Today could be the day that you start a whole year of unlimited reading!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
When Light Left Us - cover

When Light Left Us

Leah Thomas

Publisher: Bloomsbury USA Childrens

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

* "A nuanced exploration of human nature." --Booklist, starred review 
 
* "For fans of Patrick Ness and Lauren Oliver, this is a must buy." --SLJ, starred review 
 
When the Vasquez siblings' father left, it seemed nothing could remedy the absence in their lives . . . until a shimmering figure named Luz appeared in the canyon behind their house. 
  
 Luz filled the void. He shot hoops with seventeen-year-old Hank's hands. He showed fourteen-year-old Ana cinematic beauty behind her eyelids. He spoke kindly to eight-year-old Milo. But then Luz left, too, and he took something from each of them. As a new school year begins, Hank, Ana, and Milo must carry on as if an alien presence never altered them. But how can they ever feel close to other people again when Luz changed everything about how they see the world and themselves?  
 
In an imaginative and heartfelt exploration of human--and non-human--nature, Leah Thomas champions the unyielding bonds between family and true friends.  
 
Because You'll Never Meet Me 
A William C. Morris YA Debut Award finalist

Other books that might interest you

  • Enchantress from the Stars - cover

    Enchantress from the Stars

    Sylvia Engdahl

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Rediscover this beloved Newbery Honor-winning classic, Featuring a brand-new cover and a foreword by Lois Lowry! 
     
    Elana, a member of an interstellar civilization on a mission to a medieval planet, becomes the key to a dangerous plan to turn back an invasion. How can she help the Andrecians, who still believe in magic and superstition, without revealing her own alien powers? At the same time, Georyn, the son of an Andrecian woodcutter, knows only that there is a dragon in the enchanted forest, and he must defeat it. He sees Elana as the Enchantress from the Stars who has come to test him, to prove he is worthy.  
     
    One of the few science fiction books to win a Newbery Honor, this novel continues to enthrall readers of all ages. 
     
     
    Critical acclaim for Enchantress from the Stars: 
    A Newbery Honor Book 
    A Junior Library Guild selection 
    An ALA Notable pick 
    Winner of the Phoenix Award 
    Finalist for the Book Sense Book of the Year Award
    Show book
  • The Untold Stories of Female Athletes - cover

    The Untold Stories of Female...

    Yvonne Bertovich

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    Watching women take home gold medals and sparkling trophies from sporting competitions was not always as commonplace as it is in today’s society. Like in many aspects of our culture, women throughout history struggled against prejudice and dealt with condescending male counterparts before reaching their place in the spotlight of athletics.
     
    Before Venus Williams volleyed her way to her fourth Grand Slam, Lucy Diggs Slowe proved African-American women could win titles alongside men. Before Danica Patrick raced past the finish line in the Indy Japan 300, Odette Siko helped to pave the racetrack for women in auto-racing. And Madge Syers was breaking rules and changing the course of figure skating history long before Michelle Kwan spiraled onto the ice.
     
    Their names may have been forgotten in history, outshined by men like Babe Ruth, Michael Jordan, and Muhammed Ali, but the legacies of women in sports live on today through their predecessors. The athletic women of history have stories filled with dramatic struggles, game-changing firsts, and historic victories. They deserve to be told.
    Show book
  • Seven Wonders Book 5: The Legend of the Rift - cover

    Seven Wonders Book 5: The Legend...

    Peter Lerangis

    • 1
    • 7
    • 0
    Percy Jackson meets Indiana Jones in the final installment of the New York Times bestselling epic adventure Seven Wonders! 
    Jack, Marco, Cass, and Aly’s quest to find the seven magic orbs buried beneath each of the Seven Wonders of the Ancient World has hit a perilous snag. King Uhla’ar has kidnapped Aly and taken her and an orb back through a rift in time. A giant, merciless behemoth guards the opening, and so Jack and his friends realize that their only hope to rescue Aly is to rush to find the rest of the lost Loculi. This mission takes them around the world—to the Temple of Artemis to fend off a mighty army and then to the Lighthouse of Alexandria, where they wind up swallowed in the belly of a beast. But before all is said and done, they must return to where it all began, to Atlantis, to save Aly, themselves…and the world. 
    Don’t miss The Legend of the Rift, the epic finale to Peter Lerangis’s earth-shattering, New York Times bestselling adventure series, Seven Wonders.
    Show book
  • The Ring of Honor - cover

    The Ring of Honor

    Sarah L. Thomson

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Middle school geniuses Sam, Martina, and Theo arrive in New York City on a mission. They're after the third key left behind by the Founding Fathers. They've escaped the forests of Glacier National Park with the second key, but at great cost--Evangeline, their chaperone and friend, was captured by the nefarious and dangerous Gideon Arnold.  
     
    Now they have to navigate New York City following clues related to Alexander Hamilton, solve (and survive) the  puzzles and traps they encounter along the way, and find the third key before Gideon  Arnold does. But the stakes have never been higher, and they might not all make it out alive . . .  
     
    Another exciting adventure filled with clues, puzzles, and action that  dives into the fascinating history behind the Founding Fathers and our  country's natural wonders.
    Show book
  • Seeker of the Crown - cover

    Seeker of the Crown

    Ruth Lauren

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The fate of the queendom rests in her hands.  
     
    One month has passed since Valor broke her twin sister Sasha out of jail. But the girl responsible for her imprisonment, Princess Anastasia, has gone missing, and Valor still longs for justice. So when the queen, desperate to find her daughter, asks Valor and Sasha to track Anastasia down, they don't hesitate to accept the perilous assignment. 
     
    But just as the girls team up with old friends to embark on the search, the queen vanishes without a trace. If Valor can't restore the rightful ruler, she risks getting sent back to prison . . . and tearing her newly reunited family apart. Relying on her own instincts-and some allies she can't quite trust-Valor must navigate twisting city streets, bustling docks, and hidden passages to foil Anastasia' nefarious plot before it's too late.  
     
    Set once again in the icy and dangerous queendom of Demidova, Ruth Lauren sweeps readers on another unforgettable adventure alongside an equally unforgettable heroine.
    Show book
  • Seven Wonders Book 4: The Curse of the King - cover

    Seven Wonders Book 4: The Curse...

    Peter Lerangis

    • 1
    • 48
    • 0
    Percy Jackson meets Indiana Jones in the New York Times bestselling epic adventure Seven Wonders! 
    The Curse of the King is the fourth book in a five-book series by master storyteller Peter Lerangis. This sequel to The Tomb of Shadows, Lost in Babylon, and The Colossus Rises chronicles the adventures of Jack McKinley and his friends as they face their greatest challenge yet—the long-lost Statue of Zeus. In their struggle to undo what's been done and unlock the secrets of this Wonder of the Ancient World, our heroes must confront gods, relive old battles, and face down their own destiny to save themselves—and the world—from destruction. 
    Rick Riordan, author of the Percy Jackson series, praised Seven Wonders Book 1: The Colossus Rises as "a high-octane mix of modern adventure and ancient secrets. Young readers will love this story. I can't wait to see what's next in the Seven Wonders series!"
    Show book