Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Crater Lake - cover

Crater Lake

Jennifer Killick

Publisher: Firefly Press Ltd

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

It could be the mysterious bloodstained man who tries to stop their coach, or the fact no one seems to be around at the brand-new activity centre when Lance and the rest of his class arrive for the Year 6 school trip, but something is definitely not right at Crater Lake! What follows is a fight for survival that sees five pupils band together to save their classmates from an alien fate far worse than death. But whatever happens, they must never, ever fall asleep!Times Children's Book of the Week and #PrimarySchoolBookClub read.

Other books that might interest you

  • Fox + Chick: The Sleepover - and Other Stories - cover

    Fox + Chick: The Sleepover - and...

    Sergio Ruzzier

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Fox and Chick are back in this newest book in the hilarious early reader series by Geisel Honoree Sergio Ruzzier.In the tradition of Frog and Toad, this critically acclaimed early reader series features Fox and Chick – two unlikely friends who despite their differences always manage to find a way to get along. In this third book in the series, Fox and Chick have a sleepover, search for a lost hammer and throw a surprise party that unexpectedly surprises everyone. The universal characters, humor and comic-style layouts make it ideal for both the picture book audience and emerging readers.• BUDDY BOOKS ARE PERENNIAL: From Frog and Toad to Elephant & Piggie to Ivy & Bean, kids of all ages respond to books about friendship.• PERFECT FOR NEW READERS: The universal characters, humor, and comic-style layouts make it ideal for both the picture book audience and emerging readers.• AWARD-WINNING: The first book in the series won a Geisel Award Honor for "the most distinguished book for beginning readers" by the American Library Association. It was also a New York Times Notable Children's Book and appeared on many Best Book of the Year lists.• KIDS LIKE GRAPHIC NOVELS:  This series will appeal to kids who are visually oriented readers as well as new readers who are eager to tackle graphic novels.Perfect for:• Parents, caregivers, and grandparents• Teachers and librarians • Fans of Frog and Toad, Elephant & Piggie, Bink & Gollie, Charlie & Mouse, and Barkus
    Show book
  • Echoes of Newtown - A Novel - cover

    Echoes of Newtown - A Novel

    Blake Fite

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    With the Shenandoah Valley Railroad now operational and the American Civil War lingering in recent memory, narrator Billy Washita sets his heart on finding the secret to his past.  
    
    
    Along with his friend, Rascal, Billy follows where the railroad leads. Along the way, the two fatherless wanderers encounter five more orphans, each with their own stories of abandonment. Together, their uncertain hope for adoption means facing fears, suffering unrequited love, and discovering a future no one could have imagined. Will the mystery of the past bring the hope they seek?  
    
    
    Social entrepreneur specializing in global orphan ministry, Blake Fite, turns his energy to historical fiction as he teams up with burgeoning young authors in the first book of the Carriage Kids Series for a one-of-a-kind journey from bondage to freedom—fatherlessness to family. Young readers and parents alike are drawn into the action of each chapter with engaging discussion questions and gain real-life survival tips along the way!
    Show book
  • Tales of the Protectors - Almost Heaven - cover

    Tales of the Protectors - Almost...

    Lisa Pence

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Elevates children to a position of responsibility without losing their childlike wonder
    Helps children gain the ability to empathize with others 
    A battle between the forces of good and evil
    Provokes the thought in children that they have the ability to work for good each and every day
    Teaches children how to handle difficult situations through the fictional characters’ decision whether to attempt to solve the life or death situation in which they find themselves or turn it over to strangers who may or may not succeed
    Show book
  • A Court of Thorns and Roses - cover

    A Court of Thorns and Roses

    Sarah J. Maas

    • 15
    • 85
    • 1
    The sexy, action-packed first book in the #1 New York Times bestselling Court of Thorns and Roses series from Sarah J. Maas. 
     
    When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a terrifying creature arrives to demand retribution. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she knows about only from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not truly a beast, but one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled her world.  
     
    At least, he's not a beast all the time.  
     
    As she adapts to her new home, her feelings for the faerie, Tamlin, transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie she's been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But something is not right in the faerie lands. An ancient, wicked shadow is growing, and Feyre must find a way to stop it, or doom Tamlin-and his world-forever. 
     
    From bestselling author Sarah J. Maas comes a seductive, breathtaking book that blends romance, adventure, and faerie lore into an unforgettable read.
    Show book
  • Moonrise - cover

    Moonrise

    Sarah Crossan

    • 0
    • 14
    • 0
    From Carnegie Award-winning author Sarah Crossan comes a poignant and thought-provoking novel that explores life, sibling bonds, and forgiveness as a teen tries to reconnect with his brother on death row for a crime he may not have committed. 
     
    Seventeen-year-old Joe hasn't seen his brother in ten years. Ed didn't walk out on the family, not exactly. It's something more brutal. 
     
    Ed's locked up -- on death row. 
      
     Now his execution date has been set, and the clock is ticking. Joe is determined to spend those last weeks with his brother, no matter what other people think ... and no matter whether Ed committed the crime. But did he? And does it matter, in the end?   
      
     This poignant, timely, heartbreaking novel asks big questions: What value do you place on life? What can you forgive? And just how do you say goodbye? 
     
    Acclaim for Sarah Crossan 
    2016 Carnegie Award winner, One 
    Shortlisted for the 2016 FCBG Book Award, Apple and Rain 
    Shortlisted for the 2015 Carnegie Award, Apple and Rain 
    Shortlisted for the 2013 Carnegie Award, The Weight of Water
    Show book
  • A Court of Wings and Ruin - cover

    A Court of Wings and Ruin

    Sarah J. Maas

    • 10
    • 34
    • 0
    The epic third novel in the #1 New York Times bestselling Court of Thorns and Roses series by Sarah J. Maas. 
     
    Feyre has returned to the Spring Court, determined to gather information on Tamlin's actions and learn what she can about the invading king threatening to bring her land to its knees. But to do so she must play a deadly game of deceit. One slip could bring doom not only for Feyre, but for everything-and everyone-she holds dear. 
     
    As war bears down upon them all, Feyre endeavors to take her place amongst the High Fae of the land, balancing her struggle to master her powers-both magical and political-and her love for her court and family. Amidst these struggles, Feyre and Rhysand must decide whom to trust amongst the cunning and lethal High Lords, and hunt for allies in unexpected places.  
     
    In this thrilling third book in the #1 New York Times bestselling series from Sarah J. Maas, the fate of Feyre's world is at stake as armies grapple for power over the one thing that could destroy it.
    Show book