Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Marty McGuire Digs Worms! - cover

Marty McGuire Digs Worms!

Kate Messner, Brian Floca

Publisher: Scholastic Inc.

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

An irrepressible third grader’s school project to help the planet causes chaos instead in this funny, accessible chapter book. 
 
Marty McGuire’s third-grade class has a special assignment: Save the Earth! Even more exciting, the best project wins a special award. Marty’s pretty sure her classmates’ ideas won’t stand a chance against her plan to turn the garbage from the school cafeteria into fertilizer. All she needs is a little help from her teammate and best friend, Annie—and the worms in her grandma’s garden. But it turns out that worms are awfully SLOW eaters. And when the critters escape, the whole class starts grumbling. Can Marty save the Earth without losing her friends? 
 
Praise for Marty McGuire Digs Worms! 
 
“A quick, amusing read with an easily digestible environmental message; it is a perfect match for its young intended audience.” —Kirkus Reviews
Available since: 04/01/2012.
Print length: 176 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • Pie for Piglets - Counting by Twos - cover

    Pie for Piglets - Counting by Twos

    Michael Dahl

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Introduces counting by twos as piglets make the perfect pie. Readers are invited to find hidden numbers on an illustrated activity page.
    Show book
  • Every Cloud - cover

    Every Cloud

    Ros Roberts

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Amy feels like everything is going wrong. For a start, she's just found out she isn't going to the same high school as everyone else. Add to that her annoying younger brothers, Pops' worsening dementia and Cassie, her supposed best friend, being meaner than ever, and Amy's summer is not looking promising. Especially when Mum tells her they're moving in with Gran and Pops for the holidays … all the way on the other side of town.
    But then she discovers who lives over the road from her grandparents: Jay, the kind, quiet boy from school. Soon Amy realizes that friendship isn't always about who talks the most and the loudest, who does the most exciting things or throws the coolest parties. Sometimes a friend is just someone to talk to, someone to listen. But when outside pressures start to creep back in, can Amy hang on to her summer of silver linings?
    A humorous and heartfelt story of new friends, fresh starts and silver linings, for fans of Jacqueline Wilson, Lisa Thompson and Cath Howe.
    Praise for DIGGER AND ME:
    "A wonderful tale, told with heart, hope and a shiny wet nose." – Gill Lewis, author of SWAN SONG
    "A really special book." – Hilary McKay, author of THE SKYLARKS' WAR
    "A story full of humanity." – Cath Howe, author of ELLA ON THE OUTSIDE
    Show book
  • Talking to the Moon - cover

    Talking to the Moon

    S. E. Durrant

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Iris's grandmother, Mimi, has started to put jam on her scrambled eggs and tie blue ribbons around her fingers to remind her of stuff. Her house, always full of things, is becoming harder and harder to navigate, and when Iris goes to stay, she feels as if a whole life is becoming muddled up. As her grandmother's memory fades, a mystery is uncovered. Who is Coral, and what happened to her?
    A moving exploration of memory and stories, told through the eyes of a grandchild losing a beloved grandparent to dementia. Beautifully, engagingly told, this is an ultimately hopeful book for our time.
    Show book
  • The Little Soul and the Earth - I'm Somebody! - cover

    The Little Soul and the Earth -...

    Neale Donald Walsh

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Once upon no time there was a Little Soul . . .And this Little Soul wanted to understand forgiveness. Except the Little Soul didn't just want to understand forgiveness--the Little Soul wanted to experience forgiveness and know what it felt like to forgive another. So God helped in the best of all possible ways: by putting the Little Soul in the body of Meghan, a newborn baby just beginning to explore all the magic the world had to offer.But God never sends any Little Soul to Earth all alone. God sent along Melvin, a guardian angel, and a promise that God would always be there--even if the Little Soul forgot from time to time.Experience the world through the eyes of the Little Soul in her first few moments on Earth as Meghan meets her mommy and daddy, learns about love, and begins to figure out what it means--and how it feels--to be human.The Little Soul and the Earth is a delightful, vividly told and illustrated tale from the team that created The Little Soul and the Sun. The first of a new series of Little Soul adventures, it exemplifies the vital truth that God is with us always, no matter where our own adventures lead and no matter how many times we may forget that truth. Gently reminding us that beauty and love are all around, the world of the joyous Little Soul is a place your child will want to visit again and again.
    Show book
  • How Many Ducks? - cover

    How Many Ducks?

    Kim Mitzo Thompson, Karen Mitzo...

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Read the story. Then sing the story! It isn't a secret that using songs to teach children pre-reading skills is fun and successful.  This original song is featured as a read-along and a sing-along.  Count along as the playful little ducks swim around the pond and find their friends! How many will they find? “How many ducks are swimming in the pond? How many ducks are swimming in the pond? How many ducks are swimming in the pond? One, two, three, four, five little ducks!” Adorably-illustrated ducks are playful and sweet and the repetitive text encourages young readers to read-along and learn to count from one to five. The fun Sing A Story series includes: Five Little Monkeys Jumping On The Bed, Old MacDonald Had A Farm, Ten In The Bed, B-I-N-G-O, Down By The Bay, Humpty Dumpty & Other Nursery Rhymes, Six Little Ducks, Five Little Skunks, ABC Nursery Rhymes, The Wheels On The Bus, This Old Man, How Many Ducks?, Old MacDonald's Letter Farm, The ABCs, Singing The Consonant Sounds, The Farmer In The Dell and It's Silly Time!
    Show book
  • Zoe's Rescue Zoo: The Talkative Tiger - cover

    Zoe's Rescue Zoo: The Talkative...

    Amelia Cobb

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    At Zoe's Rescue Zoo only the cutest, cuddliest animals need apply!
    Zoe loves living at her uncle's rescue zoo because there's always something exciting going on. And Zoe also has an amazing secret... She can actually TALK to the animals!
    Zoe is thrilled to welcome a new animal to the rescue zoo - an adorable tiger cub! The talkative cub loves to make friends but his stories are keeping the other animals awake all night. Can Zoe come up with a sleepover solution that makes everyone happy?
    Another fantastic title in the perfect series for young animal lovers, beautifully illustrated throughout by Sophy Williams.
    Have you read Zoe's other adventures?
    The Lonely Lion Cub
    The Puzzled Penguin
    The Silky Seal Pup
    The Eager Elephant
    The Lucky Snow Leopard
    The Pesky Polar Bear
    The Cuddly Koala
    The Wild Wolf Pup
    The Happy Hippo
    The Sleepy Snowy Owl
    The Scruffy Sea Otter
    The Picky Puffin
    The Giggly Giraffe
    The Curious Kangaroo
    The Super Sloth
    The Little Llama
    The Messy Meerkat
    The Helpful Hedgehog
    The Rowdy Red Panda
    Show book