Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Adventures of Austin the Cornish Miner - The Morgawr and the Bad Knockers - cover

The Adventures of Austin the Cornish Miner - The Morgawr and the Bad Knockers

Karen M. Hoyle

Publisher: Clink Street Publishing

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Austin The Cornish Miner embarks on an adventure taking him underground, through dangerous tunnels and out to sea. New friends emerge in the shape of sea serpents and Austin finds himself in a race to save the lives of his magical friends underground. Enjoy the ride as the Cornish coast provides more adventure and magic that children and adults alike will enjoy and remember.
Available since: 10/12/2016.
Print length: 98 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Berenstain Bears and the Haunted Hayride - cover

    The Berenstain Bears and the...

    Jan Berenstain, Stan Berenstain

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Farmer Ben's family farm is in trouble, but luckily, he has some great friends in the Berenstain Bear cubs. Sister, Brother, and their friends decide to hold a Halloween Festival to raise money for Farmer Ben, so Farmer Ben doesn't have to sell his farm to a Theme Park developer. Unfortunately, the cubs don't plan on some unexpected visitors showing up—ghosts! Ben's spooky ancestors come back to the farm to join in on the festivities . . . but will their presence frighten the festival guests away and foil the cubs' plan.This chapter book story is the perfect next step for Berenstain Bears fans!
    Show book
  • The Nowhere Thief - cover

    The Nowhere Thief

    Alice M. Ross

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    A mind-bending multiverse adventure about theft, family, and finding your home.
    
    Twelve-year-old Elsbeth has an extraordinary power: she can travel to parallel worlds and bring objects back with her. But as freak weather events become more frequent and a strange boy, Idris, starts to turn up everywhere she travels, she has to ask herself: does her gift come with a price?
    
    Fans of Christopher Edge, Ross Welford and Jessica Townsend will love this fast-paced story and mind-blowing plot! Perfect for readers aged 9 and up.
    Show book
  • The Burying Beetle - cover

    The Burying Beetle

    Ann Kelley

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    It was after I ate King that everything started to go wrong in our entire family, as if someone had put an evil spell onto us, a hex - like a bad fairy godmother had said at my birth, when you are eleven you are going to be struck by a sorrow so big it will be like a lightning bolt. There will be grief like a sharp rock in your throat. Twelve-year-old Gussie was born with a rare, life-threatening heart disease, but it hasn't hampered her curiosity. When she reads about the Burying Beetle, which has the unusual habit of burying dead birds, mice, and other small animals by digging away the earth beneath them, it becomes her mission to find one. As she searches the Cornish coast for the elusive insect, Gussie learns to be like the Burying Beetle, to bury things past and to live. BACK COVER Meet Gussie. Twelve yhears old and settling into her new ramshackle home on a cliff top above St Ives, she has an irrepressible zest for life. She also has a life-threatening heart condition. But it's not in her nature to give up. Perhaps because she knows her time might be short, she values every passing moment, experiencing each day with humour and extraordinary courage. Spirited and imaginative, Gussie has a passionate interest in everything around her and her vivid stream of thoughts and observations will draw you into a renewed sense of wonder. Gussie's story of inspiration and hope is both heartwarming and heartrending. Once you've met her, you'll not forget her. And you'll never take life for granted again.
    Show book
  • Igraine the Brave - cover

    Igraine the Brave

    Cornelia Funke

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    The New York Times–bestselling author of Inkheart and Dragon Rider delivers an “inventive re-imagining of the knight-in-shining-armor story” (Publishers Weekly, starred review). 
     
    Igraine dreams of becoming a famous knight just like her great grandfather, but the truth is, life at the family castle is rather boring. Until the nephew of the baroness-next-door shows up. He’s got a dastardly plan to capture the castle and claim as his own the wonderful singing spell books that belong to Igraine’s magician parents. To make matters worse, at the very moment of the siege, her mom and dad botch a spell, turning themselves into pigs! Aided by a Gentle Giant and a Sorrowful Knight, it’s up to Igraine to be brave and save the day—and the books! 
     
    “Illustrated with pen-and-ink sketches of Igraine in action, plus many tiny tomes sporting stubby limbs and animated faces, this engaging read, or read-aloud, is ‘joust’ the ticket for all young fans of non-gender-specific knightly valor.” —Kirkus Reviews
    Show book
  • What Can a Citizen Do? - cover

    What Can a Citizen Do?

    Dave Eggers, Shawn Harris

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    “[This] charming book provides examples and sends the message that citizens aren’t born but are made.” —The Washington Post   This is a book about what citizenship—good citizenship—means: Across the course of several seemingly unrelated but ultimately connected actions by different children, we watch how kids turn a lonely island into a community—and watch a journey to what the world could be.   With beautiful illustrations and rhyming text, What Can a Citizen Do? is the latest collaboration from the team behind Her Right Foot: New York Times–bestselling author Dave Eggers and acclaimed artist Shawn Harris. It’s a delightfully engaging way for young readers to be inspired about the meaning of citizenship and the positive role they can play in our country and our world.   “Obligatory reading for future informed citizens.” —The New York Times   “An absolute delight.” —Maile Meloy, New York Times–bestselling author of Do Not Become Alarmed   “[A] must-have book.” —School Library Journal
    Show book
  • ABC Nursery Rhymes - cover

    ABC Nursery Rhymes

    Kim Mitzo Thompson

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Learn the Alphabet and favorite nursery rhymes with this collection of fun songs!
    Show book