Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
No Man Dies Twice - cover

No Man Dies Twice

Michael Smith

Publisher: Diversion Books

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

In this World War II detective novel, a beleaguered German cop’s latest case leads him to foreign spies and a plot to assassinate Hitler. Insp. Peter Ritter, one of the few honest detectives left in wartime Germany, is losing his grip on reality. The word on the street in the small Bavarian city of Rosenheim is that Ritter is not long for this world. He’s made too many enemies with his rants against the regime and his obsession with solving crime, even when the villains are Nazi officials. The Gestapo is tracking his every move, and his marriage is falling apart. His only refuge is in drunken conversations with the specter of his dead father-in-law. When the killing of a Jew is followed by the bloody and brutal stabbing of the local Gestapo chief, Ritter realizes there is far more going on than just homicide. He uncovers a plot to assassinate Hitler, with British spies fighting a turf war on his patch. Ritter is left with a stark choice: call in the Gestapo or let the assassins succeed, in the hope that killing the Führer will save the Germany he loves.Perfect for fans of Tom Rob Smith and Philip Kerr Praise for No Man Dies Twice “Riveting . . . Smith takes us into an area of wartime Germany we have rarely read about before.” —Joseph Heywood, New York Times–bestselling author of Shadow of the Wolf Tree “A powerful debut full of fear, suspense, violence, and geopolitical machinations . . . Smith explores turf reminiscent of the historical fiction of Alan Furst and Joseph Kanon.” —Sebastian Rotella, author of Rip Crew “A gripping mystery.” —Publishers Weekly

Other books that might interest you

  • The Rib from Which I Remake the World - cover

    The Rib from Which I Remake the...

    Ed Kurtz

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    “A smart, deep, black magic carnie noir existential bloodbath” from the acclaimed author of Boon (Gemma Files, Shirley Jackson Award–winning author).   In the shadow of World War II, the barren, dusty streets of Litchfield, Arkansas, are even quieter than usual, leaving hotel detective George “Jojo” Walker with too much time to struggle with his own personal demons.   But everything changes when a traveling picture show comes to town. The film’s purveyors check into the hotel where Jojo works and set up a special midnight screening at the local theater. The curtain rises on a surreal carnival of dark magic and waking nightmares, starring Jojo and the residents of Litchfield, as madness, murder, and mayhem threaten to engulf them all . . .   “A stunner of a story . . . Flat-out brilliant . . . Unfolds like petals of an exotic and scandalous black flower—each one gently opening to give the reader a distressing revelation . . . Powerful ideas, wrapped in a dark mantle of horror.” —My Haunted Library “If you like pulpy noir with a dose of existentialism mixed with some utterly bizarre horror, this book is for you.” —Fangoria “Genre mash-ups like this one are difficult to execute, but Kurtz navigates it deftly, with writing so visceral and evocative it feels less like reading a book and more like watching a film in real time.” —Literary Hub “While it echoes with the shadowy threatening of Bradbury’s Something Wicked This Way Comes and the religious dread of Hjortsberg’s Falling Angel, the clearest voice here is Kurtz’s own cry into the existential abyss.” —Bracken MacLeod, author of Mountain Home  
    Show book
  • Top of the Hour - Poppy McGuire Mysteries #3 - cover

    Top of the Hour - Poppy McGuire...

    Anina Collins

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The third book in the Poppy McGuire cozy mystery series! 
    
    Controversy sells as much as sex, and nobody knows that better than the local radio morning DJ who loves to talk politics. His shows enrage people, but who hated Lee Reynolds enough to shoot him point blank and leave him for dead in the woods outside of town?
    
    Poppy and Alex have no shortage of suspects and for once aren't at odds on who they like for the crime. But all is not well between the partners. This time, murder has brought with it a new love interest for Poppy, but Alex isn't happy with this turn of events. 
    
    Will he lose Poppy, the one person he trusts in Sunset Ridge? 
    Show book
  • The Darkest Hour - Poppy McGuire Mysteries #4 - cover

    The Darkest Hour - Poppy McGuire...

    Anina Collins

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The fourth book in the Poppy McGuire cozy mystery series! 
    
    Poppy and Alex come up against their toughest case yet, and they may never be the same again.
    
    When someone close to both Poppy and Alex is found brutally murdered, all the clues point to Alex as the killer. But Poppy knows in her heart that her partner could never commit such a heinous crime. As the evidence begins to mount against him, Poppy must race against the clock to prove that the man she trusts with her very life isn’t the murderer, even as everyone around her is convinced of his guilt.
    
    But if Alex isn’t the killer, who is? As the mystery unravels, the past and present finally meet in Sunset Ridge.
    Show book
  • The Long Sonata of the Dead - cover

    The Long Sonata of the Dead

    Andrew Taylor

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    In pursuit of the find of a lifetime, an academic confronts an old rival. Once visited by the likes of Charles Dickens, William Thackeray, and George Eliot, the London Library is a maze of books—a jumble of first editions and forgotten texts. For Tony, it is a refuge from the failure his life has become—and it is about to be invaded by a destructive old friend. Adam is a world-renowned novelist who spends so much time writing articles and appearing in documentaries that it seems impossible he actually has time to write books. He visits the library to research a nearly-forgotten English poet, Francis Youlgreave, who just happens to be Tony’s obsession. Tony has staked his career on the long-dead clergyman, and will do whatever it takes to keep Adam from stealing his research. In this ghostly library, scholarly conflict is anything but academic. The Bibliomysteries are a series of short tales about deadly books, by top mystery authors. 
    Show book
  • The Scroll - cover

    The Scroll

    Anne Perry

    • 1
    • 3
    • 0
    An ancient scroll draws a bookseller into a chilling mystery. Monty Danforth finds the tin buried beneath a shipment of leather-bound classics. Inside is a millennia-old vellum manuscript written in an unfamiliar but unmistakably ancient language. Danforth tries to photocopy and photograph it, but he ends up with blank images, as though the ink were made of something impervious to modern technology. As the scroll’s mystery enchants him, this hapless bookseller falls into a cutthroat conspiracy that he may never escape. Soon a dead-eyed old man and his granddaughter come calling for the scroll. Danforth refuses to sell them the manuscript, but they will not be the last to demand it. Powerful forces crave the secrets locked within this ancient document, and Danforth will survive only if he can master its power.The Bibliomysteries are a series of short tales about deadly books, by top mystery authors.
    Show book
  • Death Leaves a Bookmark - cover

    Death Leaves a Bookmark

    William Link

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Attempting the perfect murder, a killer encounters the perfect cop in this short story by Special Edgar Award and Ellery Queen Award–winning author William Link. After years of get-rich-quick schemes, Troy Pellingham’s bank account is empty and his options are down to one: take a job in his uncle’s rare book shop, and spend his days working for an unpleasant man whose only redeeming quality is a mammoth bank account. Though well into his eighties, Uncle Rodney is the picture of good health, and the day when Troy will inherit the old man’s money seems very far away. But then Troy gets a brilliant idea—why shelve books for a living, when he can kill for a fortune? After the deed is done, a peculiarly shabby police detective comes to call. Lieutenant Columbo seems dimwitted, and Troy expects he will have no trouble putting him off the scent. But as the noose tightens around his neck, Troy realizes that no murder is too perfect for Columbo.The Bibliomysteries are a series of short tales about deadly books, by top mystery authors.
    Show book