Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Fifty-Four Pigs - A Dr Bannerman Vet Mystery - cover

Fifty-Four Pigs - A Dr Bannerman Vet Mystery

Philipp Schott

Publisher: ECW Press

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

“A delicious read.” — Iona Whishaw, author of the Lane Winslow mystery series
		 
For readers of The Thursday Murder Club comes a lighthearted mystery with an incredible sense of place
		 
A swine barn explodes near a lakeside town, putting veterinarian Dr. Peter Bannerman on a collision course with murder and a startling conspiracy.
		 
Peter is an odd duck, obsessed with logic and measurable facts, an obsession he puts to good use in his veterinary practice. When a murder is connected to the swine barn explosion and his friend Tom becomes the prime suspect, Peter feels compelled to put his reasoning skills, and his dog Pippin’s remarkable nose, to use to help clear him.
		 
The situation darkens with a second murder and a series of break-ins, including at Peter’s house and clinic, but Peter has a hard time knowing when he is out of his depth, despite warnings from his brother-in-law Kevin, an RCMP officer. 
		 
Ultimately Peter finds himself out in the middle of a frozen lake during a blizzard, fighting for his life and confronting a horrifying realization he had been blind to all along.
Available since: 04/19/2022.
Print length: 256 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • Blood White and Blue - A Gripping Crime Thriller - cover

    Blood White and Blue - A...

    James Silvester

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    In this gripping spy thriller, post-Brexit tensions are high across the UK, and the fate of the nation is in the hands of a desperate agent.  
     
    Britain is a hotbed of racial discord and economic uncertainty. Only Sir Geoffrey Hartnell, an ageing but hugely respected Member of Parliament, can ease tensions. But as tenuous talks begin, a ghost from the past threatens to bring the UK to its knees. 
     
    Lucie Musilova is a young woman running out of places to hide. Half-British, half-Czech and rejected by both countries in the aftermath of Brexit, she has no choice but to accept an assignment with a secret branch of intelligence services. As the Hartnel case—and her mysterious role in it—spiral out of control, one false move could cost future of the nation . . . not to mention Lucie’s life.
    Show book
  • Devil's Play - cover

    Devil's Play

    Sarah Sheridan

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A secret society’s dark truths come to light when murder disrupts their circle in this riveting psychological mystery by the author of The Convent. 
     
    Four troubled students have come together as an unlikely group of friends after joining an underground society at university—based around the celebration and practices of New Satanism. It is run by a charismatic and beautiful sociopath named Dillon, who exerts a strange power over Eleanor, Hunter, Natalie, and Seth. 
     
    Now their unhealthy bond has set in motion a chain of events that no one could have seen coming. When one of the friends dies unexpectedly, the police initially believe it’s accidental. But the victim’s father is convinced otherwise, and a spotlight is turned on the secret society and its members. The question is not only who is responsible for the murder, but exactly what sort of darkness lies behind it . . .
    Show book
  • Scars - An Unforgettable Psychological Thriller - cover

    Scars - An Unforgettable...

    Dan Scottow

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    The wounds you can’t see take the longest to heal in this modern gothic thriller from the bestselling author of Girl A and Damaged.   In an isolated cottage on the banks of a Scottish loch, a reclusive couple take on a new live-in carer.   As Lucy gets to know her employers, she realizes the house and the people in it aren’t what they seem. Is the house haunted or is something far more sinister living within the walls?   As secrets and lies begin to unravel, Lucy starts to question what is real. But one thing seems certain, if scars cannot heal, people will never forgive . . .  Praise for Girl A “A psychological thriller with a chill factor off the charts! . . . a real nail-biter.” —The Eclectic Review  “Girl A has everything I look for in a book: dark psychological thriller, great storyline, and an unpredictable plot. I’m not exaggerating when I say I couldn’t put it down. This book is so well-written, with a plot that unravels bit by bit, just at the right times.” —Joyful Antidotes   “The story flicks from present to past as it unfolds slowly and almost stalker-like . . . compelling, gritty, dark and twisted.” —Sharon Beyond the Books   “Superbly written . . . Reading Girl A was like being on a scary and unpredictable rollercoaster ride with several shocks and surprises along the way.” —gingerbookgeek   “Fantastic! . . . what brilliant writing . . . A book full of suspense, thrills and drama.” —The Comfy Chair Book Reviews
    Show book
  • The Connection Trilogy - Blood Red Code Blue Mortal Green - cover

    The Connection Trilogy - Blood...

    Anita Waller

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Three novels starring the dedicated investigators at the Connection Investigation Agency: “I always anticipate getting my hands on the latest Anita Waller thriller.” —Avonna Loves Genres The Connection Investigation Agency team takes on crimes old and new in this collection of thrillers by the bestselling author, including:Blood Red The Connection Investigation Agency has seen big changes, and new partners Tessa, Luke, and Beth have taken over. Just as the agency reopens, a body is discovered in the office outhouse, and their first case begins with bones that have lain undiscovered for twenty-five years. Luke takes on the challenge of solving his first solo case, while former DI Tessa digs into the murders of two women who received threatening notes. But as the agency digs deeper into the past and a link between the two cases is revealed, will it help or hinder?Code Blue Five years ago, John and Caroline Coates were happily expecting the birth of twin girls—until an intruder ended their dreams. Now, John has come to the agency for help tracking down the man who caused them such grief. Back then, Tessa’s involvement was cut short when the cold case department quickly took over. This is a chance for her and Luke to follow the facts and finally lay this case to rest—but will the truth they reveal bring the Coateses the peace they crave or take them to further depths of despair?Mortal Green An author has moved into Leaf Cottage for a month-long research break in Eyam. When she disappears during a long walk around the village, no one misses her, presuming she’s working in solitude on her novel. Then her husband contacts the agency, and when they find the cottage empty, it’s only the beginning of a twisting trail of danger . . .
    Show book
  • A Slice of Murder - cover

    A Slice of Murder

    Marissa De Luna

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    A groom-to-be is cut down at his engagement party, and solving the case won’t be a piece of cake . . . Shilpa Silanki’s talent is making sure that special occasions are accompanied by special cakes, and her first booking after her move to Devon, England—where she’s inherited a house in Otter’s Reach—is a posh engagement party for Mason Connolly and Harriet Drew. Unfortunately, a knife has been used for something other than cutting the cake. Now Shilpa is working to uncover layers of secrets and scandals in hopes of identifying the killer who permanently parted Mason and Harriet—and before she’s done, someone else might get iced . . .
    Show book
  • Shooting Pains - cover

    Shooting Pains

    Mairi Chong

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A British doctor is caught up in suspicions of spousal abuse and murder in a riveting mystery by the author of Death by Appointment.   When a patient visits Dr. Cathy Moreland with a disturbing story of marital tension and a bruise on her upper arm, Cathy is understandably concerned. But the young woman, Fiona, refuses further help despite confiding that she’s afraid of her husband.   Cathy is more worried still when, just days later, Fiona’s husband urges her to sign his gun licence form. With no reason not to, Cathy reluctantly complies. Soon after, Cathy is horrified to hear of a death during a shooting party on a local estate. But Fiona is not the victim. Nor is Fiona’s husband the one who pulled the trigger—but it was his gun that took the victim down. Now Cathy is left questioning whether what looks like an accident is really a coincidence, and what’s been going on behind closed doors . . .
    Show book