Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Cold Blood - A Gripping Crime Mystery Thriller Full of Twists - cover

Cold Blood - A Gripping Crime Mystery Thriller Full of Twists

Jane Heafield

Publisher: Bloodhound Books

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

A police inspector is drawn outside of his jurisdiction into the puzzling cold case of a missing girl, in this crime thriller by the author of Dead Cold. 
 
When DCI Liam Bennet receives an unexpected message from Lorraine, his ex-partner, he hopes that she wants to reconnect with Joe, their ten-year-old son. But all she wants is his help. She’s part of a small film crew investigating a cold case in her home village of Lampton and she wants Bennet to access police files. He wants no part of it. But when Joe learns his mother has been back in touch, he orders his father to find her. 
 
Bennet takes time off work for what he thinks will be a quick trip to a tiny Peak District village. He’s got no idea that he’s about to be drawn into an obsessive hunt. In Lampton, the locals think he’s investigating the missing girl cold case and want him gone. It looks like the film crew also hit the same wall of silence. But why is there no evidence they ever left the village? Did something happen to the film crew? Is it connected to a missing young girl? And just how many of the locals know more than they’re saying? When a grim discovery is made in a local lake, Bennet finds himself in a race against time. It’s not his case, not his jurisdiction, but he’s determined to uncover the truth . . .  
 
Cold Blood is the perfect read for fans of authors like K.L. Slater, Robert Bryndza and Angela Marsons.
Available since: 05/26/2021.
Print length: 294 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • Devil's Play - cover

    Devil's Play

    Sarah Sheridan

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A secret society’s dark truths come to light when murder disrupts their circle in this riveting psychological mystery by the author of The Convent. 
     
    Four troubled students have come together as an unlikely group of friends after joining an underground society at university—based around the celebration and practices of New Satanism. It is run by a charismatic and beautiful sociopath named Dillon, who exerts a strange power over Eleanor, Hunter, Natalie, and Seth. 
     
    Now their unhealthy bond has set in motion a chain of events that no one could have seen coming. When one of the friends dies unexpectedly, the police initially believe it’s accidental. But the victim’s father is convinced otherwise, and a spotlight is turned on the secret society and its members. The question is not only who is responsible for the murder, but exactly what sort of darkness lies behind it . . .
    Show book
  • The Connection Trilogy - Blood Red Code Blue Mortal Green - cover

    The Connection Trilogy - Blood...

    Anita Waller

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Three novels starring the dedicated investigators at the Connection Investigation Agency: “I always anticipate getting my hands on the latest Anita Waller thriller.” —Avonna Loves Genres The Connection Investigation Agency team takes on crimes old and new in this collection of thrillers by the bestselling author, including:Blood Red The Connection Investigation Agency has seen big changes, and new partners Tessa, Luke, and Beth have taken over. Just as the agency reopens, a body is discovered in the office outhouse, and their first case begins with bones that have lain undiscovered for twenty-five years. Luke takes on the challenge of solving his first solo case, while former DI Tessa digs into the murders of two women who received threatening notes. But as the agency digs deeper into the past and a link between the two cases is revealed, will it help or hinder?Code Blue Five years ago, John and Caroline Coates were happily expecting the birth of twin girls—until an intruder ended their dreams. Now, John has come to the agency for help tracking down the man who caused them such grief. Back then, Tessa’s involvement was cut short when the cold case department quickly took over. This is a chance for her and Luke to follow the facts and finally lay this case to rest—but will the truth they reveal bring the Coateses the peace they crave or take them to further depths of despair?Mortal Green An author has moved into Leaf Cottage for a month-long research break in Eyam. When she disappears during a long walk around the village, no one misses her, presuming she’s working in solitude on her novel. Then her husband contacts the agency, and when they find the cottage empty, it’s only the beginning of a twisting trail of danger . . .
    Show book
  • Damaged - A Heart-Stopping Psychological Thriller - cover

    Damaged - A Heart-Stopping...

    Dan Scottow

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A journalist is sent back to the English village of her youth, where an investigation dredges up a haunting past in this tense psychological thriller. 
     
    Emily Blake grew up in a charming village in Hampshire, England, where everyone knew everyone and nobody locked their doors . . . until the night Emily’s friend Alice disappeared. Soon after that tragic blow, Emily’s family moved away. But now she’s finally about to return—as a journalist investigating an eerily similar event. 
     
    Looking into the recent disappearance of Becky Clarke, Emily tries to revisit Alice’s case. But as she rekindles old acquaintances and rivalries, she discovers that not everyone welcomes her investigation. As she slowly unravels decades of lies and secrets, Emily is about to encounter a dangerous truth—one that may be much closer to home than she ever imagined.
    Show book
  • Shooting Pains - cover

    Shooting Pains

    Mairi Chong

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A British doctor is caught up in suspicions of spousal abuse and murder in a riveting mystery by the author of Death by Appointment.   When a patient visits Dr. Cathy Moreland with a disturbing story of marital tension and a bruise on her upper arm, Cathy is understandably concerned. But the young woman, Fiona, refuses further help despite confiding that she’s afraid of her husband.   Cathy is more worried still when, just days later, Fiona’s husband urges her to sign his gun licence form. With no reason not to, Cathy reluctantly complies. Soon after, Cathy is horrified to hear of a death during a shooting party on a local estate. But Fiona is not the victim. Nor is Fiona’s husband the one who pulled the trigger—but it was his gun that took the victim down. Now Cathy is left questioning whether what looks like an accident is really a coincidence, and what’s been going on behind closed doors . . .
    Show book
  • A Slice of Murder - cover

    A Slice of Murder

    Marissa De Luna

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    A groom-to-be is cut down at his engagement party, and solving the case won’t be a piece of cake . . . Shilpa Silanki’s talent is making sure that special occasions are accompanied by special cakes, and her first booking after her move to Devon, England—where she’s inherited a house in Otter’s Reach—is a posh engagement party for Mason Connolly and Harriet Drew. Unfortunately, a knife has been used for something other than cutting the cake. Now Shilpa is working to uncover layers of secrets and scandals in hopes of identifying the killer who permanently parted Mason and Harriet—and before she’s done, someone else might get iced . . .
    Show book
  • The Dark Flood - cover

    The Dark Flood

    Deon Meyer

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Disappearances ensnare two South African detectives in a web of corruption in this stunning thriller by the Barry Award–winning author of The Last Hunt.   Assigned to investigate the disappearance of a young university student and brilliant computer programmer detectives Benny Griessel and Vaughn Cupido hit dead ends. But the trail—including the death of a fellow police officer—leads to a series of gun heists and the alarming absence of certain weapons from the police registry, the ramifications of which could be devastating.   As Griessel and Cupido intensify their search, real estate agent Sandra Steenberg confronts her own crisis: state corruption has caused the real estate market to crash, exacerbating the dire financial straits facing her family. She puts aside her misgivings to work for a notorious billionaire and playboy, only to have him disappear on her. Now Griessel is forced to juggle between the man’s bitter wife, protective lawyer, and Steenberg, the last person to see him alive.   With propulsive and intricate plotting, sharp prose, and an ending that takes one’s breath away just when the dust seems to have settled, The Dark Flood spotlights the state capture and corruption that has overtaken the country, lending political weight to a powerful story.  Praise for the Benny Griessel series   “[An] outstanding series.” —The Wall Street Journal   “Deon Meyer is one of the unsung masters.” —Michael Connelly, #1 New York Times–bestselling author   “The undisputed champion of South African crime. Meyer grabs you by the throat and never lets you go.” —Wilbur Smith, New York Times–bestselling author
    Show book