Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Library of Alexandria - cover

The Library of Alexandria

Kelly Trumble

Publisher: Clarion Books

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

The Library of Alexandria was the largest library of its time and a major center for learning and scholarly research, particularly in the fields of astronomy, geography, mathematics, and medicine. Caesar and Cleopatra, Erastosthenes and Euclid, Archimedes and Alexander the Great are just a few of the famous people connected to its story. Today, historians still argue about how the library was destroyed, and no one knows exactly what it looked like, yet there is no question that the library continues to fascinate and intrigue us. This extensively researched look at what we do know about the Library of Alexandria features Kelly Trumble’s short, accessible chapters, and richly detailed full-color paintings by Robina MacIntyre Marshall. Together, they tell the story of one of the wonders of the ancient world, and show how its influence as continued long after its destruction. Glossary, suggested reading, selected bibliography, index.
Available since: 11/17/2003.
Print length: 80 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • School's Out! - cover

    School's Out!

    Gareth P Jones

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    "The Dragon Detective Agency. Dirk Dilly speaking."
    Holly is desperate to be sleuthing with her partner-in-solving-crime, dragon Dirk Dilly, but instead she's stuck at her exclusive boarding school for children of the rich and famous. She's determined to escape, until she meets Callum, the son of the Prime Minister, who claims he was kidnapped by dragons a year ago and hasn't been the same since. And when Dirk's own investigation into dragon activity brings him to the school, the two cases collide. What if Callum isn't as crazy as he seems?
    The second instalment in a fun and action-packed detective series for fans of TOTO THE NINJA CAT, HOW TO TRAIN YOUR DRAGON and Tom Fletcher's children's books!
    Show book
  • Spectre Collectors: A New York Nightmare! - cover

    Spectre Collectors: A New York...

    Barry Hutchison

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    The second in Barry's Hutchison's very funny series about Denzel and his unusual friend, Smithy, full of ghouls, magic and outrageous battles. Denzel and Smithy are summoned to the US by the New York branch of the Spectre Collectors, who turn out to be two kids called Weinberg and Martinez. There's been some weird spectral activity and they need help. Soon Denzel is immersed (literally) in an adventure involving a shark, a massive gorilla and lots and lots of evil ghosts. He's even hearing voices...
    For readers who like their funny stories to be just a little bit spooky too...
    Look out for other titles in the Spectre Collectors series: Spectre Collectors: Too Ghoul for School Spectre Collectors: Rise of the Ghostfather!
    Show book
  • Busy Bunny Days - In the Town On the Farm & At the Port - cover

    Busy Bunny Days - In the Town On...

    Britta Teckentrup

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Follow the Bunny family’s adventures in this seek-and-find book: “A treasure trove for kids who love a visual challenge.” —Booklist   Join the Bunny family for a busy day in their hometown, on a fun-filled farm adventure, and at the port for an exciting outing in this seek-and-find book where there is always something to discover. From the time they wake up until the time they go to sleep, there is so much to see and do. Don’t forget to keep an eye out for that pesky Benny Badger—he is always up to no good!   With a fresh and adorable illustration style, and so many details on every page, this picture book begs to be read again and again—and invites kids to create their own stories about the bunnies’ travels and the numerous places and characters.   “Reminiscent of Richard Scarry’s Busytown books, Martin Handford’s Where’s Waldo? series, and Jean Marzollo’s I Spy series, the book will captivate the same audience with its inviting, intricate illustrations.” —Booklist   “Children are going to love exploring the artwork in this wonderful picture book.” —Through the Looking Glass
    Show book
  • The Secret Sheriff of Sixth Grade - cover

    The Secret Sheriff of Sixth Grade

    Jordan Sonnenblick

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    A troubled boy discovers his inner hero in this hilarious, honest, and inspiring middle-grade novel by the author of Drums, Girls & Dangerous Pie. In sixth grade, bad things can happen to good kids. Bullies will find your weakness and jump on it. Teachers will say you did something wrong when really you didn’t mean to do anything wrong. The kids who joke the loudest can drown out the quieter, nicer kids.  Maverick wants to change all that. One of the last things his father left him was a toy sheriff's badge, back when Maverick was little. Now he likes to carry it around to remind him of his dad—and to remind him to make school a better place for everyone . . . even if that’s a hard thing to do, especially when his own home life is falling apart. The Secret Sheriff of Sixth Grade is a story about standing up for yourself—and being a hero at home and in the halls of your school. Praise for The Secret Sheriff of Sixth Grade“A rewarding novel, lit with flashes of irrepressible humor.” —Booklist, starred review“Sonnenblick creates in Maverick an endearing protagonist to root for. Despite daunting obstacles, this terrific boy retains a strong sense of self, a sense of humor, and a big heart that impels him to do what's right, as when he defends his archnemesis.” —Kirkus Reviews “[A] winning formula . . . a child in crisis, lots of humorous situations and one-liners, and moments of genuine warmth and emotion.” —Horn Book
    Show book
  • The Vanishing Trick - cover

    The Vanishing Trick

    Jenni Spangler

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    In a magical Victorian England, can an orphan and his friends defeat the scheming Madame Pinchbeck? “[A] gothic adventure full of secrets and surprises.” —Sunday Times (Book of the Week) 
     
    Madame Augustina Pinchbeck travels the country conjuring the spirits of dearly departed loved ones . . . for a price. Whilst her ability to contact ghosts is a game of smoke and mirrors, there is real magic behind her tricks too—if you know where to look . . .  
     
    Through a magical trade, she persuades children to part with precious objects, promising to use her powers to help them. But Pinchbeck is a deceiver. Instead of helping them, she turns their items into enchanted Cabinets that bind the children to her, and into which she can vanish and summon them at will. 
     
    When Pinchbeck captures orphan Leander, events are set into motion that see him and his new friends, Charlotte and Felix, in a race against time to break Pinchbeck’s spell, before one of them vanishes forever . . .  
     
    “Original, evocative and eerie . . . I adored it!” —Michelle Harrison, author of A Pinch of Magic 
     
    “A completely enthralling tale, oozing with atmosphere and originality.” —Catherine Doyle, author of The Storm Keeper’s Island 
     
    “A thrilling page-turner. Madame Pinchbeck is a gloriously Dickensian villain.” —Abi Elphinstone, author of Ember Spark and the Thunder of Dragons
    Show book
  • The Life of William McKinley - Biography of the 25th President of the United States - cover

    The Life of William McKinley -...

    Edward Stratemeyer

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Excerpt:
    "The life of William McKinley affords a shining example to all American boys of what honesty, perseverance, and a strict attention to duty can accomplish. The twenty-fifth President of our Nation was born in a humble home, of humble parentage, and had to make his own way in life at an early age. When little more than a boy he taught school for a living, and at the age of eighteen he became a private in the army. He served through the whole of the great Civil War, and so faithful was he and so heroic that he became first a commissary sergeant, next a lieutenant, then a captain, and, finally, left the army a full-fledged major, twenty-two years old."
    Show book