Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default_profile_50px
Grey
Spinner

Read without limits

Read this book and other 200,000 more START YOUR 30-DAY FREE TRIAL

Start now
Northanger Abbey - cover

Northanger Abbey

Jane Austen

Publisher: Project Gutenberg

  • 12
  • 46
  • 0

Summary

Northanger Abbey follows seventeen-year-old Gothic novel aficionado Catherine Morland and family friends Mr. and Mrs. Allen as they visit Bath, England. Catherine is in Bath for the first time. There she meets her friends such as Isabella Thorpe, and goes to balls. Catherine finds herself pursued by Isabella's brother, the rather rough-mannered, slovenly John Thorpe, and by her real love interest, Henry Tilney. She also becomes friends with Eleanor Tilney, Henry's younger sister. Henry captivates her with his view on novels and his knowledge of history and the world. General Tilney (Henry and Eleanor's father) invites Catherine to visit their estate, Northanger Abbey, which, from her reading of Ann Radcliffe's gothic novel The Mysteries of Udolpho, she expects to be dark, ancient and full of Gothic horrors and fantastical mystery.

Who read this book also read:

  • The Statement - cover

    The Statement

    Brian Moore

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Pierre Brossard is on the run. For his life. From a determined squad of unknown hit-men. From his former 'friends'. From his past. Condemend to death in absentia by French courts for crimes against humanity during the war, he has been in hiding for over forty years. Now, perhaps, justice will be done.
    Show book
  • The Phantom of the Opera - cover

    The Phantom of the Opera

    Gaston Leroux

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The Phantom of the Opera, or Le Fantôme de l'Opéra, is novel by French author Gaston Leroux. It was first published in a serialized form, then was released as a book in 1910. It is the classic story of Christine Daae, an opera singer who is coached in her singing by a mysterious voice emanating from the walls of her room. It is set in the Paris Opera house, and like the novel Dracula, is a collection of supposed news clippings and police reports. There is also the dashing nobelman Raoul de Chagney,who is also in love with her...but the thrilling mystery kicks in… when the voice says she's to love only it! 
    Gaston Leroux was born in Paris in 1868. He was a lawyer who at one point inherited millions of francs, which he spent like a maniac until he went bankrupt. Later he'd becomes a court reporter and theater critic for L'Écho de Paris. He'd cover the Russian Revolution in 1905, and later the former Paris Opera, which was discovered to contain a secret jail for prisoners of the Paris Commune, a communist group. During his investigation he became captivated and thrilled by the old Opera, and when he left journalism in 1907, the setting would form the backdrop for his most famous story. The Phantom of the Opera is best known as the 1925 film version or Andrew Lloyd Webber's massively popular 1986 musical, but Leroux's classic thriller is a great read.
    Show book
  • Trumpets Sound No More - An Inspector Endersby Mystery - cover

    Trumpets Sound No More - An...

    Jon Redfern

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Winner of the 2008 Arthur Ellis Award for Best Crime Novel   
    In 1840, the theatre world in London is shocked by the brutal killing of one of its youngest and most successful entrepreneurs, bludgeoned in his house. The discovery of a contentious theatre contract, a collection of promissory notes and a walking stick, its bloodied ivory head in the shape of a dog, are the only leads. Inspector Owen Endersby, of the recently formed London Detective Police Force, is called upon to apprehend the culprit before Christmas Eve. The inspector has six days to chart the by-ways of the Criminal Mentality. The case soon involves street vendors, downstairs servants, money lenders and the greatest performers of the stage. Who had motive to batter the young man to death? Without the techniques of the modern-day detective, Inspector Endersby must root out the villain any way he can by disguise, break-and-enter, bribery, mail tampering and physical force.
    Show book
  • Amen Corner - A Sam Skarda Mystery - cover

    Amen Corner - A Sam Skarda Mystery

    Rick Shefchik

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    The body of the Masters rules committee chairman is found in the middle of the 10th fairway on the morning that Sam Skarda arrives at Augusta National Golf Club to play in his first Masters. Skarda, a 33-year-old police detective on medical leave from the Minneapolis police department, is an accomplished amateur golfer who won the U.S. Publinx and an invitation to play in the Masters while rehabbing a shooting injury suffered on the job. Evidence left at the crime scene suggests the murder might have been tied to the ongoing protest by a women's group that has been demanding that the club admit women members. Then a crusading New York Times columnist is murdered on the grounds of the club two days later. Local police suspect the murders might have been committed by a member and begin pressuring the new Augusta National president for access to the club's membership information. The club chairman asks Skarda for help finding the killer before the police thoroughly invade Augusta National's legendary privacy. Skarda looks for answers from members, veteran journalists, longtime caddies and ex-employees who may know why someone is determined to bring this year's Masters to a halt. He also falls for Caroline Rockingham, the soon-to-be ex-wife of one of the pre-tournament favorites, a former college golf teammate of Skarda's. Sam and Caroline themselves become targets as the murders continue and pressure to cancel the tournament builds. Meanwhile, the killer methodically prepares for a spectacular and deadly Sunday climax.
    Show book
  • Cherringham - Thick as Thieves - A Cosy Crime Series - cover

    Cherringham - Thick as Thieves -...

    Matthew Costello, Neil Richards

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Cosy crime series. 
    
    Two Cherringham locals, roaming a farm with metal detectors, discover an amazing treasure - a silver Roman plate worth millions. They must share the reward with both the farmer and the owner of the land, the formidable Lady Repton, but there will be plenty for everyone. That night, while the village pubs do a roaring trade, archaeologist Professor Peregrine Cartwright offers to keep the plate safe in his massive wall safe. But when the British Museum expert arrives to verify the find next morning, the safe is empty! Police blame a notorious gang of art thieves operating in the county. But Jack and Sarah have other suspicions ... 
    
    -- Cherringham is serial novel à la Charles Dickens, with a new mystery thriller released each month. Set in the sleepy English village of Cherringham, the detective series brings together an unlikely sleuthing duo: English web designer Sarah and American ex-cop Jack. Thrilling and deadly - but with a spot of tea - it's like Rosamunde Pilcher meets Inspector Barnaby. Each of the 12 self-contained episodes is a quick read for the morning commute, while waiting for the doctor, or when curling up with a hot cuppa. 
    
    -- For fans of Agatha Christie's Miss Marple series, Lilian Jackson Braun's The Cat Who series, Caroline Graham's Midsomer Murders, and the American TV series Murder She Wrote, starring Angela Lansbury. 
    
    -- Co-authors Neil Richards (based in the UK) and Matthew Costello (based in the US), are known for their script work on major computer games. The Cherringham crime series is their first fictional transatlantic collaboration.
    Show book
  • Evil Valley - cover

    Evil Valley

    Simon Hall

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Adam and Dan are hunting a psychopath, a once brilliant man, demented by memories of war and the death of his best friend. And utterly bent on teaching society a lesson …
    A masked man breaks into women’s homes, never speaking and stealing nothing of value, only a document bearing their name. Soon, he leaves behind a sinister note, boasting of plans to commit a great crime; a crime that will shock the country.
    A police marksman kills two men in separate but frighteningly similar shootings. But is it murder?
    Another woman is attacked, another document taken, another note left. It claims each contains a code revealing the ‘great crime’. And it’s growing closer, hour by passing hour.
    Why does the attacker steal only documents with women’s names on? How to solve the riddle contained in the notes? Time is running out. As each riddle is cracked, the man is always one step ahead of the police – until the increasingly desperate search converges on Dartmoor …
    Simon Hall is the BBC Crime Correspondent for the Devon and Cornwall area. Evil Valley is the third novel in his TV Detective series, following the highly successful The Death Pictures. Simon is 38 years old and lives with his wife in Plymouth.
    Show book