"There is more treasure in books than in all the pirates' loot on Treasure Island." - Walt Disney
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Crushed Flower and Other Stories - cover

The Crushed Flower and Other Stories

Leonid Andreyev

Translator Herman Bernstein

Publisher: Good Press

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

"The Crushed Flower, and Other Stories" by Leonid Andreyev (translated by Herman Bernstein). Published by Good Press. Good Press publishes a wide range of titles that encompasses every genre. From well-known classics & literary fiction and non-fiction to forgotten−or yet undiscovered gems−of world literature, we issue the books that need to be read. Each Good Press edition has been meticulously edited and formatted to boost readability for all e-readers and devices. Our goal is to produce eBooks that are user-friendly and accessible to everyone in a high-quality digital format.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Moscow Sleepers - A Liz Carlyle Thriller - cover

    The Moscow Sleepers - A Liz...

    Stella Rimington

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    For fans of Homeland and The Night Manager, the latest thriller in Stella Rimington's bestselling espionage series sees Liz Carlyle investigating a sinister Russian plot. 
     
    A Russian immigrant lies dying in a hospice in upstate Vermont. When a stranger visits, claiming to be a childhood friend, the FBI is alerted and news quickly travels to MI5 in London. 
     
    Liz Carlyle and her colleague Peggy Kinsolving are already knee-deep in conspiracies, and as they unravel the events that landed the man in the hospital, Liz learns of a network of Russians and their plot to undermine the German government. Liz and Peggy set out to locate and stop this insidious network, traveling the world from Montreal to Moscow.  
     
    The latest expertly plotted thriller in Stella Rimington's bestselling series, The Moscow Sleepers is a white-knuckle ride through the dark underbelly of international intelligence, simmering political animosities, and global espionage.
    Show book
  • The Geneva Trap - A Liz Carlyle novel - cover

    The Geneva Trap - A Liz Carlyle...

    Stella Rimington

    • 1
    • 3
    • 0
    At a tracking station in Virginia, U.S. Navy officers watch in horror as  one of their communications satellites plummets into the Indian Ocean  and panic spreads through the British and American intelligence  services. 
     
    When a Russian intelligence officer approaches MI5 with  vital information about the cyber sabotage, he refuses to talk to  anyone but Liz Carlyle. But who is he, and how is he connected to Liz? 
     
    Is  this a Russian plot to disable the West's defenses? Or is the threat  coming from elsewhere? As Liz and her team search for a mole inside the  Ministry of Defense, the trail takes them from Geneva, to Marseilles,  and to Korea in a race against time to stop the Cold War from heating  up.
    Show book
  • Smile of the Wolf - cover

    Smile of the Wolf

    Tim Leach

    • 3
    • 15
    • 0
    A SUNDAY TIMES HISTORICAL NOVEL OF THE YEAR. 
     
    Tenth-century Iceland. In the midwinter darkness, on the lifeless black soils of a newly settled land, two friends kill a man. Kjaran, an itinerant storyteller, and Gunnar, a once-feared warrior, must make a choice: conceal the deed or confess to it and pay the blood price to the dead man's brothers. 
     
    For the right reasons, they make the wrong choice. 
     
    Kjaran and Gunnar's fateful decision will leave them fighting for their lives, fighting to retain their humanity as Iceland's unyielding code of honour ignites a remorseless blood feud that will consume all it touches. 
     
    'Smile of the Wolf bares its fangs from the first page. Like a medieval tapestry, the storytelling is rich with imagery. Readers will be lured spellbound into this lyrical and evocative Icelandic saga. It deserves huge success' DAVID GILMAN.
    Show book
  • A Journey to Disgrace - cover

    A Journey to Disgrace

    Kurt Steiner

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    “I was a wealthy man with a broken marriage behind me and an intention to never place myself in such a vulnerable emotional and financial position with a woman again.”
     
    And yet, so he does. Ready to remake his life, the unsuspecting Englishman Denton Burnside, falls under the influence of the widow, Mrs. Choudhary and her adopted daughter, Padma, while on a cruise to the East. The hypnotic influence the two Indian females will employ to make of him a servant in their own land is beyond what he could ever have envisioned. Far more than a servant, he becomes their sexual toy, with his cock utterly enslaved by their cruelly vicious control. The year is 1899, with Burnside traveling aboard the SS Horatio on the English Channel. This shocking tale of Female Domination and forced male submission is told in the style of mystery writer Sir Author Conan Doyle, a style that adds to the graphic horror he faces and must endure. 
    Show book
  • Amborlaine - cover

    Amborlaine

    ID Johnson

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Amborlaine Greentinker's reality turns upside down, as the outside world forces itself into her life. She is unwittingly launched on a quest for the legendary dragon orbs. Laine must face decisions that will alter her destiny and the fate of the Realms of Xenkur.
    Show book
  • The Three Graces Collection - cover

    The Three Graces Collection

    Laura du Pre

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Travel back to the court of the French Renaissance!
     
    Mingle with the royal court of France with the Cleves sisters.  Now get the stories of each sister: Marie, Henriette, and Catherine, in a single volume.  
     
    Book One:  Almost a Queen. Who wouldn't want to be Queen?
     
    Cousins to the King of Navarre, the Cleves sisters witness the glamour and danger of the French royal court firsthand. Youngest sister, Marie is trapped in an unhappy arranged marriage with her cousin, Henri, Prince de Conde. Determined to make the best of her situation, she awaits the wedding of the King of Navarre in Paris.
     
    Paris of 1572 boils with religious war, and few will make it out of the wedding celebrations alive. Those that do survive face an impossible choice: convert or die. Will Marie and Conde make the decision to abandon their Protestant faith in order to save their lives? Will it cost them their souls?
     
    Along with the threat of death comes a chance for true love with the king's younger brother, the Duc d'Anjou. Yet Marie promised to love honor and cherish her husband till death did them part. Will death soon part them? Is it possible to find love in the midst of tragedy?
     
    Book Two: Lady of the Court.  
     
    What do you do when your world falls apart?
     
    Eldest sister, Henriette, sits at the apex of the royal court, wife to one of King Henri III's most trusted advisors
     
    In a country torn apart by religious war, things can change in an instant, and no one in France is safe. Henriette is desperate to hold on to her life, and hand it on to the next generation. To do so, she must have an heir, something that she has so far failed to do.
     
    Book Three:  Fate's Mistress.  Fate can be a cruel mistress...
     
    Middle sister, Catherine, is married to the Duc de Guise, the most rabid Catholic in France. Ambitious and well-connected, Guise is the main rival for the French throne, which is currently occupied by an unpopular Henri III.
     
    Guise managed to win concessions from Henri, but concessions come with a steep price on his head. As his Duchesse, Catherine is in a dangerous position of her own. Determined to play her part in bringing about the downfall of the Valois and the rise of the Guise, Catherine will risk her own safety.
     
    But is the risk worth the rewards? Will either of them escape with their lives? Catherine has to take a chance for herself, and the consequences will change French history.
    Show book