Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
One More Theory About Happiness - A Memoir - cover

One More Theory About Happiness - A Memoir

Paul Guest

Publisher: HarperCollins e-books

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

“In these lyrical, searing pages, Guest manages to break our hearts and put them back together again.”—Ann Hood 
In the tradition of Lucy Grealy’s Autobiography of a Face, One More Theory About Happiness is a bold and original memoir from the acclaimed, Whiting Award-winning poet Paul Guest, author of My Index of Horrifying Knowledge. A remarkable account of the accident that left him a quadriplegic, and his struggle to find independence, love, and a life on his own terms, One More Theory About Happiness has been praised by Charles Bock, author of Beautiful Children, as, “Smart and honest and clear eyed and above all, humane.” 
 

Who read this book also read:

  • Dignifying Dementia - A Caregiver's Struggle - cover

    Dignifying Dementia - A...

    Elizabeth Tierney

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Diagnosed with dementia in 1997, my husband, Jim, lived at home during his illness and died there in January 2006. I wish this story were fiction, but it is not. Dignifying Dementia is both a love story and an attempt to reach out to others who are living through or who will live through a similar tragedy. It is written in the hope that others might benefit from what I learned as the caregiver of a dementia victim. Only then will Jim’s cruel affliction serve some purpose, because it might help others feel less lonely, bewildered, angry or frustrated than I did, shorten the dreadful learning curve, or encourage others to ask more questions and make fewer assumptions. And because it might remind members of the health care industry – from physicians to orderlies, from agency administrators to certified nursing assistants – that dementia victims and their loved ones are human beings who deserve respect, kindness, empathy and patience, so often lost in our fast-paced society. The diagnostic process I describe was painful and disappointing; perhaps someone else’s caregiving experience might be easier. Caring for Jim was exhausting; perhaps someone else’s might be less draining. Watching someone lose his or her mind and body is not polite. It is rude and mean-spirited. Dementia brutalized Jim and stole the love of my life from me. It altered him, us and me. This is not a medical text; it is the story of our experience with dementia and the lessons I learned as I tried to be Jim’s voice, to maintain his dignity and to care for him and for me.
    Show book
  • Be the Worst You Can Be - Life's Too Long for Patience and Virtue - cover

    Be the Worst You Can Be - Life's...

    Charles Satchi

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Charles Saatchi founded the Saatchi & Saatchi advertising agency in 1970, which grew to become the largest of its kind in the world. At the same time he started collecting art and, later, opened his first gallery in London. He championed young British artists, such as Tracey Emin and Damien Hirst, and became a major figure on the international art scene. For someone so influential, he's surprisingly quiet. Charles Saatchi almost never gives interviews. However, he's a man with a view on everything - from movies to morals, superstition to suicide - and in this fascinating new book he answers nearly 300 questions from readers and journalists. What is the most valuable life lesson you can offer? Are you a believer that good is the enemy of great? What is more powerful - money or knowledge? How would you describe yourself if you did not have art in your life? How many of the seven deadly sins are you guilty of? This is the definitive read for those in search of answers.
    Show book
  • A Year For Change - The Nicholas Chronicles #3 - cover

    A Year For Change - The Nicholas...

    Matt Zachary

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    This is the third book in The Nicholas Chronicles.
     
    
    	Nicholas and Michel finally have a life where they can be happy together, but it doesn't take long for jealousy to set in. Before he knows it, Nicholas' life is flipped upside down. He finds himself dealing with things he never wanted to or planned on dealing with. He manages to bring order back to his life, just to be confronted with an old face from the past.
     
    
    	This book is a novella of about 16,000 words.
     
    
    	Other books by Matt Zachary:
     
    
    	New Discoveries (Book 1 of the New Discoveries series) 
    
    	Broken Hearts (Book 2 of the New Discoveries series) 
    
    	Life Changes (Book 3 of the New Discoveries series) 
    
    	New Beginnings (Book 4 of the New Discoveries series) 
    
    	The New Discoveries Series: Complete Collection (All 4 Books) 
    
    	12 Days of Craigslist 
    
    	A Life For Nicholas (Book 1 of The Nicholas Chronicles) 
    
    	A Home For Christmas (Book 2 of The Nicholas Chronicles) 
    
    	A Year For Change (Book 3 of The Nicholas Chronicles) 
    
    	The Nicholas Chronicles (All 3 Books)
    Show book
  • Mustaine - A Heavy Metal Memoir - cover

    Mustaine - A Heavy Metal Memoir

    Dave Mustaine, Joe Layden

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    From his early, crazy days as a founding member of Metallica, Dave Mustaine has seen and experienced everything in the world of rock n’ roll. From his young triumphs and ignominious ouster from the band for his hard-partying ways to his later rule over Megadeth, one of the most successful heavy metal bands of all time, Mustaine tells it all. Outrageously candid and in-your-face, this is classic rock memoir in the vein of Slash, Motley Crue: The Dirt, and Sound of the Beast—an insider’s look at the loud and sordid world of heavy metal.
    Show book
  • Delta Rogue SEAL Team Phantom Series 3 - SEAL Team Phantom Series - cover

    Delta Rogue SEAL Team Phantom...

    Elle Boon

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    DELTA ROGUE 
    Hailey joined the Navy as a way to finally have a place to belong. Being a California girl, she always loved the water and saving lives. As a teenager she’d been swimming in the ocean when she’d nearly drowned and had been saved by a Navy SEAL. It was then she’d decided that was what she’d become. Twenty years later, she was seriously reconsidering her life choices. She was supposed to save lives, not be the target of hitmen, and have the men she looked at as her brothers, nearly die on her watch. Especially one man in particular, who she feels much more than sisterly feelings for. 
    Maddox was playing a dangerous game of cat and mouse. He was used to it in his line of work. Never had an assignment made him wish for things he shouldn’t. His job was to protect the citizens of the United States from terrorism, and sometimes the means didn’t always sit well with him. However, the ends always outweighed his own needs. Only this time, he wasn’t so sure. His missions never had him facing a woman who made his heart beat with just a smile of her pretty bow shaped lips. 
    When threats force Maddox to place Hailey under his care twenty four hours a day, will he be able to keep things professional? Or will being in close quarters with the one woman who threatens his sanity, make this Rogue SEAL claim her for his own. Will Hailey still want Maddox when she finds out he’s not the SEAL of her dreams?
    Show book
  • Can't Forgive - My 20-Year Battle with OJ Simpson - cover

    Can't Forgive - My 20-Year...

    Kim Goldman

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Don’t tell her she needs to find closure. Don’t ask her to forgive and forget.When Kim was just 22, her older brother, Ron Goldman, was brutally killed by O.J. Simpson. Ron and Kim were very close, and her devastation was compounded by the shocking not guilty verdict that allowed a smirking Simpson to leave as a free man.It wasn’t Kim’s first trauma. Her parents divorced when she was young, and she and Ron were raised by their father.  Her mother kidnapped her, telling her that her father didn’t love her any more. When she was 14, she was almost blinded from severe battery acid burns on her face during an automobile accident, requiring three reconstructive surgeries.But none of these early traumas compared to the loss of her brother, the painful knowledge that his killer was free, and fact that she could not even grieve privately—her grief was made painfully public. Counseled by friends, strangers, and even Oprah to “find closure,” Kim chose a different route. She chose to fight.Repeatedly, Kim and her family pursued Simpson by every legal means. Foiled over and over again, they ultimately achieved a small measure of justice.Kim’s story is one of tragedy, but also of humanity and, often, comedy. Living life as one of America’s most famous “victims” isn’t always easy, especially as a single mother in the dating market. She often had bizarre first date experiences, with one man even breaking down into tears and inconsolable with grief after realizing who she was.Ultimately Kim’s story is that of an ordinary person thrown into extraordinary circumstances at a very young age, and who had the courage—despite the discouragement of so many—to ignore the conventional wisdom and never give up her fight for justice.
    Show book