Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
97 Orchard - An Edible History of Five Immigrant Families in One New York Tenement - cover

97 Orchard - An Edible History of Five Immigrant Families in One New York Tenement

Jane Ziegelman

Publisher: HarperCollins e-books

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

“Social history is, most elementally, food history. Jane Ziegelman had the great idea to zero in on one Lower East Side tenement building, and through it she has crafted a unique and aromatic narrative of New York’s immigrant culture: with bread in the oven, steam rising from pots, and the family gathering round.” — Russell Shorto, author of The Island at the Center of the World 97 Orchard is a richly detailed investigation of the lives and culinary habits—shopping, cooking, and eating—of five families of various ethnicities living at the turn of the twentieth century in one tenement on the Lower East Side of Manhattan. With 40 recipes included, 97 Orchard is perfect for fans of Rachel Ray’s Hometown Eats; anyone interested in the history of how immigrant food became American food; and “foodies” of every stripe.
Available since: 05/14/2010.
Print length: 276 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • I Choose to Make a Difference: A Book to Teach Children to Respect Diversity and The Power of Loving Differences - cover

    I Choose to Make a Difference: A...

    Frank Millstone

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    We are all different, we have skills, ways of expressing ourselves, and ways of looking different. Discover, together with Professor Milagros, the power of loving differences and teach your child in the funniest way with this charming story in the classroom, the correct way to build a better world in which we all know how to tolerate each other. 
    In this book, you will find Steve's story and his way of showing his skill with the ball, Lucas, who despite being in a wheelchair could do incredible juggling, or little Estrella who, despite not recognizing her talent, teacher Milagros knew to find out!
    Show book
  • Publishing Is Insanity - Understanding the Risks of Self-Publishing Audiobooks and E-Books - cover

    Publishing Is Insanity -...

    Anonymous Publisher

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Book 1: Publishing has become an opportunity for many authors, stay-at-home dads, hard workers, narrators, cover designers, writers and the like. However, evil giant companies (one in particular) are sucking the life out of customers and the creativity out of authors to feed their greed and crush competitors in unethical ways. You will read: 
    - How one of the richest companies pays less taxes than you do, even though they make billions in profit. 
    - Law transgressions and sleazy tricks the before-mentioned company has stolen money and/or market share to grow their monstrous empire. 
    - Why most positive reviews and star averages on the company's enchanting website are actually fake, which makes a lot of sense if you really take the time to think about it. 
    - Money-making loopholes in a flawed system that can help you make tens of thousands of dollars extra (not kidding), because they're too stupid or arrogant at headquarters to update their bots. 
    Book 2: Publishing is not easy. In fact, it's super stressful, heart-breaking, frustrating, and sometimes bordering insanity. The fake reviews, the high volume, the corrupted companies that own monopolic market shares... it all adds up. 
    May Azoo's sins be exposed to the infernal depths of hell. May they rot in their filth and the income they have stolen from thousands and thousands of hardworking dropshippers, publishers, and more honest competitors. May the taxes we paid and they have received by playing evasive games be the nails to their coffin. The truth has been buried long enough. 
    Written by a fulltime publisher who has achieved six figures in revenue for 4 consecutive years with online book-pumping, and in which 4 years 3 years were six figures in profit. Learn from the best. Go through hell and you will achieve the rest. Don't be shocked. Good luck.
    Show book
  • Murder & Mayhem on Chicago's West Side - cover

    Murder & Mayhem on Chicago's...

    Troy Taylor

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    The author of Haunted Illinois takes readers to the Windy City’s wild west, where criminals from Frank Capone to John Wayne Gacy left their mark.     Blazing from the West Side, the Great Chicago Fire left nothing but ashy remnants of the developing city, leveling its landscape but certainly not its spirit. While the West Side was home to the infamous O’Leary barn, it was also where news of some of the city’s most gruesome and horrific crimes reverberated throughout the state and across the country. Read about the bloody end of Roger “the Terrible” Touhy, who, although he undoubtedly lived up to his name, met an ill-deserved fate. Troy Taylor also delves into the life of John Wayne Gacy, the depraved man masked by the clown costume, and yet again proves to be a master storyteller and historian of Chicago’s criminal underworld.   Includes photos!
    Show book
  • The Golden Sayings of Epictetus - cover

    The Golden Sayings of Epictetus

    Epictetus Epictetus

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    The Golden Sayings of Epictetus is a modern selection from the writings of Epictetus, compiled and translated by Hastings Crossley. It contains more than 180 sayings of Epictetus on various topics.  
    Epictetus was a Greek Stoic philosopher. He taught that philosophy is a way of life and not just a theoretical discipline. To Epictetus, all external events are beyond our control and we should accept calmly and dispassionately whatever happens.
    Show book
  • Ozma of Oz - cover

    Ozma of Oz

    L. Frank Baum

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Ozma of Oz by L. Frank Baum
    
    libreka classics – These are classics of literary history, reissued and made available to a wide audience. 
    Immerse yourself in well-known and popular titles!
    Show book
  • The Vinland Sagas - The Norse Discovery of America - cover

    The Vinland Sagas - The Norse...

    Anonymous Anonymous

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    These two medieval Icelandic sagas tell one of the most astonishing stories in the history of exploration-the discovery of America by two Norsemen, Eirik the Red and Bjarni Herjolfsson, over 500 years before Christopher Columbus. A fascinating bit of history and a distinctive piece of world literature, The Vinland Sagas is the definitive record of Europe's first glimpse of the North American continent.
    Show book