Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Irish Earl - cover

The Irish Earl

Patricia Bray

Publisher: Diversion Books

  • 0
  • 2
  • 0

Summary

The award-winning author of Devlin’s Luck once again “keeps readers in eager anticipation” with a ribald Regency romance about the search for true love (RT Book Reviews).   Rich and beautiful, Lady Felicity Winterbourne has traveled the world in search of a place she can call home. And while there are many gentlemen eager to oblige her every wish, she knows that their ardor has more to do with her lavish dowry than true affection.   When she meets the roguish Gerald FitzDesmond, Earl of Kilgarvan, tales of his ramshackle Irish estate seize her imagination. Abandoning decorum, Felicity proposes a marriage of convenience, with the proviso—lest Gerald prove to be yet another fortune-hunter—that she holds the purse strings.   His dark looks and undeniable charm, however, soon complicate Felicity’s practical arrangement with the dizziest of desires. Meanwhile, the hard-headed Gerald finds himself becoming enchanted with his insubordinate new bride. But will either of these strong-willed souls be able to yield enough to hold on to their unlikely love?

Other books that might interest you

  • Beneath Cornish Skies - A heartwarming love story about taking a chance on a new beginning - cover

    Beneath Cornish Skies - A...

    Kate Ryder

    • 0
    • 5
    • 0
    To an outsider, Cassandra Shaw's life looks perfect. She lives in a beautiful, luxurious house in the English countryside, with a handsome, wealthy boyfriend who insists she needn't do a day's work in her life. But Cassie knows that something is not right. Her boyfriend has grown colder, treating her more like a housekeeper than a future wife. And her time feels empty and purposeless.
     
    Cassandra has always been riddled with insecurities and self-doubt, but, just for once, she decides to take a chance on a new beginning. She answers an advert for a live-in nanny, dogwalker, cook and all-round 'Superhuman' for a family living in a rambling manor house on the rugged North Cornish coast. The work is hard and tiring, but Cassie has never felt so fulfilled.
     
    As Cassie learns to connect with the natural beauty unfolding around her, Cornwall starts to offer up its secrets. Soon, Cassie starts wondering if she was drawn to this isolated part of the coast for a reason. Why was she guided to Foxcombe Manor? What are the flashes of light she sees in the valley? Is it her imagination or does someone brush past her? And who is the mysterious man living deep in the woods?
     
    A beautiful romance with a hint of ghostliness, Beneath Cornish Skies is for anyone who has ever longed to start their lives again.
     
     Reviews for Beneath Cornish Skies:
     
    'A wonderful story of finding love, freedom and oneself with a little help from friends, ancient magic and spirits in the landscape. Uplifting, romantic and perfect for anyone who loves Cornwall!' Christina Courtenay, author of Echoes of the Runes
     
    'I absolutely adored this beautifully written book. A magical and deeply romantic read' Georgia Hill, author of On a Falling Tide
     
    'A beautiful story of love and self-discovery. Evocative, haunting and magical' Nicola Cornick, author of The Forgotten Sister
     
    'An absorbing tale of romance and deceit, layered with supernatural magic and impressively researched historical fact' Carol Lovekin, author of Wild Spinning Girls
     
    'A lovely and atmospheric read, filled with magical moments' Samantha Tonge, author of The Winter We Met
     
    'An evocative and powerful ode to Cornwall, its magic and mysteries, and the power to start over again' Nancy Barone, author of New Hope for the Little Cornish Farmhouse
    Show book
  • Hiding from the Fortune-Hunters - cover

    Hiding from the Fortune-Hunters

    Barbara Cartland

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    The beautiful Colena Dalton has inherited a great fortune following the untimely death of her enormously rich father, Sir Arthur Dalton, in Paris after a long illness.
    After overhearing the Comtesse de Lyons telling her charmless son, Pierre, that he must propose to Colena as they need the money, she decides that she wants to marry a man who really loves her for herself and not for her money
    It is then that she and her cousin, Elizabeth, who has been living with Colena and her father in France, decide to change places.
    The two girls return to London where they join the Social world and are at once invited to endless parties as Sir Arthur's death has been widely reported in all the newspapers.
    And immediately the fortune-hunters start circling. One of them called Oliver Stone becomes particularly persistent and bombards Elizabeth, thinking that she is Colena, with attention and invitations, while ignoring Colena.
    As expected he proposes marriage and will not be shaken off whatever the girls try and in order to escape him they drive of Colena's father's house in the country.
    There they find they find that two famous paintings have been stolen and hearing that there is to be a sale of pictures and other treasures nearby, the girls go there to try to replace the pictures.
    It is then that they meet up again unexpectedly with the unpleasant Oliver Stone who tries to abduct Elizabeth and force into marrying him.
    Then an unfortunate accident occurs that changes everything.
    How Colena and Elizabeth meet the men of their dreams, who love them for themselves and not for their money, is told in this intriguing story by BARBARA CARTLAND.
    Show book
  • Nothing New for Sophie Drew - A Heart-Warming Romantic Comedy - cover

    Nothing New for Sophie Drew - A...

    Katey Lovell

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    In this romantic comedy series debut, a debt-ridden, hopelessly single woman tries to get her finances and her love life back on track. 
     
    Who ever said life was easy? 
     
    Sophie Drew is thirty, single, and stuck in a dead-end job. She’s convinced everyone around her has their lives in order while she’s stuck muddling through. 
     
    When a final demand from the bank makes her realize how dire her financial situation is, Sophie becomes determined to pay off her debts and take back control. 
     
    During her reinvention, Sophie meets attractive charity worker Max and things start to look up, but her best friends have other plans. With spendthrift ex Darius back on the scene, she finds herself in a dilemma . . .  
     
    Will Sophie fall back into her old ways, or can she find the confidence to make the right decisions and find happiness? 
     
    A great choice for fans of books like Bridget Jones’s Diary, as well as for readers of authors like Sue Roberts, Marian Keyes, and Sarah Morgan.
    Show book
  • The Loveless Marriage - cover

    The Loveless Marriage

    Barbara Cartland

    • 1
    • 4
    • 0
    After centuries of violence between the feuding McBrara and MacSteel clans in the Scottish Highlands, a fragile peace is about to break into a new war when the one of the MacSteels’ shepherds is murdered by the McBraras.In a desperate attempt to avoid further bloodshed before the imminent visit of the English King George, the Laird of the MacSteels proposes that they unite the clans with a marriage – and the Earl of Braradale agrees. And so the Laird’s daughter, the elfin young beauty Fyna, is obliged to marry a man she has never met – the Earl of Braradale himself.For his part, the Earl is dreading the marriage, imagining that she will be “pious and heavily built”, while for her part Fyna too dreads a loveless union with a man she doesn’t love and who will look down her as his inferior. As the two clans celebrate their wedding the reluctant bride and groom begin to become acquainted and from the start, both are pleasantly surprised to find that they have much in common – but it is only when the life of her new husband is imperilled by her murderous cousin Hamish that Fyna realises that she has fallen in love.
    Show book
  • Rivals For Love - cover

    Rivals For Love

    Barbara Cartland

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Two attractive, intelligent people with one thing in common both of them have sworn never to marry, unless it is for true love. Beautiful and headstrong, Lady Elva Chartham shocks her family when she denounces the debutante balls and festivities of London as a waste of her time. Determined not to bow to the pressure of polite society into an early marriage, she returns home to the pleasures of the country and to dream of travel and adventure. Little does she know that opportunities for both will be presented to her during a surprise visit from her cousin, the enigmatic Duke of Sparkbrook. Handsome and equally adamant that he will not marry the eligible young ladies paraded before him, they enter into a pact to help the British Government. Leaving the safety of England for Russia and the opulent court of Empress Catherine, Elva and the Duke grow closer as they face great danger amongst the plotters and espionage they discover. Will they succeed in their mission and return safely back to Britain? Or will their deception be discovered as they get drawn ever deeper into a court filled with desire, betrayal, revenge, and ultimately love?
    Show book
  • The Wicked Widow - cover

    The Wicked Widow

    Barbara Cartland

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    Since their adored father, Lord Shenley, passed away, the beautiful young Kyla Shenley and her little brother, Terry, have no one to care for them except for their despised stepmother, Sybil, who has already taken a lover and is plotting to get her greedy hands on the children’s large inheritance.
     
    When Kyla overhears her plans to ensure that young Terry has a ‘fatal accident’ and to drug Kyla and hand her over to a ghastly old man called ‘Lord Frome’ to face a life of debauchery, she sees no alternative but for them both to flee as far away as possible from their appalling stepmother.
     
    Heading for Lilliecote Castle and their beloved Nanny who works there for the Earl of Granston, they are accosted by a highwayman in a wood, but he turns out to be a particularly nice ‘gentleman of the road’, who demands only one of their sandwiches and even offers his protection should they find themselves in dire straits.
     
    When they arrive at The Castle, Nanny suggests that the Master, the Earl of Granston, should not be aware of their identities in case their wicked stepmother comes there seeking them.
     
    And, passing off Kyla as a new Governess to the Earl’s young niece, Jane, Nanny shows them how to hide in The Castle’s ancient secret passages and Priests’ Holes.
     
    But, as the handsome and authoritative Earl takes them under his wing, he suspects that there is more to the lovely Kyla than meets the eye.
     
    So eventually it is he, together with their highwayman friend, who defeats the Wicked Widow and her gang of evil accomplices in a terrifying battle in which the Earl wins Kyla’s heart and soul.
    Show book