Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Autobiography of an Ex–Colored Man - cover

The Autobiography of an Ex–Colored Man

James Weldon Johnson

Publisher: Open Road Media

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

In this classic novel from the Harlem Renaissance, a biracial musician living in the Jim Crow era chooses to pass as white and deals with the consequences. First published in 1912, The Autobiography of an Ex–Colored Man is the story of an unnamed, light-skinned, biracial narrator born in a small Georgia town during the years following the Civil War. He knows nothing about race—until he and his Black mother move to Connecticut and an episode at his school forces her to explain things to him. As the narrator grows up, he pursues a higher education and begins traveling to cities like New York and Paris. He develops desires and ambitions, but everything changes when he returns to the South and witnesses the lynching of a Black man. The horror of the scene persuades him to live as white, but this decision comes at a cost . . .The Autobiography of an Ex–Colored Man covered issues and themes not usually seen in the literature of its day. It offered a critical examination of race in society—as well as a look into Black society most white readers were unfamiliar with at the time. Today, the novel is just as moving as when it was originally published, an excellent choice for readers of Charles W. Chesnutt’s The House Behind the Cedars and Nella Larsen’s Passing.
Available since: 08/31/2021.
Print length: 134 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Call of the Wild - cover

    The Call of the Wild

    Jack London

    • 1
    • 5
    • 0
    Follow a dog named Buck through violence and hardship, loyalty and loss, finally finding himself and his home in the Yukon wilderness. Truly a must-have for London fans, book lovers, and adventurers.  
    Show book
  • White Fang - cover

    White Fang

    Jack London

    • 1
    • 17
    • 1
    Rediscover Jack London’s beloved classic in this unique hardbound edition. White Fang has been called “one of London’s most interesting and ambitious works.” Follow the wolfdog White Fang in a story of violence and hardship, morality and redemption, and finding home during the 1890s Klondike Gold Rush. Truly a must-have for London fans.
    Show book