Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Shock Forest and other magical stories: A Bloomsbury Reader - cover

Shock Forest and other magical stories: A Bloomsbury Reader

Margaret Mahy

Publisher: Bloomsbury Education

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

A magical collection of short stories from double Carnegie Medal winner Margaret Mahy.  
 
A wizard's house with coloured windows that look into worlds of treetops and deserts, cloud-castles and diamonds. Two riddles that, once solved, will stop Shock Forest from burning. A flute-playing bear and a boy who just wants to spread his wings and fly... These fantastical short stories will take readers on a journey; sometimes haunting, sometimes surreal but always enchanting. 
 
This collection of brilliant stories from double Carnegie Medal winner Margaret Mahy has wonderful illustrations by Laura Borio and is perfect for children who are developing as readers. 
 
The Bloomsbury Readers series is packed with brilliant books to get children reading independently in Key Stage 2, with book-banded stories by award-winning authors like double Carnegie Medal winner Geraldine McCaughrean and Waterstones Prize winner Patrice Lawrence, covering a wide range of genres and topics. With charming illustrations and online guided reading notes written by the Centre for Literacy in Primary Education (CLPE), this series is ideal for reading both in the classroom and at home. For more information visit www.bloomsburyguidedreading.com. 
 
Book Band: Grey 
Ideal for ages 8+

Other books that might interest you

  • Prison Ship - Adventures of a Young Sailor - cover

    Prison Ship - Adventures of a...

    Paul Dowswell

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    In March 1801, a mere six weeks after Sam Witchall's ship wrecked off the Cornish coast, his hopes for getting home are dashed when he is framed for theft and sent to Australia for punishment. The fifteen-thousand mile, eight-month journey is a hard and horrible one, and when he and his good friend Richard finally arrive, they find themselves fighting for their lives in the Australian bush. This epic sequel to Powder Monkey is every bit as exciting and action packed as its predecessor.  
     
     "Adventure fans will not be disappointed with the daring rescues, shark attacks, espionage, and heated battles that fill the pages of this historically accurate and vastly entertaining sequel." -School Library Journal
    Show book
  • The Ghost of the Trenches and other stories - cover

    The Ghost of the Trenches and...

    Helen Watts, Taffy Thomas

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    As the Great War raged, and in its aftermath, people created hundreds of legends and stories round it, to speak of the sadness, the heroism, the deaths. Author Helen Watts and storyteller Taffy Thomas bring together this compelling, moving collection of ghost stories and mysteries from both sides of the conflict, from the haunted U-boat to the ghost of the trenches.
    Show book
  • Ten Nasty Little Toads - The Zephyr Book of Cautionary Tales - cover

    Ten Nasty Little Toads - The...

    Steve Cole

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    A full-colour gift book of ten darkly-comic and hilarious cautionary tales by Astrosaurs author Steve Cole, illustrated by Tim Archbold. 
     
    In these delightfully humorous tales of a decidedly blackish hue, ten follysome toads can never change their beastly habits despite the efforts of goodly witch Madame Rana who reminds them 'It's never too late to change.' 
     
    The Toad With Square Eyes develops mutant thumbs and fingers and finds himself on the other side of the screen; Cherry Oddfellow, the Dirty Little Toad, is part-girl, part-mudslide; and Jeremiah Bratson, the Spoiled Little Toad, finds himself face-to-face with a perfect robot replica. 
     
    Featuring toady facts, quizzes and games, this collection of tales is a warning to certain children that there must come an hour when they pay the price...
    Show book
  • Weekends with Max and His Dad - cover

    Weekends with Max and His Dad

    Linda Urban

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    “Fans of Clementine and Ramona have a reason to rejoice: there’s a new kid on the block . . . Bighearted, hilarious, and tender.” —Katherine Applegate, Newbery medalist   Max and his dad love their weekends together. Weekends mean pancakes, pizza, spy games, dog-walking, school projects, and surprising neighbors! Every weekend presents a small adventure as Max gets to know his dad’s new neighborhood—and learns some new ways of thinking about home. Acclaimed author Linda Urban deftly portrays a third-grader’s inner world during a time of transition in this sweet and funny illustrated story that bridges the early reader and middle-grade novel.   “Urban’s subtle and perceptive take on divorce will resonate with children facing similar predicaments as she blends Max’s worries and ‘someone-sitting-on-his-chest’ feelings with a vivid imagination and good intentions that take father and son on some very entertaining adventures—with future ones planned.” —Publishers Weekly (starred review)   “Urban excels at credibly presenting this situation from Max’s third-grade point of view . . . Urban’s writing is both crisply specific (a basset hound ‘sniffed as she walked through puddles, dragging her ears like flat-bottomed boats’) and simple enough to be accessible.” —The Bulletin (starred review)   “A sweet, empathetic look at a common situation.” —Kirkus Reviews   “Urban’s touch is light throughout . . . a story just right for budding chapter-book readers.” —The Horn Book   “The cast of characters grows throughout, but at the heart of the story is Max’s warm, easygoing relationship with his father.” —Booklist
    Show book
  • The Impatient Carpenter - Learning Patience with Jesus - cover

    The Impatient Carpenter -...

    Agnes De Bezenac, Salem De Bezenac

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Taking children back in time to experience life with Jesus as a boy. “The Impatient Carpenter” is a fictional story about Jesus’ friend, Nathan, who learns patience as he attempts to build himself a stool. He wants it done quickly and makes a mess of things, until Jesus helps him get it right and teaches him the benefits of patience as a result.
    Show book
  • The Werewolves Who Weren't - cover

    The Werewolves Who Weren't

    T.C. Shelley

    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
    The magical follow-up to The Monster Who Wasn't. The second book in this brilliantly rich and strange fantasy series will make us all believe in monsters – be they good, bad or somewhere in between. 
     
    Sam might be half-monster and half-fairy, but since finding a loving family with the Kavanaghs, his daily life has been all human. And now he's facing one of the greatest human challenges – starting secondary school.  
     
    But Sam barely has time to worry about the strange stuff teachers say (why do they call it the Great War when it sounds like was anything but great?) before he is thrust back into the world of monsters. Sam's school friends Amira, Hazel and Wilfred reveal that they are shifters: noble twin-souled beings who live half their lives as humans and the other half as dogs. When his new friends are kidnapped one by one, Sam is dragged into an adventure that will force him to confront both halves of his own identity, monster and fairy, if he wants a chance at saving their lives …
    Show book