terrifying power of the mind to deceive, not only others but - most destructively of all - ourselves. 'I've probably lied to you. That's habit. I lie to everyone about my family…' Daniel Laird has returned to Norfolk after a nine-year absence to care for his ailing artist father. He describes his uneasy homecoming in a series of letters to his sister, his boss, and to Alice, his one true love. But it is not until he discovers a hidden cache of his father's paintings that the truth begins to surface about why he left all those years ago. The more Daniel writes, the more we learn about his past - and the more we begin to fear for those he holds dear.
    Show book
  • A River of Crows - cover

    A River of Crows

    Shanessa Gluhm

    • 3
    • 12
    • 0
    In 1988, Sloan Hadfield’s brother Ridge went fishing with their father and never came home. Their father, a good-natured Vietnam veteran prone to violent outbursts, was arrested and charged with murder. Ridge’s body was never recovered, and Sloan’s mother—a brilliant ornithologist—slowly descended into madness, insisting her son was still alive.
     
    Now, twenty years later, Sloan’s life is unraveling. In the middle of a bitter divorce, she’s forced to return to her rural Texas hometown when her mother is discharged from a mental health facility.
     
    Overwhelmed by memories and unanswered questions, Sloan returns to the last place her brother was seen all those years ago: Crow’s Nest Creek. There, she is shocked to hear a crow muttering the same syllable over and over: Ridge, Ridge, Ridge.
     
    When the body of another boy is found, Sloan begins to question what really happened to her brother all those years ago. What she discovers will shock her small community and turn her family upside down.
     
    A River of Crows is a tale of family secrets, deception, and revenge perfect for fans of Julia Heaberlin and Jennifer Hillier.
     
    Praise for A River of Crows
     
    “In A River of Crows, Shanessa Gluhm spins a complex web of murder and family revelation that propels the reader forward at a breakneck pace. Just when you think you know where the story is headed, she reveals another thread. If you haven’t yet read Shanessa Gluhm, you need to put her on your to-be-read list.”—Allen Eskens, USA Today bestselling author of The Life We Bury
     
    “A twisted family dynamic and complex personal history combine with a touch of romance . . . grabs on with the opening pages and holds a reader tight to the very end.”—Elena Taylor/Elena Hartwell, author of All We Buried and the Wait, Wait, Don’t Query (Yet) series
     
    “. . . one of the strongest new voices in mysteries. [Gluhm] has invented what could be a new genre: the family-driven mystery.”—Rob Samborn, author of The Prisoner of Paradise and Painter of the Damned
     
    “. . . peels away layers of family secrets in this dual timeline narrative, right up until the climatic final reveal, a twist that truly surprised me.”—Laura Kemp, award-winning author of the Lantern Creek Series
     
    “. . . a thought-provoking story of revelation, family ties, discovery, and murder. Readers who choose A River of Crows for its mystery will find an unexpected draw and value in the emotional components which keep the plot action-packed and charged with transformation.”—D. Donovan, Senior Reviewer, Midwest Book Review
     
    "Shanessa Gluhm, with literary panache, expertly shows what happens when a family strays from respect and honesty, with the consequence of it all, as dark as a crow’s wing, unfurling, touching, and changing everything and everyone in its path."—Lone Star Literary Life
     
    “Like the tumultuous river flowing at the center of this gripping tale, Shanessa Gluhm has crafted a pulsating story that is just waiting to pull you into its chilling depths and slowly reveal all its darkest secrets”—Indies Today
    Show book
  • My Daddy The Serial Killer - A Psychological Thriller - cover

    My Daddy The Serial Killer - A...

    Cindy Kovacik

    • 2
    • 14
    • 0
    Katelyn Deason was naïve and innocent at six years old. But she made the mistake of descending those cellar steps . . . the residence of horror.
     
    You see, her father wasn’t who she thought he was. He wasn’t the loving, “normal” daddy all the other kids had. He was different. Katelyn soon realizes just how different as the years pass and unspeakable things begin to happen.
     
    “This is more than the typical psychological thriller, horror, or serial killer novel. This book follows the story of the daughter— not the serial killer. It travels alongside her, witnessing what she goes through with her father and how it shapes her life.” —Cindy Kovacik
     
    This book is intended for readers 18+.
    Show book
  • The conspiracy - Detective Green - cover

    The conspiracy - Detective Green

    Bryde Enoh, Brandon Barika

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Crime, bloodshed, death, rape and homicides. The state of Maryland is at stake but who will save it? In the state of Maryland crime is at its utmost, there is a lot of kidnapping and homicides are the norm, with the officials of the law being corrupt, the great state is at the verge of destruction. But there are a few left who can save the state. In the story the life of detective Green is shown in his struggles to fight crime.
    Show book