Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
THE BLUE ROSE FAIRY BOOK - 12 magical fairy tales for children - cover

THE BLUE ROSE FAIRY BOOK - 12 magical fairy tales for children

Maurice Baring

Publisher: Abela Publishing

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

The BLUE ROSE FAIRY BOOK, part compiled and part written by Maurice Baring, contains 12 children’s fairy tales.
These are:
The Glass Mender
The Blue Rose
The Story Of Vox Angelica And Lieblich Gedacht
The Vagabond
The Minstrel
The Hunchback, The Pool, And The Magic Ring
The Silver Mountain
The Ring
The Merchant's Daughter
The Cunning Apprentice
Orestes And The Dragon, and,
The Wise Princess
The stories are further brought to life by the 12 full-page colour illustrations by an unknown artist.
But why The Blue Rose Fairy Book? In nature there is natural absence of blue roses. They have come to symbolise mystery and a longing to attain the impossible, with some cultures going so far as to say that the holder of a blue rose will have his wishes granted. And so, we have a book full of magical stories of Kings and Queens, Princes and Princesses, dragons, gypsies and much, much more.
Don’t be surprised that when you have finished reading your young ones a story from this magical book that you feel a small tug at your sleeve with a request for “nutther please…?”
==============
KEYWORDS/TAGS: Blue Rose Fairy Book, Angelica, beautiful, bedtime stories, beggar, castle, childrens books, childrens stories, Cornet, cottage, country, d'Amore, Daphne, daughter, disappeared, dragon, Elfrida, Elsa, Emerald, expectant mothers, fables, face, fairy tales, fisherman, flowers, folklore, forest, Frantz, Lieblich Gedacht, Golden, Hautboy, Heartsease, horse, hunchback, huntsmen, India, island, Ivan the King's Son, Johan, King, kingdom, legends, lovely, married, merchant, minstrel, money, mother, Mountain, mothers with children, mothers to be, myths, nobody, Orestes, palace, parents with children, parents to be, pipe, pool, Prince, Princess, Queen, quest, Quint, Rainbow, Ring, Rose, sea, Silver, Simple Simon, sang, sisters, Snowflower, Song, Spring, strange, storyteller, sun, Sweetbriar, trees, vagabonds, village, Vox, wedding, white, wicked, wise, Windflower, wizard, woods, world

Other books that might interest you

  • Simon Thorn and the Viper's Pit - cover

    Simon Thorn and the Viper's Pit

    Aimée Carter

    • 0
    • 49
    • 0
    "Simon Thorn is a hero worthy of a young Harry Potter, and readers are bound to be delighted." --Booklist on Simon Thorn and the Wolf's Den 
     
    For fans of Rick Riordan and Spirit Animals, this thrilling follow-up to Simon Thorn and the Wolf's Den continues the adventures of a boy who can shapeshift into an animal. 
     
    Simon Thorn only recently discovered that he's an Animalgam--one of a secret race who can shift into animals. Now, for the first time in his life Simon has real friends to train and study with at the secret Animalgam Academy. The only missing part is his mother, held captive by his evil grandfather, Orion, who's bent on taking over the animal world.  
     
    To rescue his mom, Simon must head cross-country with his friends, battling rogue Animalgams and their own doubts and torn loyalties along the way. But if Simon's going to succeed, he will need to keep Orion from gathering together the fragments of a terrible weapon, or the lives of everyone Simon loves will be at risk. 
     
    With plenty of action and adventure and characters full of heart, this story is perfect for fans of Rick Riordan and the Spirit Animals series. 
     
    Don't miss the other books in the Simon Thorn series: 
    Simon Thorn and the Wolf's Den 
    Simon Thorn and the Viper's Pit 
    Simon Thorn and the Shark's Cave
    Show book
  • Little Nelly's Big Book - cover

    Little Nelly's Big Book

    Pippa Goodhart

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    When Nelly reads a description of herself in a book, she is convinced that she is a mouse. After all she is grey, has big ears and a thin tail. When she meets some mice, the confusion only grows in this delightfully funny tale about mixed messages and taking everything you read in books just a little too literally. 
     
     
    Brilliantly read by Amelia Fox. Please note that audio is not supported by all devices, please consult your user manual for confirmation.
    Show book
  • The Littlest Dinosaur - cover

    The Littlest Dinosaur

    Michael Foreman

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A tiny dinosaur is born to a family of rather huge dinosaurs and everyone is mystified about why it is so different. As the littlest dinosaur grows, it feels left out and at odds with the world of its huge family, until one day its very size is the thing that rescues them all.  
     
    A charming tale featuring every toddler's favourite - dinosaurs - with a sweetly told message about being happy being yourself. 
     
    Brilliantly read by Claire Skinner. Please note that audio is not supported by all devices, please consult your user manual for confirmation.
    Show book
  • Unicorn Princesses 1: Sunbeam's Shine - cover

    Unicorn Princesses 1: Sunbeam's...

    Emily Bliss

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Welcome to an enchanted land ruled by unicorn princesses!  
    Cressida Jenkins, a unicorn-obsessed girl who is sure that unicorns are real, is invited to visit, and readers will be thrilled to journey to the Rainbow Realm along with her! In each story, Cressida is called to help a unicorn princess and her sisters in a magical adventure. 
      
    In the first story, a blundering wizard-lizard casts a spell that accidentally robs Princess Sunbeam of her magic yellow sapphire. Without it, she loses her powers--the ability to create light and heat. The only way to reverse the spell is for a human girl who believes in unicorns to find the yellow sapphire and reunite Sunbeam with her gemstone. Sunbeam ventures into the human world and enlists Cressida's help, who is thrilled to visit the Rainbow Realm. But finding Sunbeam's sapphire isn't quite as easy as she thought it would be . . . 
     
    This sweet series is full of sparkle, fun, and friendship.
    Show book
  • Fire Burn Cauldron Bubble: Magical Poems Chosen by Paul Cookson - cover

    Fire Burn Cauldron Bubble:...

    Paul Cookson

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    Can you hear the distant dragon's rumble of thunder? And smell the sweet swampy aroma of the ogre? Can you taste the tangy tarantula tarts? And see the girl who's really a wizard? From magic carpets and wands to unicorns, potions, creams and lotions, Paul Cookson's brewing a spell of fantastically magic poems. 
     
    On this tattered magic carpet 
    You can choose your destination 
    For nothing's quite as magical 
    As your imagination 
     
    Beautifully illustrated by Eilidh Muldoon, this enchanting anthology brings together work from a range of classic, established and rising poets. Whether you're in the mood for a haunting or a spell gone wrong, this collection of mesmerising poems will have you bewitched from beginning to end!  
     
    Poets include: William Shakespeare, Lewis Carroll, Benjamin Zephaniah, John Agard, Valerie Bloom, Matt Goodfellow, Joshua Seigal and A.F. Harrold. 
     
    Book Band: Dark Blue 
    Ideal for ages 9+
    Show book
  • RSPB Nature Guide: Birds - cover

    RSPB Nature Guide: Birds

    Catherine Brereton

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Do you know that cormorants are expert fishers? They swim along the water and then quickly dive to catch their prey!  Or that great crested grebes fluff up their feathers and break out into a dance to attract their mates? 
     
    From the easy-to-spot, year-round tufted duck to the summer visitor and cackling fulmar, get ready to find out about 137 different birds. There are so many feathered friends to meet in this children's spotter's field guide, published in collaboration with the RSPB, the largest wildlife conservation charity in Europe.  
     
    You will learn where to find birds, what different bird habitats look like and which birds to look out for throughout different seasons. Including our favourite birds, such as the goldfinch, robin, blue tit, blackbird and even owl, as well as some less common visitors we might not know of, each page contains information boxes about each bird. 
     
    With beautiful illustrations by Kate McLelland throughout, this is the perfect contemporary pocket guide for young birdwatchers in-the-making and adult nature enthusiasts alike.
    Show book