"There is more treasure in books than in all the pirates' loot on Treasure Island." - Walt Disney
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Hush Little Baby - the electrifying new domestic crime thriller - cover

Hush Little Baby - the electrifying new domestic crime thriller

Jane Isaac

Publisher: Aria

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

'Gripping subjects, brilliantly drawn characters and a twisty turny journey from beginning to end. A tense, thrilling read and definitely 5 humongous ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ from me' Angela Marsons. 
 
Someone stole a baby... 
 
One sunny day in July, someone took three-month-old Alicia Owen from her pram outside a supermarket. Her mother, Marie, was inside. No one saw who took Alicia. And no one could find her. 
 
They silenced her cry... 
 
Fifteen years later, a teenager on a construction site sees a tiny hand in the ground. When the police investigate, they find a baby buried and preserved in concrete. Could it be Alicia? 
 
But the truth will always out. 
 
When Alicia disappeared, the papers accused Marie of detachment and neglect. The Owens never got over the grief of their child's disappearance and divorced not long after. By reopening the case, DC Beth Chamberlain must reopen old wounds. But the killer may be closer than anyone ever suspected... 
 
The latest crime thriller featuring Family Liaison Officer DC Beth Chamberlain, Hush Little Baby is tightly plotted, fraught with tension and impossible to put down. Perfect for fans of Cara Hunter and K.L. Slater. 
 
Praise for Jane Isaac: 
 
'Jane Isaac knows how to tell a good yarn. Expertly plotted and true to life' Mel Sherratt on For Better, For Worse. 
 
'Isaac does a superb job of escalating the tension and dread' Publishers Weekly. 
 
'Move over La Plante...' Susan May, Suspense Magazine. 
 
'Tense, dark and gritty: perfect combination' Ian Patrick, author of Rubicon. 
 
'Crime writing at its best' David Evans, CWA Debut Dagger-shortlisted author of Torment. 
 
'Jane Isaac just gets better with every book. Deeply unsettling and unputdownable' Rebecca Bradley, bestselling author of the DI Hannah Robbins series. 
 
'Jane Isaac writes unmissable quality crime fiction' Michael Wood, author of For Reasons Unknown. 
 
'Gripped from the very first page ... and just when you think it's over, it's really only the beginning' June Taylor, author of Losing Juliet. 
 
'Brilliantly and intricately plotted, Jane Isaac has produced a terrific page-turner' Lizzie Sirett, Mystery People.

Other books that might interest you

  • Face of Evil - cover

    Face of Evil

    George Morris De'Ath

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    If you play games with a killer... you can't afford to lose. 
     
    Looking for a subject for her book about evil, Lydia Tune travels to the infamous Mortem Asylum in seedy Decanten City. Her target is Jason Devere, a death row serial killer notorious for his precise and grotesque murders.
     
    Lydia is beautiful, ruthless and manipulative – she always gets what she wants. She knows the only way to get Jason to speak is to engage him in a dangerous battle of wits. Local detective and old friend Alex Gilbey warns her off the case, but he has no idea just how far Lydia will go to court darkness.
     
    The more Lydia digs into Jason's story, the clearer it becomes that there is a bigger story to uncover. But the problem with playing with killers is that they never play nice...
     
    A glittering and suspenseful debut psychological thriller, Face of Evil is impossible to put down. 
     
    What readers are saying about Face of Evil:
     
    'Dark and mysterious ... The stuff nightmares are made of. The atmosphere of the book set me on edge before the story actually began ... This is a spine-tingling and pacey read with twists and turns I didn't see coming. The ending is excellent and a rollercoaster ride of revelations. Very enjoyable' 4* reader review
     
    'There were creepy, tense, and twisty moments that I really enjoyed. If you like thrillers that involve asylums, serial killers and stories that grab you right away, you need to read this book' 3* reader review
     
    'I really enjoyed this thriller ... I could not put it down' 4* reader review
     
    'Fantastic read. I have been completely unable to put this one down. I cannot wait to read more by this author' 5* reader review
     
    'The author outdid himself on this one. The gore. The way it's written. It's just great! One of my favourites' 4* reader review
     
    'Not suitable for the faint of heart. Face of Evil is one of the most intense books I have read in a long time – but I love a book that can consume me so completely ... I loved every wakeful moment I spent with this book. This book is gory and intense and perfect for anyone who enjoys a bone-chilling horror mystery. Do I recommend this book – only if you are open to a brilliantly evil tale with a twist that will leave you unable to sleep for days on end' 4* reader review
    Show book
  • A Rush to Judgment - The Unfair Trial of Louis Riel - cover

    A Rush to Judgment - The Unfair...

    Roger E. Salhany

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Initially dismissed as a traitor by Canadian historians, Métis leader Louis Riel is now seen by many as a hero
    Riel was executed for high treason in 1885 for his role in the Red River and North-West resistances
    Argues that Riel did not receive a fair trial and the judge was biased against Riel, for example, prompting witnesses to change their testimony
    Author is a retired justice of the Superior Court of Ontario and has written eight books on criminal procedure
    Show book
  • The Hellion - cover

    The Hellion

    Harriet Young

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Whalley, 1537: On a day like any other, a devastating fire changes the lives of two young girls.  
    What happens next triggers a series of events leading inexplicably to the cells of Lancaster Gaol. 
    Lancashire, 1612: The most notorious witchcraft trials in England are taking place.  
    Among the accused, three generations of the same family. A family rooted in Pendle, tied to the infamous Malkin Towers and always followed by a whisper of evil. A family destroyed by the evidence given by a nine year old girl…
    Show book
  • The Book of Beautiful Questions - The Powerful Questions That Will Help You Decide Create Connect and Lead - cover

    The Book of Beautiful Questions...

    Warren Berger

    • 7
    • 25
    • 0
    From the bestselling author of A More Beautiful Question, hundreds of big and small questions that harness the magic of inquiry to tackle challenges we all face--at work, in our relationships, and beyond. 
      
    When confronted with almost any demanding situation, the act of questioning can help guide us to smart decisions. By asking questions, we can analyze, learn, and move forward in the face of uncertainty. But "questionologist" Warren Berger says that the questions must be the right ones; the ones that cut to the heart of complexity or enable us to see an old problem in a fresh way. 
      
    In The Book of Beautiful Questions, Berger shares illuminating stories and compelling research on the power of inquiry. Drawn from the insights and expertise of psychologists, innovators, effective leaders, and some of the world's foremost creative thinkers, he presents the essential questions readers need to make the best choices when it truly counts, with a particular focus in four key areas: decision-making, creativity, leadership, and relationships. 
      
    The powerful questions in this book can help you: 
    -        Identify opportunities in your career or industry 
    -        Generate fresh ideas in business or in your own creative pursuits 
    -        Check your biases so you can make better judgments and decisions 
    -        Do a better job of communicating and connecting with the people around you 
      
    Thoughtful, provocative, and actionable, these beautiful questions can be applied immediately to bring about change in your work or your everyday life.
    Show book
  • Ornaments and Other Ambiguous Artifacts from Franchthi - Volume 1 The Palaeolithic and the Mesolithic - cover

    Ornaments and Other Ambiguous...

    Catherine Perlès

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The famous Franchthi Cave excavations in Greece brought to light an exceptionally long sequence of ornaments, spanning from the earliest Upper Palaeolithic to the end of the Neolithic. This volume focuses on the Palaeolithic and Mesolithic ornaments and ornamental species, which constitute one of the largest collections in Europe for these periods combined. Franchthi is one of the few identified production centers for ornaments, which are overwhelmingly dominated by marine molluscs. The detailed publication of these collections (Cyclope neritea, Antalis sp. and Columbella rustica) will be useful to all malacologists and specialists in ornaments working around the Mediterranean. These reference collections, coupled with the examination of manufacturing and wear traces on the archaeological specimens, allow a detailed reconstruction of the whole production cycle from procurement to discard. The systematic association of unworked, freshly worked and very worn shells suggests that the ornaments mostly served for the production or rejuvenation of embroidered garments. Despite the richness of the assemblages and varied local resources, the range of ornament types is surprisingly narrow and fundamentally stable through time. The ornaments from Franchthi Cave therefore paint a different portrait of the European Upper Palaeolithic and Mesolithic, one based on regional cultural continuity.
    Show book
  • The Long Dark Road - an addictive and page-turning thriller - cover

    The Long Dark Road - an...

    P.R. Black

    • 2
    • 31
    • 0
    If you go, there's no coming back. 
     
    Dr Georgia Healey can't grieve. Her nineteen-year-old daughter went for a walk two years ago and vanished. The police never found Stephanie's body. The case has gone stale, but Georgia can't let it go. She knows Stephanie's out there, somewhere.
     
    On the anniversary of Stephanie's disappearance, Georgia's ready to re-interrogate university students, lecturers, Steph's past boyfriends, everyone. She treads the exact path where Stephanie vanished. Yet the shocking truth is even more than she can handle.
     
    When you seek the lost, be prepared for what you find . . . 
     
    Praise for P.R. Black: 
     
    'It's edge-of-the-seat stuff. The plot is good. I really couldn't see how it was going to work out ... It's a cracker' BOOKBAG
     
    'I absolutely loved this heart-stopping, spine-tingling novel that had me completely and utterly gripped throughout' Amazon Reviewer
     
    'Cleverly written with some great shockers and I had no idea how it would end – I wasn't disappointed' Amazon Reviewer
     
    'This was a fast-paced murder thriller that kept me turning the pages late into the night. It was intelligent and slick' Amazon Reviewer
     
    'It's always something of a risk trying a new author, but I was really glad I did ... I did not see the plot twist coming, and it was very surprising' Amazon Reviewer
    Show book