Don't put off till tomorrow the book you can read today!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
May Day - cover

May Day

Jess Lourey

Publisher: Toadhouse Books

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

"A hilarious and sexy small-town mystery!! Loved it!!" ―AnniereaderThe not-so-proud owner of a dead-end job and a cheating boyfriend, cosmopolitan Mira James jumps at the chance for a fresh start in rural Battle Lake, Minnesota. She immediately regrets her move. That is, until she crosses paths with Jeff, the ultimate sexy nerd. When their romance heats up, she thinks she has it made.And she does, right up until Jeff turns up dead.Anxious to learn more about the man who briefly stole her heart, Mira delves into Battle Lake's mysteries, including an old land deed obscuring ancient Ojibwe secrets, an octogenarian crowd with freaky social lives, and a handful of thirty-something high school buddies who hold bitter, decades-old grudges.Mira soon discovers that unknown dangers are concealed under the polite exterior of this quirky town, and revenge is a tator tot hotdish best served cold.May Day is a laugh-out-loud romantic comic caper mystery, perfect for readers who enjoy the humorous mysteries of Liliana Hart, Chelsea Field, Gina LaManna, Janet Evanovich, Denise Grover Swank, Amy Vansant, and Stephanie Bond.If you love to laugh while reading a page-turning mystery, this series is for you!May Day is the first in an ongoing series featuring Mira James, an urban woman with rural Minnesota roots. The books can be read in any order; each novel stands alone. Get all the Mira James mysteries today!May DayJune BugKnee High by the Fourth of JulyAugust MoonSeptember MournOctober FestNovember HuntDecember DreadJanuary ThawFebruary FeverMarch of CrimesApril Fools
 
Or, if you love to sink into a convenient read, check out these smart-priced bundles!Mira James Mysteries Summer Bundle, Books 1-4 (May, June, July, and August)Mira James Mysteries Fall Bundle, Books 5-7 (September, October, November)Mira James Mysteries Winter Bundle, Books 8-10 (December, January, February)The Mira James Mysteries Complete Bundle, Books 1-10 (May-February)PRAISE FOR MAY DAY"A hilarious and sexy small-town mystery!! Loved it!!" ―Anniereader (Online reviewer, five stars)"Tight plot and funny." ―Betti (Online reviewer, five stars)"Read this now! I had a hard time putting this one down...Good thing there are more in the series I haven't yet read. I'm looking forward to devouring them!" ―S. Waters (Online reviewer, five stars)"This trade paperback packed a punch...I loved it from the get-go!" ―Tulsa World"What a romp this is! I found myself laughing out loud..." ―Crimespree Magazine"Mira is the strength of the book. She has a unique voice, full of irreverent humor...I couldn't help rooting for [her]." ―All about Romance"Meet this witty heroine in Lourey's engaging new series." ―Mystery Scene Magazine"May Day starts the action rolling with a clever mystery and some snappy writing . . . These pages are filled with fresh dialogue!" ―In the Library"Mira digs up a closetful of dirty secrets, including sex parties, cross-dressing and blackmail, on her way to exposing the killer. Lourey's debut has a likeable heroine and surfeit of sass." ―Kirkus Reviews

Other books that might interest you

  • The Woman in the Blue Cloak - cover

    The Woman in the Blue Cloak

    Deon Meyer

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    The Woman in the Blue Cloak is a brilliant novella which will thrill and entertain fans of Deon Meyer's much-loved detective Benny Griessel.
    
    Benny Griessel is a cop on a mission: he plans to ask Alexa Bernard to marry him. That means he needs to buy an engagement ring - and that means he needs a loan.
    
    So Benny has a lot on his mind when he is called to a top-priority murder case. A woman's body is discovered, naked and washed in bleach, draped on a wall beside a picturesque road above Cape Town. The identity of the victim is a mystery, as is the reason for her killing.
    
    Gradually, Benny and his colleague Vaughn Cupido begin to work out the roots of the story, which reach as far away as England and Holland... and as far back as the seventeenth century.
    Show book
  • Dead to Rights - cover

    Dead to Rights

    J. A. Jance

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    A woman is cruelly cut down in a remote corner of Arizona, killed on her nineteenth wedding anniversary by a drunk motorist.? A year later, the driver himself dies badly, and all suspicions point to the slain woman's still-grieving husband as his murderer. But the truth is rarely black and white in the long Southwestern shadows, and one law officer is not rushing to condemn the tragic widower so quickly: Joanna Brady, Sheriff of Cochise County. Brady's convictions, however, are leading her on a twisted trail through inhospitable country—and setting her on a path that will bring her face-to-face with cold, calculating death in the high, lonely desert.
    Show book
  • The Club - cover

    The Club

    Takis Würger

    • 1
    • 8
    • 1
    For fans of Herman Koch’s The Dinner and Leïla Slimani’s The Perfect Nanny, The Club is a smoldering story of class, privilege, and matters of the heart 
    The Club is a blistering, timely, and gripping novel set at Cambridge University, centering around an all-male dining club for the most privileged and wealthy young men at Cambridge and following an outsider who exposes the dark secrets of this group, the Pitt Club.  
     As a boy, Hans Stichler enjoys a fable-like childhood among the rolling hills and forests of North Germany, living an idyll that seems uninterruptable. A visit from Hans’s ailing English aunt Alex, who comes to stay for an entire summer, has a profound effect on the young Hans, all the more so when she invites him to come to university at Cambridge, where she teaches art history. Alex will ensure his application to St. John’s College is accepted, but in return he must help her investigate an elite university club of young aristocrats and wealthy social climbers, the Pitt Club. The club has existed at Cambridge for centuries, its long legacy of tradition and privilege largely unquestioned. As Hans makes his best efforts to prove club material and infiltrate its ranks, including testing his mettle in the boxing ring, he is drawn into a world of extravagance, debauchery, and macho solidarity. And when he falls in love with fellow student Charlotte, he sees a potential new life of upper-class sophistication opening up to him. But there are secrets in the club’s history, as well as in its present—and Hans soon finds himself in the inner sanctum of what proves to be an increasingly dangerous institution, forced to grapple with the notion that sometimes one must do wrong to do right.
    Show book
  • Sorcerer - A Manchester crime thriller featuring DSI Jeff Barton - cover

    Sorcerer - A Manchester crime...

    David Menon

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    REVIEWS
     
    'A chilling yet humane thriller'
     
    'Loved it!'
     
    'A harrowing tale skilfully told'
     
    'A compelling page turner'.
     
    'A cracking good read! Couldn't put it down'.
     
    DESCRIPTION
     
    The remains of three bodies are found in an old house close to Manchester University. The house used to be a care home for teenage boys and Detective Superintendent Jeff Barton and his team uncover a horrific period of brutality and abuse that took place there. Their investigations lead to the former manager of the care home and his wife who are traced to a villa in Spain. The secrets and lies of the family are exposed and the line of victims starts very close to home but Jeff, who is a single Dad following the death of his wife and balances a demanding job with the care of his five year-old son Toby, begins to see what nobody else can. A determined and audacious plot by a former resident of the home, a former victim of the abuse, who is now hellbent on revenge. And if he's right then Jeff and his team have to act quickly before justice is taken out of their hands.
    Show book
  • Cold Comfort - A Detective Barry Gilbert Mystery - cover

    Cold Comfort - A Detective Barry...

    Scott MacKay

    • 1
    • 4
    • 0
    “Mackay makes his cops’ first case as crisp and snappy as a Canadian winter and a lot more light-footed. A debut to cheer.”—KIRKUS
    An Arthur Ellis Award finalist. 
    In the midst of a record-cold winter, the stepdaughter of a government official is found dead on a snow-swept pier at the harbor. Overworked and underpaid Detective Barry Gilbert is called to investigate. The Metropolitan Toronto Police Force is already beset by political maneuverings that threaten their jobs, and the sensitive nature of this case may increase that risk to the point where detectives from Gilbert’s own squad are chopped.   All of this is before the victim’s autopsy reveals a seemingly unsolvable enigma: the victim froze to death first and was shot later, after she was already dead.
    So begins a treacherous trail of evidence that leads Gilbert to the coldest zones of the human heart. 
    As the investigation takes unexpected and baffling turns, he at last suspects an outside manipulator, and must use all his skill to untangle clues that at first defy explanation.  Probing deeper in the victim’s dark past, he discovers the terrible secret she's hidden all her life. He's forced to confront his own values, and learns that even the most superlative detectives can lose their judgment at the most critical moments—often with the deadliest of consequences.
    Show book
  • Driven to Murder - Who's guiltier? The killer or the victim? - cover

    Driven to Murder - Who's...

    Simon Farrant

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Who’s guiltier, the killer…or the victim?
     
    Newdon. A town with a dark history where sinners were tried, found guilty and murdered for their sins.
     
    But that was in the past. Or was it?
     
    Joel Simpson loved his job as a driving instructor. He cared about his students. A good man devoted to his wife with a burning desire to start a family. His dreams are finally coming true.
     
    Until…
     
    When the bodies of two men, guilty of domestic violence, are found murdered, the fingers of suspicion point to Joel. Did he risk it all to save two of his students, or has the dark history of the town once again reared its ugly head?
     
    Read your copy of Driven to Murder and discover who is responsible for the latest dark deeds in Newdon.
    Show book