Which book are you going to read today?
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Speaking of Summer - A Novel - cover

Speaking of Summer - A Novel

Kalisha Buckhanon

Publisher: Counterpoint

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

In the spirit of Maria Hummel's Still Lives and Megan Abbott's Give Me Your Hand comes a thrilling new page-turner by an award-winning writer of color
Speaking of Summer is a psychological thriller about a young woman in Harlem whose twin sister goes missing from the roof of their building. But the door to the roof was locked, and no footprints were found. She sets about searching for her, dealing with her aching loss, and thus begins the novel's examination: What does it mean to be a strong woman of color? What does it mean to be alone in a city, the world? How much does the past influence our decisions today?
After becoming the first person in her family to get a college degree, from the University of Chicago, Kalisha Buckhanon was set for grad school and law school before encountering Push by Sapphire. Kalisha reversed course and studied with Sapphire, obtaining her MFA from the New School.
With her first novel, Upstate, Essence Magazine named Kalisha as one of "Three Writers to Watch."

Praise from Booksellers:
"After her sister Summer up and disappears one winter night in New York City, Autumn Spencer is consumed by her sister’s disappearance. Autumn is no stranger to true crime, surrounding herself with information about violence against women in order to protect herself and her sister in the big city, but Summer’s vulnerability and disappearance leaves Autumn spinning and frantic for answers, her guilt compounded by the fact that she’s fallen in love with her sister’s boyfriend. In a country where the treatment of African Americans, and particularly the disappearances of African American women, are often overlooked and ignored, Autumn is determined to make waves and force the NYPD to pay attention regardless of the personal toll it takes on her. Kalisha Buckhanon perfectly intertwines the best of the literary fiction and mystery genres in order to create a compelling narrative on the intersections of crime, race, gender, and personal freedom in modern America. With each chapter, the pace quickens, and Buckhanon’s writing will have you racing to the end." —Morgan McComb, The Raven Book Store (Lawrence, KS)
"Imagine you have a twin sister (like Autumn does). Now imagine one day she walked up to the roof of your apartment building and, well . . . disappeared. Locked roof door and one set of footprints notwithstanding, there’s not much interest in finding her, at least from official ranks. So it’s up to Autumn to find Summer. This is no typical amateur sleuth. Autumn is a normal woman who would rather avoid danger, but she has no choice. I love her dedication to her sister and the mystery of her disappearance. This is a thriller written in such beautiful, compelling language that you won’t want it to stop." —Linda Bond, Auntie's Bookstore (Spokane, WA)

Other books that might interest you

  • Dare to Remember: ‘Intriguing and gripping’ a psychological thriller that will bring you to the edge of your seat… - cover

    Dare to Remember: ‘Intriguing...

    Susanna Beard

    • 0
    • 11
    • 0
    'I found myself frantically turning the pages, desperate to uncover what happened' --Tracy Buchanan 
    Reeling from a brutal attack that leaves her best friend dead and her badly injured, Lisa Fulbrook flees to the countryside to recuperate. With only vague memories of the event, she isolates herself from her friends and family, content to spend her days wandering the hills with her dog, Riley. 
    However, Lisa is soon plagued, not only by vivid flashbacks, but questions, too: how did their assailant know them? Why were they attacked? And what really happened that night? 
    As she desperately tries to piece together the memories, Lisa realises that there's another truth still hidden to her, a truth she can't escape from. A truth that may have been right in front of her all along. 
    A clever, sophisticated, psychological thriller, perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn, S.J. Watson, B A Paris and Sophie Hannah 
    What Reviewers and Readers Say: 
    'Dare to Remember is an intriguing and gripping debut novel. A perceptive exploration of the trauma of losing your best friend' --Rachel Abbott 
    'A tense journey into one woman’s struggle with the aftermath of a vicious attack that killed her best friend. I found myself frantically turning the pages, desperate to uncover what happened on the night of the attack. Susanna Beard is a thought-provoking, skilled debut writer who will no doubt win a new army of thriller fans with this clever novel.' -- Tracy Buchanan 
    'Beautifully taut and controlled writing - gripping all the way through' --Shelley Weiner 
    'Written with care and a deep level of understanding, while simultaneously building up the suspense until you are racing to find out what happened… a great read.' --Sue Fortin, bestselling author of 'The Girl Who Lied' 
    'A taut, compelling read. Full of atmosphere and humanity. Susanna brilliantly portrays through the central character the times in our lives that leave us guilty and emotionless and unable to move forward with purpose. A stunning and confident first novel.' --Sharon Bloom 
    'This is a great exploration into the psychological impact of a traumatic event. I warmed to Lisa immediately and felt every bit of her frustration as she struggled to remember the details of the night she and her best friend were attacked by someone they knew and trusted. It kept me reading into the night as I raced to find out how this twisty, shocking story would end.' --Sam Carrington 
    'A deep and dark look at how we can overcome trauma.' --Keeper of Pages 
    'The narrative is both uplifting and disquieting as Lisa pushes against her past attack, and dares not just to remember, but to hope as well. An impressive debut for Susanna Beard.' --Joy Kluver 
    'Sometimes you pick up a book and after reading only a few pages, you know that this book is going to be a worthy read. This is what happened to me when I picked up Dare to Remember.' --Day Dreamers Thoughts 
    'Susanna Beard unspools the story at just the right pace to keep interest and intrigue.' --Barbara Copperthwaite
    Show book
  • The Cotswold Mysteries Collection - A Cotswold Killing A Cotswold Ordeal Death in the Cotswolds A Cotswold Mystery - cover

    The Cotswold Mysteries...

    Rebecca Tope

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The Cotswolds are filled with idyllic and quintessentially English villages: the perfect, peaceful location for recently widowed Thea Osbourne to housesit, if perhaps a little dull. Until a body turns up. At the centre of the tragedy, Thea discovers that the cosy facades hide than their share of secrets… 
    Includes the first four instalments in the Cotswold Mysteries series: A Cotswold Killing, A Cotswold Ordeal, Death in the Cotswolds and A Cotswold Mystery.
    Show book
  • Blood of the South - A medieval mystical mystery - cover

    Blood of the South - A medieval...

    Alys Clare

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    Apprentice healer Lassair encounters a mysterious veiled noblewoman who brings unexpected peril
    
     When Lassair encounters a veiled noblewoman on the quay at Cambridge one morning, set on by an angry mob, she assumes involvement with her will be brief. She has no idea that the woman, alone but for her infant child, brings both mystery and peril. Then a devastating flood hits the fens, and among the wreckage and debris washed up at Aelf Fen is a body; Lassair, in the company of a sheriff's officer, wonders if she is dealing with murder . . .
    
    Meanwhile, in the south, Lassair’s partner Rollo is moving with relief towards the conclusion of his mission for King William in the Holy Land. But then disaster strikes, and, with the mighty forces of an emperor on his heels, abruptly he turns from hunter to hunted. In order to escape alive, he risks help from a stranger, and embarks on a voyage that turns out to be far more dangerous than he could ever have imagined.
    Show book
  • Cosmosis - cover

    Cosmosis

    Rainer Rey

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    • Author: Rey’s contacts in the advertising industry will benefit his promotion of the book; his contacts were invaluable when he self-promoted his previous novels; he arranged for his own interviews on television and radio and appeared on multiple shows. He has appeared in a movie and on television for millions of viewers and has hosted his own TV show.
    
    
    
    • Topics: The energy crisis and discovering renewable energy sources continue to be constant hot topics both domestically and worldwide. Cosmosis will stir public interest with its thorough research and imaginative themes founded on acceptable scientific and historic realities. Earth’s energy crisis may find solutions based on current environmental research of Mars.
    
    
    
    • Tie-In: Turner is rereleasing Rey’s backlist titles, Replicator Run and Day of the Dove, in January 2015 with newly designed covers. Turner is also publishing Rey’s newest release, The Find, in January 2015.
    Show book
  • Out of the Dawn Light - cover

    Out of the Dawn Light

    Alys Clare

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A brand new medieval mystery from the author of the Hawkenlye series - England, 1087. On her sister's wedding day, Lassair meets an attractive and enigmatic stranger who brings a breath of the fascinating outside world to her backwater Fenland village. When he asks Lassair to use her unique talents to help locate a mysterious treasure she accepts, despite the dangers. But this is no ordinary treasure hunt; the object of the perilous search is five hundred years old and has a terrifying power of its own . . .
    Show book
  • Fear In the Cotswolds - cover

    Fear In the Cotswolds

    Rebecca Tope

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Mystery and intrigue in the beautiful Cotswold countryside. 
    Following a string of disastrous house-sitting assignments, and with troubles in her recent personal life, Thea Osborne is understandably apprehensive about her latest commission: a wintery month in an isolated farmhouse with only an assortment of animals, including her loyal spaniel Hepzie, for company.
    
     
    With the summer lushness of the Cotswolds turned icy grey, Thea spends her first few days exploring the tiny but beautiful hamlet of Hampnett, and the nearby town of Northleach. While discovering more of the surrounding area she meets some of the mysterious local characters: the unappreciated au pair from Bulgaria and the elusive Kate from a neighbouring farm. But then the weather turns extreme, and so do events.
    
     
    When she stumbles across a man lying dead in a snow-filled field, Thea is once again at the heart of a mystery in the gorgeous Cotswold countryside…
    
     
    Exciting and thought-provoking, with a plot which will have readers’ minds working overtime, the latest in the Cotswolds series shows author and heroine on top form once again.
    Show book