Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Listen online to the first chapters of this audiobook!
All characters reduced
Symptoms of Being Human - cover
PLAY SAMPLE

Symptoms of Being Human

Jeff Garvin

Narrator Tom Phelan

Publisher: HarperCollins

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

A sharply honest and moving debut perfect for fans of The Perks of Being a Wallflower and Ask the Passengers. 
Riley Cavanaugh is many things: Punk rock. Snarky. Rebellious. And gender fluid. Some days Riley identifies as a boy, and others as a girl. But Riley isn't exactly out yet. And between starting a new school and having a congressman father running for reelection in über-conservative Orange County, the pressure—media and otherwise—is building up in Riley's life. 
On the advice of a therapist, Riley starts an anonymous blog to vent those pent-up feelings and tell the truth of what it's really like to be a gender fluid teenager. But just as Riley's starting to settle in at school—even developing feelings for a mysterious outcast—the blog goes viral, and an unnamed commenter discovers Riley's real identity, threatening exposure. And Riley must make a choice: walk away from what the blog has created—a lifeline, new friends, a cause to believe in-or stand up, come out, and risk everything. 
From debut author Jeff Garvin comes a powerful and uplifting portrait of a modern teen struggling with high school, relationships, and what it means to be a person.A HarperAudio production.
Duration: about 8 hours (07:47:42)
Publishing date: 2016-02-02; Unabridged; Copyright Year: — Copyright Statment: —