Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Eel Question - cover

The Eel Question

Nicola Davies

Publisher: Graffeg

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Bound to serve a cruel master, Nant's curiosity never fails to get her into trouble. Her dreams of a life beyond her marshland home intensify each autumn when the silver eels return, along with her questions. Where do they come from? And where do they go?

The last in a series of six illustrated folk tales for children which explore the supernatural world, inspired by ancient folk tales and a love of nature. Be ready to feel a little bit of magic, and perhaps a few shivers down the spine.
Written by Nicola Davies and illustrated by Beth Holland.

'This unusual, mythic-feeling story is one of a series of tales from Welsh publisher Graffeg that explore the deeper and sometimes darker side of our connection with the natural world. Nant finds herself at the mercy of a witch hunt, and the story explores themes of ignorance and curiosity with a deft and gentle hand. As ever, Davies' love of the natural world is obvious, and her writing sings with a dark exuberance.' BookTrust
 
'These stories ask as many questions as they answer and highlight the strong ties that exist between nature and mankind; they beg us to seek a little deeper. Thought-provoking, haunting and swimming with the diverse beauty of the natural world.' Mary Esther Judy, Fallen Star Stories

Other books that might interest you

  • An Unlikely Spy - cover

    An Unlikely Spy

    Terry Deary

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Thrilling historical adventure from Terry Deary, the 'outstanding children's non-fiction author of the 20th century' (Books For Keeps) 
     
    This brand new, exciting adventure from bestselling Horrible Histories author Terry Deary brings the Second World War to life. Perfect for fans of Michael Morpurgo and John Boyne.  
     
    World War II has begun. Brigit has been evacuated to Wales from her home near the aeroplane factories of Coventry. But when it's revealed that her father is German, Brigit runs away to join her mother in a very special training camp, where Churchill is building a secret army of spies and saboteurs known as the Special Operations Executive. 
     
    Brigit and her mother soon find themselves on the front line in Nazi-occupied France, where they search for double agents and meet with danger at every turn in their efforts to support the French resistance. But no-one will suspect Brigit is a spy, will they? After all, who would suspect a child? 
     
    Featuring characters from The Silver Hand, this page-turning adventure sheds new light on the Second World War and will have readers gripped from start to finish.
    Show book
  • Stone Age Tales: The Great Cave - cover

    Stone Age Tales: The Great Cave

    Terry Deary

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    'Mixing historical fact with fiction, these books provide both an insightful and informative read...Thoroughly enjoyable' SCOTT EVANS, THE READER TEACHER (@MrEPrimary) 
     
    A fast-paced Stone Age adventure from the best-selling author of Horrible Histories. 
     
    17,300 years ago. Lascaux, France. 
     
    Willow isn't the strongest or fastest in his tribe, he is careful and clever. But that's not what matters to the other boys. All they care about who is the best hunter, and who can provide meat for the tribe. So when the brawny and brash Bull takes over as the tribe's chief, it's going to take all of Willow's wits to survive.  
     
     An exciting tale based on real historical and archaeological evidence, this story is full of Terry Deary's imaginative style and dry wit. With helpful reading notes to extend learning, this book is the perfect springboard for further study of the Stone Age under the Key Stage 2 National Curriculum. 
     
    Book band: Brown 
    Ideal for children aged 7+
    Show book
  • Saxon Tales: The King Who Threw Away His Throne - cover

    Saxon Tales: The King Who Threw...

    Terry Deary

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    King Vortigern thinks he's so clever but his servant Mervyn knows he is playing a dangerous game. Can Mervyn keep the King safe from the invading Saxons, Pictish raiders, and a beautiful Saxon princess?  
     
    Join master storyteller Terry Deary for a trip back in time to Saxon times and an exciting adventure. 
     
    Book band: Grey 
    Ideal for ages: 8+
    Show book
  • World War II Tales: The Apple Spy - cover

    World War II Tales: The Apple Spy

    Terry Deary

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Stories of the Second World War on the Home Front from the bestselling  Terry Deary, author of the hugely successful Horrible Histories. In this retelling of an extraordinary true story, a pair of children realise that the odd strangers they see in their tiny Scottish village are German spies. Can the children alert the authorities or will the ruthless spies find them first?
    Show book
  • Eye of the Storm - cover

    Eye of the Storm

    Kate Messner

    • 0
    • 6
    • 0
    In the not-too-distant future, huge tornadoes and monster storms have become a part of everyday life. Sent to spend the summer in the heart of storm country with her meteorological engineer father, Jaden Meggs is surprised at the strides her father's company StormSafe, has made with custom shelters that keep her family safe in even the worst of storms. At her exclusive summer science camp, Eye On Tomorrow, Jaden meets Alex, a boy whose passion for science matches hers. Together, they discover that her father's company is steering storms away from the expensive neighborhoods and toward the organic farming communities that are in competition with his bio-engineered food company, NatureMade. Jaden must confront her father, but when she does, she uncovers a terrifying family secret and must call on both her scientific knowledge and her faith to save the people she loves most from one of her father's monster storms.
    Show book
  • The Silver Hand - cover

    The Silver Hand

    Terry Deary

    • 1
    • 3
    • 0
    This brand new, thrilling adventure from bestselling 'Horrible Histories' author Terry Deary brings the closing days of the First World War to life. Perfect for fans of Michael Morpurgo and John Boyne. 
     
    It's 1918 and the Great War is entering its final phase. In northern France, young Aimee has just found out that her mother is part of a spy network working with the British. After reluctantly befriending Marius, a German boy who has been left behind by his countrymen, she must try to help him get back behind German lines while evading a traitor she has helped to discover. 
     
    This page-turning adventure sheds new light on the First World War and will have readers gripped from start to finish. 
     
    Book band: Dark Blue
    Show book