What's better than reading? Reading withour limits :D
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
When Light Left Us - cover

When Light Left Us

Leah Thomas

Publisher: Bloomsbury USA Childrens

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

* "A nuanced exploration of human nature." --Booklist, starred review 
 
* "For fans of Patrick Ness and Lauren Oliver, this is a must buy." --SLJ, starred review 
 
When the Vasquez siblings' father left, it seemed nothing could remedy the absence in their lives . . . until a shimmering figure named Luz appeared in the canyon behind their house. 
  
 Luz filled the void. He shot hoops with seventeen-year-old Hank's hands. He showed fourteen-year-old Ana cinematic beauty behind her eyelids. He spoke kindly to eight-year-old Milo. But then Luz left, too, and he took something from each of them. As a new school year begins, Hank, Ana, and Milo must carry on as if an alien presence never altered them. But how can they ever feel close to other people again when Luz changed everything about how they see the world and themselves?  
 
In an imaginative and heartfelt exploration of human--and non-human--nature, Leah Thomas champions the unyielding bonds between family and true friends.  
 
Because You'll Never Meet Me 
A William C. Morris YA Debut Award finalist

Other books that might interest you

  • Warriors: A Vision of Shadows #3: Shattered Sky - cover

    Warriors: A Vision of Shadows...

    Erin Hunter

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Erin Hunter’s #1 bestselling Warriors series continues in A Vision of Shadows #3: Shattered Sky. 
    ShadowClan has fallen. A group of rogues now rules the pine forest, and their cruel leader, Darktail, will not stop until he has conquered the rest of the Clans. Alderheart is more certain than ever that their only hope is to find the lost SkyClan and fulfill StarClan’s prophecy—before Darktail’s vicious reign puts an end to the warrior Clans forever. 
    Full of epic adventure and thrilling intrigue, this fifth Warriors series is the perfect introduction for readers new to the Warriors world—while for dedicated fans, it’s a long-awaited return to the era of Bramblestar’s ThunderClan, after the events of Omen of the Stars.
    Show book
  • The Battle Begins - The Story of Creation - cover

    The Battle Begins - The Story of...

    Caleb Seeling

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Even as God walked through the beauty of His new creation, and breathed life into Adam, His masterpiece ... a warrior-angel gives into his pride—and commits the ultimate betrayal. Witness Adam and Eve falling into Lucifer's trap, as the battle for eternity begins in this brilliantly presented retelling of Creation, the Fall, and God's promise of redemption.  
    Show book
  • A Court of Thorns and Roses - cover

    A Court of Thorns and Roses

    Sarah J. Maas

    • 11
    • 45
    • 0
    THE INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER 
     
    Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R.R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down! 
     
    When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin--one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.   
     
    As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she's been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow over the faerie lands is growing, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin--and his world--forever.
    Show book
  • It’s Raining Cats! It’s Raining Dogs! It’s Raining Bats! And Pollywogs! - cover

    It’s Raining Cats! It’s Raining...

    Sherry West

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Provides illustrated fictional poetry
    Created by an experienced educator for her own children as a fun, enjoyable, captivating method for acquiring English language skills
    Use of bright color palette is proven to engage and captivate young and elementary readers
    Hilarious, creative, fun illustrations capture and hold child’s interest
    Promotes parent-child interacting and bonding through highly enjoyable reading time
    Easily and effortlessly teaches children reading vocabulary and grammar acquisition through hilarious rhyming text and ridiculous animal illustrations 
    Silly animal illustrations and “musical” rhyming text engages very young pre-reading children, as well as older children
    Excellent, enjoyable teaching tool for educators and librarians to teach language acquisition to elementary-age children as well as English as a Second Language speakers
    Easy to memorize for children since they can easily figure out and learn vocabulary, spelling, grammar in text due to effortless memorization and internalization of musically rhythmic rhyming text
    Show book
  • Be the Star You Are! for Teens - Simple Gifts for Living Loving Laughing Learning and Leading - cover

    Be the Star You Are! for Teens -...

    Cynthia Brian

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    It's tough being a teen in the 21st century. With so many restrictions, requirements, and reality television obsessed with cultural messages focused on fame, fortune, beauty, and sex, it's no wonder teens feel helpless, hopeless, and stressed out. Well, you are in luck because help is here! Be the Star You Are! for TEENS is a refreshing escape from sermons and rules. Instead you'll read real life stories with real issue tools. Each easy to read short chapter is jam packed with simple strategies that you can implement immediately to survive and thrive. Written by teens, for teens, and about teens, Be the Star You Are! for TEENS encourages you to embrace your individuality, find your passion, and ignite the flame that burns brightly within.
    Show book
  • How To Draw Animals for Kids - Learn To Draw Cute Animals Step-by-Step Easy Drawing Instruction Book for kids - cover

    How To Draw Animals for Kids -...

    Amber Forrest

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    How to Draw Animals provides simple, easy-to-follow pictures that make it easy for kids to start drawing cute way. Boost confidence and inspire creativity with 26 cute animals including dog, cat, panda, raccoon, elephants, lion, monkey, bear and many more.Each illustration shows you how to draw the object step by step. Simply follow along drawing in own sketchbook. Add each detail as shown until the picture is finished.If you have never drawn before this is definitely the book for you.Start off drawing lightly and don't worry about making mistakes. You can always erase and start over.When you're finished, you can add your own details and color it!
    Show book