Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
Northanger Abbey - cover

Northanger Abbey

Jane Austen

Publisher: Project Gutenberg

  • 12
  • 46
  • 0

Summary

Northanger Abbey follows seventeen-year-old Gothic novel aficionado Catherine Morland and family friends Mr. and Mrs. Allen as they visit Bath, England. Catherine is in Bath for the first time. There she meets her friends such as Isabella Thorpe, and goes to balls. Catherine finds herself pursued by Isabella's brother, the rather rough-mannered, slovenly John Thorpe, and by her real love interest, Henry Tilney. She also becomes friends with Eleanor Tilney, Henry's younger sister. Henry captivates her with his view on novels and his knowledge of history and the world. General Tilney (Henry and Eleanor's father) invites Catherine to visit their estate, Northanger Abbey, which, from her reading of Ann Radcliffe's gothic novel The Mysteries of Udolpho, she expects to be dark, ancient and full of Gothic horrors and fantastical mystery.

Who read this book also read:

  • Montana Hearts: Her Weekend Wrangler - cover

    Montana Hearts: Her Weekend...

    Darlene Panzera

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Darlene Panzera returns with a sweet new Western series perfect for fans of Debbie Macomber's heartwarming romances 
    Bree Collins has finally come home to Fox Creek, Montana, to manage her family's guest ranch. She knows she can handle any challenges that come her way, but when the infuriating Ryan Tanner reappears in her life, Bree suddenly has doubts about her ability to stay professional—and away from the handsome cowboy. 
    Ryan Tanner is in a bind. He needs to train a young foal for the upcoming show but its mother would rather bite his hand off. Just his luck the cute cowgirl from his past arrives back in town. Bree just so happens to have a reputation for taming animals of this nature. Ryan is willing to make a deal with her, but he has no intention of being swayed by her sweet smile or the tenderness she shows his young son. 
    Yet when fate brings them together, falling for one another becomes the easiest thing in the world. Ryan might just want to wrangle this cowgirl's heart…but will Bree give him the chance?
    Show book
  • Ink Exposed - Montgomery Ink #6 - cover

    Ink Exposed - Montgomery Ink #6

    Carrie Ann Ryan

    • 0
    • 11
    • 0
    The Montgomery Ink series continues with the brother that deserves a second chance, and the woman who has always loved him. 
    Alex Montgomery lost his first love and then proceeded to leave himself in the bottle. Only he and his ex-wife truly know why he fell so hard and so fast down a path he never thought he’d take. Now he’s clean, out of rehab, and learning how to be a Montgomery once again—a task that isn’t quite as easy as some of his family assumes. 
    Tabby Collins is an honorary Montgomery and the organizational mastermind behind Montgomery Inc., the family’s construction company. She loves her planners, friends, and a certain dark-haired man who’s never given her a second glance. 
    Alex is slowly re-immersing himself back into the world, but the demons he faced before aren’t out of the picture, and he’ll have to learn to rely on others to make it out whole. When Alex discovers that Tabby’s life is in danger, he not only finds a way to help her but also learns the true woman behind the soft smiles he’s always seen. Their romance won’t be an easy one, but nothing this passionate and heart-pounding ever is. 
    Montgomery Ink Reading Order 
    Book 0.5: Ink Inspired 
    Book 0.6: Ink Reunited  
    Book 1: Delicate Ink  
    Book 1.5: Forever Ink 
    Book 2: Tempting Boundaries  
    Book 3: Harder than Words  
    Book 4: Written in Ink  
    Book 5: Ink Enduring 
    Book 6: Ink Exposed  (Coming Nov 29th, 2016)  
    Book 7: Inked Expressions (Coming June 6th, 2017)
    Show book
  • Accidentally Married to the Billionaire Box Set - cover

    Accidentally Married to the...

    Sierra Rose

    • 2
    • 15
    • 0
    This is the complete series.  
     Accidentally Married to the Billionaire - Part 1 
    Accidentally Married to the Billionaire - Part 2 
    Accidentally Married to the Billionaire - Part 3 
    Description:  
    Billionaire, Brandon Cates is days away from losing everything, from his Fortune 500 company to his huge estate.  
    His only hope is Marjorie Reynolds.  
    The COO had decamped for greener pastures just ahead of a so-called merger. What it was, was an acquisition by a sweeter name. The company would get to keep its moniker and brand under the umbrella of Power Regions Ltd. Presumably, it would be helmed by a new executive. But Brandon Cates expiration date was coming and the game was about to change. He failed to meet the terms of the will, so his wicked stepmother will take all. Lena Cates has a team of lawyers circling him like vultures as the termination date approaches. To maintain control of the company, Brandon has to be married by his thirtieth birthday.  
    When intoxicated Marjorie Reynolds hears his story at a dance club in Vegas, they scheme and hatch an idea that just might work. Marj cannot believe she has just accepted such an outrageous proposal. But she knows it’ll give Brandon the keys back to his billion dollar kingdom. Marj is all about fighting oppression and injustice. She refuses to let Brandon’s evil stepmother win, even nicknaming her the Wicked Queen. Because if this wicked queen does win, Marj will be out of a job, too. And she's already sinking in debt. Brandon is confident he has this one in the bag.  
    Or so he thinks…  
    Can Brandon convince his new ‘accidental’ bride to play along with the charade?  
    Some readers might know Marjorie Reynolds from the book, The Boss's Son. She is Britt's best friend at the office. Marj now gets her own three book series. 18+ due sexual situations.
    Show book
  • Trust in Me - A Novel - cover

    Trust in Me - A Novel

    J. Lynn

    • 0
    • 5
    • 0
    It's Wait for You as you've never seen it. Trust in Me lets you in on Cam's side of the #1 New York Times bestselling story.  
    Cameron Hamilton is used to getting what he wants, especially when it comes to women. But when Avery Morgansten comes crashing into his life—literally—he finally meets the one person who can resist his soulful baby blues. But Cam's not ready to give up. He can't get the feisty and intriguing girl out of his head.   
    Avery has secrets, secrets that keep her from admitting the feelings Cam knows she has for him. Will persistence (and some delicious homemade cookies) help him break down her barriers and gain her trust? Or will he be shut out of Avery's life, losing his first real shot at the kind of love that lasts forever?
    Show book
  • Covering Kendall - A Love and Football Novel - cover

    Covering Kendall - A Love and...

    Julie Brannagh

    • 0
    • 6
    • 1
    The Love and Football series continues …  
    Kendall Tracy, General Manager of the San Francisco Miners, is not one for rash decisions or one-night stands. But when she finds herself alone in a hotel room with a heart-stoppingly gorgeous man—who looks oddly familiar—Kendall throws her own rules out the window … and they blow right back into her face. 
    Drew McCoy should look familiar; he's a star player for her team's archrival, the Seattle Sharks. Which would basically make Drew and Kendall the Romeo and Juliet of professional football … well, without all the dying. 
    Not that it's an issue. They agree to pretend their encounter never happened. Nothing good can come of it anyway, right? 
    Drew's not so sure. Kendall may be all wrong for him, but he can't stop thinking about her, and he finds that some risks are worth taking. Because the stakes are always highest when you're playing for keeps.
    Show book
  • Royal Tea - The Chronicles of Kerrigan #4 - cover

    Royal Tea - The Chronicles of...

    W.J. May

    • 0
    • 40
    • 0
    Royal Tea is the fourth book in the bestselling series, Chronicles of Kerrigan series.  
    The Queen of England has requested the help of the Privy Council. Someone is trying to kill her son's fiance. The HRH Prince plans to marry a commoner, and his bride has a secret no one knows but the Privy Council. She has a tatu. 
    When the Privy Council turn to Rae for help, she can't possibly say no; not even when they make Devon her partner for this assignment. They are to pose as a couple and work undercover, as bodyguards, to protect the soon to be Princess of Wales.  
    Rae would rather be anywhere but with Devon, especially since she believes her mother is alive, despite the Privy Councils assurances of the contrary.  
    The question is, how can Rae find proof of life for her mother, come to terms with her feelings for Devon, and manage to save the princess, all the while dressed for tea?  
    When the enigma, the secrets and the skeletons in the closet begin to be exposed, can Rae handle the truth? 
    Series Order: 
    Rae of Hope 
    Dark Nebula 
    House of Cards 
    Royal Tea 
    Under Fire 
    End in Sight 
    Hidden Darkness 
    Twisted Together 
    Mark of Fate 
    Strength & Power  
    Last One Standing 
    Rae of Light 
     
    Prequel: Christmas Before the Magic
    Show book