Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Trap - cover

The Trap

Lorhainne Eckhart

Publisher: Lorhainne Eckhart, INC.

  • 1
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

On a cold and rainy night, Billy Jo McCabe receives a troubling phone call about a child in trouble. But when she shows up alone, things quickly go sideways, and she realizes her mistake.
 
“When Billy Jo is called in the middle of the night to assist a child, she ends up being kidnapped. But it appears she’s not the goal but rather a means to an end that involves Mark.” Yvonne, Bookbub Reviewer
 
In her role as a social worker, Billy Jo rarely expects to walk into trouble, and the last thing she ever wants to do is call for backup from arrogant redheaded detective Mark Friessen, whom she’s beginning to depend on in the kinds of ways she shouldn’t. When she gets a call late one night about a child in trouble, Billy Jo doesn’t hesitate to drive out alone. However, she arrives to find the property abandoned, and with only one bar of battery on her phone and no cell service, she realizes far too late that she’s walked into a dark situation.
 
When Billy Jo doesn’t show up for work the next day, Detective Friessen is called in to find her. As he follows her trail and retraces her steps, he soon discovers her car abandoned in a field, and he has an uneasy feeling that her disappearance isn’t an accident. The more he searches, the more he fears that this is a trap—not for her but for him.

Other books that might interest you

  • Girl in Bed Three - cover

    Girl in Bed Three

    Sarah Sheridan

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    “Wow . . . had me gripped from the first page . . . I honestly couldn't stop reading.” —Goodreads reviewer, five starsA victim of crime may actually be a criminal in this twisting tale of psychological suspense by the author of Devil’s Play. When Sophie Macreavey wakes up in the hospital, suffering from stab wounds, detectives are quick to question her—hoping to make sense of the horrific scene where she was found. Sophie’s adoptive parents and sister are dead. Her brothers are missing. Sophie can’t remember anything—but reveals the abusive nightmare she’s been through as part of the family. The social worker assigned to her case eventually brings Sophie home, but soon notices discrepancies in Sophie’s story. She claims she hadn’t been allowed to use technology, yet there’s a social media account, extensive messages between herself and a boy, and videos of Sophie online. The more that comes out, the worse it looks for Sophie. She has told some lies. But will the full truth be uncovered?
    Show book
  • Submerged - cover

    Submerged

    Thomas F. Monteleone

    • 1
    • 3
    • 0
    “An epic thriller about a secret Nazi submarine and its mission . . . a tasty combination of Ken Follett and Clive Cussler” from the award-winning author (The Novel Pursuit).   Cruising from the sub pens of Trondheim under the cover of darkness—undetected by the sonar scans of Allied enemies—Kapitaenleutnant Erich Heinz Bruckner leads the experimental submarine U-5001 in a last-ditch effort for Nazi victory. But their sinister 1945 voyage ends mysteriously: Bruckner and his crew vanish, along with their classified weapon of mass destruction.   Seventy years later, ex-Navy diver Dexter Bucklin stumbles upon an unknown vessel in the depths of the Chesapeake Bay and is consumed with the need to discover its original, terrifying mission—inadvertently alerting a worldwide cabal that knows all about the U-5001 . . . and the keys it holds to even greater secrets.   A thriller in the tradition of Ken Follett and Robert Ludlum, Submerged follows both Bruckner and Bucklin in a narrative that spans generations of adventure and horror—Lovecraftian tales at their most strange. As these men’s lives converge, a third element surfaces, influencing the Kapitaenleutnant and the ex-Navy diver to make increasingly desperate decisions, ones that will shape the future of civilization.   Thomas F. Monteleone expertly blends history, fact, and fiction with a subtle dose of the supernatural in this Lovecraftian page-turner.  Praise for Thomas F. Monteleone   “Monteleone has a dark imagination, a wicked pen, and the rare ability to convey an evil chill with words.” —Dean Koontz, New York Times–bestselling author   “Tom’s an expert storyteller.” —F. Paul Wilson, author of The Keep and Deep as the Marrow   “A vastly entertaining novel of horror and suspense [that poses] difficult questions about the nature of man, God and the devil.” —Los Angeles Daily News
    Show book
  • Broken - A Heart Stopping Psychological Thriller with a Killer Twist - cover

    Broken - A Heart Stopping...

    Betsy Reavley

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    A hauntingly horrific tale of a troubled young woman who escapes—into a nightmare . . . 
     
    Not everyone can be saved . . . 
     
    Annabel, a troubled young woman trying to put her life back together, decides to take a trip to England’s coast to clear her head and get away from her mother. But when she arrives in the little seaside town, she discovers a series of grisly murders have taken place and police are searching for a twisted killer. After a fateful meeting with a mysterious stranger, Jude, the course of her life changes, and soon she finds peace in a world away from the misery she has known. But when Jude comes under suspicion from the police, and her idyllic world is threatened, Annabel’s happy existence starts to become a nightmare. Can Annabel escape her painful past or is her fate sealed? And why is she haunted by horrific visions when she seems on the verge of finding happiness? 
     
    This astonishing novel will take you on a shattering journey through Annabel’s fight for survival and will ask if the greatest threat we pose is to ourselves. 
     
    This is a revised edition of a book previously published as Beneath The Watery Moon. 
     
    Suitable for readers over 18 only. This book contains graphic scenes and of acts of violence which some readers may find disturbing.
    Show book
  • Scars - An Unforgettable Psychological Thriller - cover

    Scars - An Unforgettable...

    Dan Scottow

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    The wounds you can’t see take the longest to heal in this modern gothic thriller from the bestselling author of Girl A and Damaged.   In an isolated cottage on the banks of a Scottish loch, a reclusive couple take on a new live-in carer.   As Lucy gets to know her employers, she realizes the house and the people in it aren’t what they seem. Is the house haunted or is something far more sinister living within the walls?   As secrets and lies begin to unravel, Lucy starts to question what is real. But one thing seems certain, if scars cannot heal, people will never forgive . . .  Praise for Girl A “A psychological thriller with a chill factor off the charts! . . . a real nail-biter.” —The Eclectic Review  “Girl A has everything I look for in a book: dark psychological thriller, great storyline, and an unpredictable plot. I’m not exaggerating when I say I couldn’t put it down. This book is so well-written, with a plot that unravels bit by bit, just at the right times.” —Joyful Antidotes   “The story flicks from present to past as it unfolds slowly and almost stalker-like . . . compelling, gritty, dark and twisted.” —Sharon Beyond the Books   “Superbly written . . . Reading Girl A was like being on a scary and unpredictable rollercoaster ride with several shocks and surprises along the way.” —gingerbookgeek   “Fantastic! . . . what brilliant writing . . . A book full of suspense, thrills and drama.” —The Comfy Chair Book Reviews
    Show book
  • The Dark Flood - cover

    The Dark Flood

    Deon Meyer

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Disappearances ensnare two South African detectives in a web of corruption in this stunning thriller by the Barry Award–winning author of The Last Hunt.   Assigned to investigate the disappearance of a young university student and brilliant computer programmer detectives Benny Griessel and Vaughn Cupido hit dead ends. But the trail—including the death of a fellow police officer—leads to a series of gun heists and the alarming absence of certain weapons from the police registry, the ramifications of which could be devastating.   As Griessel and Cupido intensify their search, real estate agent Sandra Steenberg confronts her own crisis: state corruption has caused the real estate market to crash, exacerbating the dire financial straits facing her family. She puts aside her misgivings to work for a notorious billionaire and playboy, only to have him disappear on her. Now Griessel is forced to juggle between the man’s bitter wife, protective lawyer, and Steenberg, the last person to see him alive.   With propulsive and intricate plotting, sharp prose, and an ending that takes one’s breath away just when the dust seems to have settled, The Dark Flood spotlights the state capture and corruption that has overtaken the country, lending political weight to a powerful story.  Praise for the Benny Griessel series   “[An] outstanding series.” —The Wall Street Journal   “Deon Meyer is one of the unsung masters.” —Michael Connelly, #1 New York Times–bestselling author   “The undisputed champion of South African crime. Meyer grabs you by the throat and never lets you go.” —Wilbur Smith, New York Times–bestselling author
    Show book
  • Damaged - A Heart-Stopping Psychological Thriller - cover

    Damaged - A Heart-Stopping...

    Dan Scottow

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A journalist is sent back to the English village of her youth, where an investigation dredges up a haunting past in this tense psychological thriller. 
     
    Emily Blake grew up in a charming village in Hampshire, England, where everyone knew everyone and nobody locked their doors . . . until the night Emily’s friend Alice disappeared. Soon after that tragic blow, Emily’s family moved away. But now she’s finally about to return—as a journalist investigating an eerily similar event. 
     
    Looking into the recent disappearance of Becky Clarke, Emily tries to revisit Alice’s case. But as she rekindles old acquaintances and rivalries, she discovers that not everyone welcomes her investigation. As she slowly unravels decades of lies and secrets, Emily is about to encounter a dangerous truth—one that may be much closer to home than she ever imagined.
    Show book