Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Misanthrope - A Play - cover

The Misanthrope - A Play

Molière Molière

Publisher: Open Road Media

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

The classic comedy about seventeenth-century French society—and a man who despises everyone. This play in verse, which debuted in 1666 in Paris, lives on as one of the greatest masterpieces of stage comedy. It follows Alceste—who constantly bemoans the flaws, foibles, and hypocrisies of the human race—and his competition with many other suitors for the hand of the alluring and flirtatious Celimene. In addition to its sheer entertainment value as an intriguing tale of romantic rivalries, The Misanthrope sparks debate on questions of honesty, idealism, and social niceties to this day.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Christopher Park Regulars - A Novel - cover

    The Christopher Park Regulars -...

    Edward Swift

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    The misadventures of a motley group of artists making their way in New York CityA misfit collection of wannabes, has-beens, and never-weres, the Christopher Park Regulars gather frequently in the heart of New York’s Greenwich Village. Here they share their hopes, dreams, and memories (and in the case of the abnormally obsessed C.C. Wake, an irrational fear of earthquakes), as they wait to become famous.Andrew T. Andrews left a fancy home, job, and wife behind to struggle downtown as a starving writer and has now almost finished his third book on his best subject: himself. Maria la Hija de Jesús has also come a long way from where she started—when she was a he—to become a bona fide off-off Broadway star . . . when she isn’t spending time in a senior citizen home taking the residents on fantasy excursions to Europe. And then there’s the rice cereal heir, the High Fiber Man, watching helplessly in horror as his mother fritters away his inheritance.Author Edward Swift’s love of endearing eccentrics, rebels, and oddballs has been well documented in such acclaimed novels as Splendora, Principia Martindale, and A Place with Promise. Now he brings the sideshow from the dust of East Texas to the hustle and bustle of New York City, chronicling the struggles of his irrepressible Regulars in a story that is funny, sad, and totally outrageous.
    Show book
  • My Heart Is an Idiot - Essays - cover

    My Heart Is an Idiot - Essays

    Davy Rothbart

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Davy Rothbart is looking for love in all the wrong places. Constantly. He falls helplessly in love with pretty much every girl he meets—and rarely is the feeling reciprocated. Time after time, he hops in a car and tears across half of America with his heart on his sleeve. He's continually coming up with outrageous schemes, which he always manages to pull off. Well, almost always. But even when things don't work out, Rothbart finds meaning and humor in every moment. Whether it's humiliating a scammer who takes money from aspiring writers or playing harmless (but side-splitting) goofs on his deaf mother, nothing and no one is off-limits. But as much as Rothbart is a tragically lovable, irresistibly brokenhearted hero, it's his prose that's the star of the book. In the tradition of David Sedaris and Sloane Crosley but going places very much his own, his essays show how things that are seemingly so wrong can be so, so right.A Macmillan Audio production.
    Show book
  • The Gray Mills of Farley - cover

    The Gray Mills of Farley

    Sarah Orne Jewett

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    As contemporary today as it was over a century ago, this relatively unsentimental tale of labor relations still packs a punch. (Summary by BellonaTimes)
    Show book
  • Three Men in a Boat - cover

    Three Men in a Boat

    Jerome K.

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Three men and a dog in a boat on one of the prettiest waterways in the world-the Thames-in summer. Idyllic, wouldn't you say? Perhaps, if George hadn't insisted on camping, and if someone had remembered the can-opener, and if . well, maybe not idyllic, but certainly hilarious, as you'll discover when you take the trip yourself with three men and their dog.
    Show book
  • I Heart Oklahoma! - cover

    I Heart Oklahoma!

    Roy Scranton

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Roy Scranton, controversial and critically acclaimed, brings us a formally daring road trip into the heart of present-day America.
     
    Suzie's seen it all, but now she's looking for something she lost: a sense of the future. So when the chance comes to work with a maverick video artist on his road movie about Donald Trump's America, she's pretty sure it's a bad idea, but she signs up anyway, hoping for an outside shot at starting over.
     
    A provocative, genderqueer, shape-shifting musical romp through the brain-eating nightmare of contemporary America, I Heart Oklahoma! is about art, guns, cars, American landscapes, and American history. This kaleidoscopic novel moves from our bleeding-edge present to a furious Faulknerian retelling of the Charlie Starkweather killings in the 1950s, capturing in its fragmented, mesmerizing form the violence at the heart of the American dream.
    Show book
  • The Reluctant Cannibals - cover

    The Reluctant Cannibals

    Ian Flitcroft

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    ‘A truly compelling read with a shocking climax. Well written and incredibly descriptive, the author of this particular work has clearly done homework about the field of gastronomy to produce a wonderful and memorable read.’ Publishers Weekly 
    'I was going to say a brilliant debut novel, but it needs no qualification. A brilliant novel, full stop.' Paula Leyden 
     
    When a group of food-obsessed academics at Oxford University form a secret dining society, they happily devote themselves to investigating exotic and forgotten culinary treasures. Until a dish is suggested that takes them all by surprise.  
    Professor Arthur Plantagenet has been told he has a serious heart problem and decides that his death should not be in vain. He sets out his bizarre plan in a will, that on his death, tests the loyalty of his closest friends, the remaining members of this exclusive dining society. 
     A dead Japanese diplomat, police arrests and charges of grave robbing. These are just some of the challenges these culinary explorers must overcome in tackling gastronomy’s ultimate taboo: cannibalism.
    Show book