Did you know that reading reduces stress?
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Demon Jack - cover

Demon Jack

Patrick Donovan

Publisher: Diversion Books

  • 2
  • 2
  • 0

Summary

Hell is what you make of it.

Fifteen years ago, Jack died and was presented with a simple choice: stay dead and go to Hell or sell his soul to a demon and keep living. Now, soulless and out of prison, Jack is living as a drifter in the streets of Boston, trying desperately to be nobody.

It's all working out until Jack's only friend turns on him, possessed by something far worse than the demon holding the contract to his soul. It’s only the beginning of the nightmare: dragged out of the shadows by an ancient order with roots in the Inquisition, Jack is blackmailed into hunting down whatever’s turning Boston's homeless into ravenous killers.

Paired with a centuries-old witch, Jack is in a race to track down what's killing his people, all while staying one step ahead of his own brutal past.

Other books that might interest you

  • Conan - cover

    Conan

    Robert E. Howard

    • 0
    • 5
    • 0
    "Know, oh prince, that between the years when the oceans drank Atlantis and the gleaming cities, and the years of the rise of the Sons of Aryas, there was an Age undreamed of, when shining kingdoms lay spread across the world like blue mantles beneath the stars—Nemedia, Ophir, Brythunia, Hyperborea, Zamora with its dark-haired women and towers of spider-haunted mystery, Zingara with its chivalry, Koth that bordered on the pastoral lands of Shem, Stygia with its shadow-guarded tombs, Hyrkania whose riders wore steel and silk and gold. But the proudest kingdom of the world was Aquilonia, reigning supreme in the dreaming west. Hither came Conan, the Cimmerian, black-haired, sullen- eyed,sword in hand, a thief, a reaver, a slayer, with gigantic melancholies and gigantic mirth, to tread the jeweled thrones of the Earth under his sandalled feet."
    The complete Robert E. Howard's Conan in a new omnibus edition that includes:
    The Frost Giant's Daughter
    The Tower of The Elephant
    The God in The Bowl
    Rogues in The House
    Queen of The Black Coast
    The Vale of Lost Women
    Black Colossus
    Shadows in The Moonlight
    A Witch Shall Be Born
    Shadows in Zamboula
    Xuthal Of the Dusk
    The Devil in Iron
    The People of The Black Circle
    The Black Stranger
    The Pool of The Black One
    Red Nails
    Jewels of Gwahlur
    Beyond the Black River
    The Phoenix on the Sword
    The Scarlet Citadel
    The Hour of the Dragon
    Synopsis, Drafts and Unfinished Stories
    The Hyborian Age
    Show book
  • The Ledberg Runestone - cover

    The Ledberg Runestone

    Patrick Donovan

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The author of Demon Jack delivers the first novel ina daring Southern urban fantasy adventure perfect for fans of Jim Butcher and M.D. Massey.Magic: To some, it’s spectacle. To Jonah, it’s pure profit.A shaman for hire, Jonah can tap into his powers as easily as turning on a light switch, but the real money is in putting on a show. And after putting himself in debt to the Carver brothers, Asheville’s version of a mafia, in order to save his father’s business, he’s in need of some real money. Then a mysterious woman makes Jonah a staggering offer: $20,000—to find and deliver the Ledberg runestone, a legendary artifact of Norse myth. He’s suspicious of the case and the buyer, but when the Carvers threaten Jonah’s father if they don’t get their payment within the month, Jonah starts his investigation. As he explores Asheville’s seedy magical underbelly, Jonah discovers he’s not alone on the hunt. Will Jonah survive long enough to save his father, or will his past of swindling mortals and dodging debt collectors finally catch up with him? “The plot itself is fun . . . We have twists and an exceptional one at the end; but what holds it together is this unique character and the foundations it lays for something truly epic to come.”—Fangs for the Fantasy
    Show book
  • Hardening the Steel - cover

    Hardening the Steel

    Mark B. Gilgam

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Is it possible to teach healing to the last descendant of a murderous race and keep him from war? “Blood will not be cheated,” those are the words of a Kri-warrior dying in the Battle of the Bloodswamp.Kitt grows up on the island of Isenkliff in the Grey Northern Sea, where Brynnir’s forge stands. He works hard to become a master blacksmith, forging the Aurora Steel, and does not doubt that he knows all about his parents, the smith Eckehart and the healer Aslaug. In thirteen stories, he faces Ice-Maidens and Ice-Giants, and once, a Silver Sword is wielded by a shadow woman. He runs for his life in the Dark Wood Murkowydir, where lost cities sleep and creatures that have died out elsewhere survive, where the Feen Woodstalkers live and are feared for their stealth and cruelty.
    Show book
  • Wild Women Collection - cover

    Wild Women Collection

    Rachel Sullivan

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    The first 3 books in this paranormal romantic thriller series about supernatural Wild Women who join forces against their oppressors.FREYJA’S DAUGHTER Supernatural bounty hunter Faline Frey is more comfortable relying on perp files and handcuffs than using her huldra powers. It’s better to avoid being noticed by the local Hunter authority. But when Faline’s sister is kidnapped, she not only teams up with her cop ex-lover to find her, she inspires her fellow Wild Women to finally embrace their power against their oppressors.LILITH’S CHILDREN As Wild Woman unite in battle, the Hunters double down their suppression efforts. But with Faline's coterie on the run, they soon discover something even darker lurking under the streets of Portland—and it’s appetite will not be satisfied with words. Between old enemies and potential new ones, danger lives in every shadowISHTAR’S LEGACY As the Wild Women turn the tide on the Hunter in America, global communities of Wild Women get wind of the possible exposure. When they discover Faline Frey has partnered with an ex-Hunter, they are ready to declare war on their own sisters. Faline has one shot to stop the bloodshed and win freedom for every Wild Woman. But can she succeed with her hands literally tied behind her back?
    Show book
  • Vampires of Portlandia - cover

    Vampires of Portlandia

    Jason Tanamor

    • 2
    • 13
    • 1
    When Marcella Leones relocates her family of aswang vampires from the Philippines to Portland, Oregon, she raises her grandchildren under strict rules so humans will not expose them. Her only wish is to give them a peaceful life, far away from the hunters and the Filipino government that attempted to exterminate them.
    
    Before she dies, she passes on the power to her eldest grandchild, Percival. He vows to uphold the rules set forth by Leones, allowing his family to roam freely without notice. After all, they are aswangs.
    
    However, when the aswang covenant is broken, the murder rate in Portland rises drastically. Who is behind the murders? And who is behind the broken covenant? Along with sensie Penelope Jane, Percival must find the truth.
    
    It's then they discover that there are other breeds of aswangs—werebeasts, witches, ghouls, and viscera—who have been residing in Portland for years.
    
    Based on Filipino folklore (aswang), “Vampires of Portlandia” is a fantastical tale of different monsters coexisting in the weirdest city in America.
    Show book
  • Summertide - cover

    Summertide

    Charlotte E. English

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    ‘You may have noticed,’ said Maut, ‘that the Tree is on the move.’
     
    On the edge of the town of Kottow stands the tallest (and oddest) Tree in the land. It’s a staid and solid arbour — until the Tree picks up its mighty old roots and wanders off, taking its resident band of misfits away with it. Whither goes the Tree? Not even the wizard can say.
     
    'There is something mighty fey about all this, or my name ain't Diggory Stokey.'
     
    Far away from Kottow, a forest lies lost in the mists of a dream. There’s much to mend in this hoary old wood, for the Summer’s been swept from the glittering skies, and no one’s keeping an eye on the Winter...
     
    'Enchanted forests,' Mudleaf spat. 'Bah. Like it's been raining magic this long age through.'
     
    The good folk of Kottow aren’t used to so wayward a magic — not even Maut Fey, the one with the sunlight behind her eyes. But magic will have its way with them, whether they will or no.
     
    Summertide’s waiting. Can the folk of the Tree bring it back, or will the wild magic wash them away?
     
    “If you mixed elements of the Faraway Tree, Narnia, Frozen and A Midsummer Night’s Dream together, you might get something like Summertide. Maybe.” — The Author
     
    ‘Almond tarts for her MAJESTY!’ someone else roared. ‘Apple ice-wine for her majesty!’
     
    Praise for the Wonder Tales:
     
    “...large helpings of wit and whimsy... readers who enjoy the old-fashioned language of classic fairy tales will be pleased with this one.” - Publishers Weekly on Faerie Fruit
     
    “Her faultless prose by turns ascends with the lark, leads you down secret paths like the willow-the-wisp, bewitches you into bewilderment, and sparkles with eye-bedazzling wonder...” - NYT bestselling author Mercedes Lackey on Gloaming
    Show book