Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Winning of the Golden Spurs - A Golden Era of Adventure: Intrigue Expeditions and Conquest in 16th Century England - cover

The Winning of the Golden Spurs - A Golden Era of Adventure: Intrigue Expeditions and Conquest in 16th Century England

Percy F. Westerman

Publisher: Good Press

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Percy F. Westerman's 'The Winning of the Golden Spurs' is a thrilling adventure novel set in the 16th century, following the journey of young Walter Raleigh as he becomes embroiled in the court politics and expeditions of the Elizabethan era. Westerman's descriptive prose captures the tumultuous atmosphere of the time, creating a riveting narrative that transports readers back to the age of exploration and conquest. The novel's mix of historical accuracy and dramatic storytelling makes it a compelling read for both history enthusiasts and adventure lovers alike. The author's attention to detail and vivid characterizations breathe life into the plot, making it a truly captivating read. Percy F. Westerman's own experiences as a naval officer undoubtedly influenced his writing of 'The Winning of the Golden Spurs,' as his knowledge of seafaring and military operations shines through in the novel. His expertise in maritime affairs adds an extra layer of authenticity to the story, grounding it in the realities of the time period. Westerman's passion for history and adventure is evident in every page, making this book a standout in his vast body of work. I highly recommend 'The Winning of the Golden Spurs' to anyone interested in historical fiction, naval adventures, or the Elizabethan era. Percy F. Westerman's skillful storytelling and deep understanding of the period make this novel a must-read for anyone looking for an immersive and exciting literary experience.
Available since: 10/05/2023.
Print length: 175 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • A Beginner's Guide to Ruling the Galaxy - It's hard to crush your enemies when your homework's due… - cover

    A Beginner's Guide to Ruling the...

    David Solomons

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    A brilliantly funny story of what happens when a galactic princess moves in next door and almost brings about the end of the world. Exciting new fiction from the bestselling, award-winning author of My Brother is a Superhero.
    
    Gavin's got a new neighbour and she's really annoying. Niki follows him everywhere, bosses him about, and doesn't care that her parents will obliterate Earth with their galactic warships if she doesn't stop running away from them. Can Niki and Gavin sort out the alien despots (aka Mum and Dad) and save the planet? Possibly. Will they become friends along the way? Doubtful...
    
    'David Solomons represents the best in contemporary comic writing for children' -- Guardian
    
    A hilarious new story from the author of My Brother Is a Superhero, winner of the Waterstones Children's Book Prize and the British Book Industry Awards Children's Book of the Year. Perfect for fans of David Baddiel and David Walliams.
    
    Read the My Brother is a Superhero series:
    
    
    - My Brother Is a Superhero
    - My Gym Teacher is an Alien Overlord
    - My Evil Twin is a Supervillain
    - My Arch-Enemy is a Brain in a Jar
    - My Cousin is a Time-Traveller
    Show book
  • The Little Colonel's Holidays - cover

    The Little Colonel's Holidays

    Annie Fellows Johnston

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Following her successful house party, Lloyd Sherman, the Little Colonel, finds her friends returning to their homes as the end of the summer approaches, signaling the beginning of the school year. While Joyce, Eugenia, and Betty return to their homes, the Little Colonel begins to regret having met her friends, due to the loneliness of having to lose them again. But as Christmas approaches, the Little Colonel finds herself volunteering at the children�s hospital where, through her dying friend, Dot, she learns the true meaning of the holidays and of friendship.
    Show book
  • The Stitchers - cover

    The Stitchers

    Lorien Lawrence

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    A teenager picks up where her late father left off investigating her peculiar elderly neighbors in this spooky series opener. 
     
    Something strange is happening on Goodie Lane . . . 
     
      
     
    Thirteen-year-old Quinn Parker knows that there’s something off about her neighbors. She calls them “the Oldies” because they’ve lived on Goodie Lane for as long as anyone can remember, but they never seem to age. Are they vampires? Or aliens? Or getting secret experimental surgeries? Or is Quinn’s imagination just running wild again? 
     
    If her dad were still around, he’d believe her. When he was alive, they’d come up with all sorts of theories about the Oldies. Now, Quinn’s determined to keep the investigation going with the help of Mike, her neighbor and maybe-crush. They’ll have to search for clues and follow the mystery wherever it leads—even if it’s to the eerie pond at the end of the street that’s said to have its own sinister secrets. But the Oldies are on to them. And the closer Quinn and Mike get to uncovering the answers, the more they realize just how terrifying the truth may be. 
     
    “What a cool—and wild—ride . . . This is the perfect book for kids to cool off with on a hot day, because the chills come guaranteed,” —Stephen King 
     
    “A truly creepy read, perfect for fans of “Goosebumps” and Stranger Things.” ?School Library Journal 
     
    “Reminiscent of R. L. Stine’s Fear Street series, this first book in the Fright Watch series is spooky and mysterious, and it can be counted on to deliver chills to those braving its pages.” ?Booklist 
     
    “The antagonists are satisfyingly menacing, and Quinn’s struggles—grieving her father’s death, juggling friendships—ground this series opener, giving it a healthy dose of heart.” ?Publishers Weekly
    Show book
  • Toothiana Queen of the Tooth Fairy Armies - cover

    Toothiana Queen of the Tooth...

    William Joyce

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Beware a tooth fairy queen scorned in this, the third chapter book of Academy Award winner William Joyce’s The Guardians series. There’s a lot more to this tooth-swiping sprite than meets the eye!When last we heard, the Guardians were resting easy with the knowledge that the children of Santoff Clausen were finally safe from Pitch’s dastardly plans.But is it all a ruse, a scheme, a lull the evil Nightmare King has deviously concocted?Whatever Pitch’s plans, what he doesn’t know is that there’s a new Guardian in town, and she’s not the type to forget old grudges. Actually, she’s not the type to forget anything—because this Guardian is none other than Toothiana, the Tooth Fairy herself. She’s fierce and fast and crossing her will lead to a multitude of troubles. And, it turns out that, well, all those teeth she has been collecting? They contain memories. The forgotten memories of childhood…including the memories of how to fly. Young Katherine is hopeful that these memories might help her to remember her parents. The Guardians hope they’ll offer even further protection from Pitch.You can see how this information would be invaluable to our heroes. But it could also be invaluable to Pitch…
    Show book
  • Handbook for Dragon Slayers - cover

    Handbook for Dragon Slayers

    Merrie Haskell

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    When a bookish princess goes on the run, she discovers her inner strength—and a talent for slaying dragons—in this middle-grade fantasy adventure.  
     
    Political upheaval sends thirteen-year-old Princess Tilda fleeing from her kingdom in the company of two hopeful dragon slayers. The princess never had any interest in chasing dragons. The pain from her crippled foot was too great, and her dream was to write a book. 
     
    But now the princess finds herself making friends with magical horses, facing the Wild Hunt, and pointing a sword at the fire-breathing creatures. While doing things she never imagined, Tilda finds qualities in herself she never knew she possessed. Handbook for Dragon Slayers is a satisfying coming-of-age tale wrapped in a magical adventure story.
    Show book
  • It's T - cover

    It's T

    Kelly Doudna

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    It's T! begins with an introduction to the letter, what it looks like, and where it fits in the alphabet. In the second section, fun, illustrated sentences show examples of the letter with regard to sound and placement within the words. A cute, rhyming st
    Show book