Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
The Green Mill Murder - A Phryne Fisher Mystery - cover

The Green Mill Murder - A Phryne Fisher Mystery

Kerry Greenwood

Publisher: Poisoned Pen Press

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

Phryne Fisher is doing one of her favorite things - dancing to the music of Tintagel Stone's Jazzmakers at the Green Mill, Melbourne's premier dance hall. And she's wearing a sparkling lobelia-colored georgette dress. Nothing can flap the unflappable Phryne - especially on a dance floor with so many delectable partners. Nothing but death, that is.
The dance competition is trailing into its last hours when suddenly a figure slumps to the ground. Phryne, conscious of how narrowly the weapon missed her own bare shoulder, back, and dress, investigates.
Phryne follows the deadly trail into the dark smoky jazz clubs of Fitzroy, into the arms of eloquent strangers, and finally into the sky, as she uncovers a complicated family tragedy from the Great War and the damaged men who came back from ANZAC cove.

Other books that might interest you

  • AP Giannini: The People's Banker - cover

    AP Giannini: The People's Banker

    Francesca Valente

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The story of a dreamer… 
    Envisioning a socio-economic utopia, A. P. Giannini was not a typical banking tycoon. With a socially enlightened heart, he made the American dream a reality, not just for himself, but for society as a whole. 
    In spite of devastating personal obstacles, such as the death of his father, Giannini became the world’s leading banker of the twentieth century. Raised by hardworking peasant immigrants in what was considered a backwater area of California, Giannini received his economic education in an unconventional way, paving the way for his rise to prosperity.   
    Founding the Bank of Italy for poor immigrant families, he wanted to overcome the barriers put in place by the conservative current banking elite to fulfill the dreams of “little guys.”   
    Soon, the Bank of Italy became the Bank of America and the poor Italian was now in a position to help dreamers such as Walt Disney achieve their own dreams. Giannini also shaped the San Francisco skyline by financing the bold Golden Gate Bridge. His influences and hard work can be seen all over the country, simply because he believed in “a more general distribution of wealth and happiness.” 
    Show book
  • Citizen Tom Paine - cover

    Citizen Tom Paine

    Howard Fast

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Howard Fast’s bestselling historical novel about a man who was a voice of the people and a prophet of democracyThomas Paine’s voice rang in the ears of eighteenth-century revolutionaries from America to France to England. He was friend to luminaries such as Thomas Jefferson, Ben Franklin, and William Wordsworth. His pamphlets extolling democracy sold in the millions. Yet he died a forgotten man, isolated by his rough manners, idealistic zeal, and unwillingness to compromise. Howard Fast’s brilliant portrait brings Paine to the fore as a legend of American history, and provides readers with a gripping narrative of modern democracy’s earliest days in America and Europe. This ebook features an illustrated biography of Howard Fast including rare photos from the author’s estate.
    Show book
  • The Other Side of the Sun - A Novel - cover

    The Other Side of the Sun - A Novel

    Madeleine L'Engle

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    A young British bride is caught up in her new family’s complicated history in this atmospheric novel set in the American South after the Civil War.  When nineteen-year-old Stella marries Theron Renier, she has no idea what kind of clan she’s joined. Soon after their arrival at Illyria, the Reniers’ rambling beachside home, Theron is sent on a diplomatic mission, leaving Stella alone with his family.   As she tries to settle into her new life, Stella quickly discovers that the Reniers are not what they seem. Trapped in a world unlike anything she’s ever known, vulnerable Stella attempts to uncover her new family’s dangerous secrets—and stirs up a darkness that was meant to stay buried.   From the beloved, National Book Award–winning author of A Wrinkle in Time, The Other Side of the Sun showcases Madeleine L’Engle’s talent for involving and suspenseful storytelling.  This ebook features an illustrated biography of Madeleine L’Engle including rare images from the author’s estate.  
    Show book
  • The Irish Girl - A Novel - cover

    The Irish Girl - A Novel

    Santa Montefiore

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    Ireland. The early twentieth century.  
      
    Two girls on the cusp of womanhood. A nation on the brink of war.  
      
    Read their story — and see why JOJO Moyes says that "Nobody does epic romance like Santa Montefiore."  
      
    Born on the ninth day of the ninth month in the year 1900, Kitty Deverill grows up in Castle Deverill, on the sunning green ghills of West Cork, Ireland — the same place her ancestors have always dwelled. She isn't fully Irish, as the son of the local veterinarian likes to tease her; but this doesn't stop Kitty and Jack O'Leary from falling in love...  
      
    Bridie Doyle, daughter to Castle Deverill's cook, cherishes her friendship with Kitty. Yet she can’t help dreaming of someday having wealth, having glamour, having... more. And when she discovers Kitty's darkest secret, Bridie finds herself growing to resent the girl in the castle who seems to have it all. 
      
    As Irish and British forces collide in Southern Ireland, Jack enlists to fight — and Kitty throws herself into the cause for Irish liberty, running messages and ammunition between the rebels. But , her allegiance to her family and her friends will soon be tested... and when Castle Deverill comes under attack, the only home and life she’s ever known are threatened.  
      
    A powerful story of love, loyalty, and friendship, The Girl in the Castle is an exquisitely written novel set against the magical, captivating landscape of Ireland — perfect for fans of DOWNTON ABBEY and KATE MORTON. 
    Previously published as The Girl in the Castle
    Show book
  • Mistress Nancy Molesworth: A Tale of Adventure - cover

    Mistress Nancy Molesworth: A...

    Joseph Hocking

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The only part of my history which I regard as worthy of placing on record is confined to a few months. I was thirty-two years of age at the time, and had thus entered into the very summer of my life. At that age a man's position ought to be assured; at any rate his career should be marked out with tolerable plainness. Such, however, was not my fortune. Although I bear one of the best known and most honoured names in my native country, I, Roger Trevanion, was in sore straits at the time of which I write. And this not altogether because of my own faults. I did not come into the possession of my heritage until I was thirty, my father having retained absolute control of his estate until his death.
    Show book
  • Elizabeth - A Novel of Elizabeth I - cover

    Elizabeth - A Novel of Elizabeth I

    Evelyn Anthony

    • 2
    • 3
    • 1
    A historical novel spanning the first thirty years of Elizabeth I’s reign, telling the intimate story of England’s greatest sovereign     The sickly Catholic fanatic Mary Tudor has reigned for six years when her half-sister Elizabeth ascends to the throne. After enduring years of exile following the execution of her mother, Anne Boleyn, the twenty-five-year-old Elizabeth inherits a realm divided by religious turmoil and financial collapse. She has already survived her own personal hell, nearly losing her life after her stepfather seduced her at thirteen. The ambitious Lord Admiral left her virginity intact, but took something far more valuable—her dignity and pride. Elizabeth learned a bitter lesson: There’s no place for love in a royal’s heart.   This novel journeys through the first three decades of the reign of Elizabeth I, including her volatile relationship with Lord Robert Dudley. From bedroom intrigues to affairs of state, Elizabeth brings to life the passion and the power, illuminating the woman who, in spite of herself, still yearned for human connection. She found it with Dudley’s successor, the wealthy, dazzlingly attractive Earl of Leicester. Award-winner Evelyn Anthony chronicles the monarch's long battle with her cousin Mary, Queen of Scots, for the throne, and advances a fascinating theory about who murdered Lord Robert’s first wife, Amy Dudley.
    Show book