Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read
without limits.
Subscribe to the pleasure of reading and enjoy the already more than a million books on all your digital devices.
All characters a62979f362eee8153229a51fdca0de40524eab52f63679cf7c23b9c6bb4e80d5
The Trouble with Women - cover

The Trouble with Women

Jack Fleming

Publisher: Andrews McMeel Publishing

  • 0
  • 3
  • 0

Summary

Ever noticed that women don't feature much in history books, and wondered why? Then this is the book for you. In The Trouble with Women, feminist artist Jacky Fleming illustrates how the opinions of supposed male geniuses, such as Charles Darwin (who believed that women have smaller brains than men) and John Ruskin (who believed that women's main function was to praise men), have shaped the fate of women through history, confining them to a life of domesticity and very little else. Get ready to laugh, wince, and rescue forgotten women from the "dustbin of history," while keeping a close eye out for tell-tale "genius hair."

Other books that might interest you

  • Live and Let Bondi - The Baxter & Co Mysteries #1 - cover

    Live and Let Bondi - The Baxter...

    Clare Kauter

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Welcome to the Shitty Cases Division.  
    Natalia isn’t sure about the new PI in the office. It seems like the bosses aren’t sure about him either, because they’ve ordered her to babysit him. What’s his deal? He’s keeping secrets, which isn’t ideal behaviour from someone who’s supposed to watch your back. Oh well. He’ll probably run screaming when he finds out what his first case is, anyway. 
    Billy is back at his dream job after a year away, and nothing is going to ruin his good mood. OK, so he’s being supervised by someone with less experience than him. Whatever. He’s back, and now it’s time to – wait, what? His first case is… to solve a murder. 
    For a ghost. 
    Right. 
    As if that’s not bad enough, there’s definitely something shady going on in the Sydney office of Baxter & Co., and Billy and Natalia don’t know who they can trust.  
    They’re not even sure about each other.  
    A new comedy-mystery series from author Clare Kauter. Perfect for fans of The Charlie Davies Mysteries!
    Show book
  • Santa's Little Helper - The Charlie Davies Mysteries #5 - cover

    Santa's Little Helper - The...

    Clare Kauter

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    There's a flashing Santa on the loose, jingling his bells at unsuspecting holiday shoppers. Since Charlie is currently on her boss's naughty list, she must go undercover as an elf to try and track this wayward Santa down. This means that at the jolliest time of year, Charlie will be reunited with her greatest enemy: retail. 
    Meanwhile, she must also try to find presents that don't suck for all her friends and family. And speaking of family, there's one more thing that's adding to the stress of this Christmas: Harcourt, the high-ranking cop that Charlie is sure is corrupt, has reopened the investigation into her brother's disappearance. 
    There is not enough rum in all the Christmas cakes in the world to make this holiday merry.
    Show book
  • Love in the Ruins - The Adventures of a Bad Catholic at a Time Near the End of the World - cover

    Love in the Ruins - The...

    Walker Percy

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    “A great adventure . . . So outrageous and so real, one is left speechless.” —Chicago Sun TimesIn Walker Percy’s future America, the country is on the brink of disaster. With citizens violently polarized along racial, political, and social lines, and a fifteen-year war still raging abroad, America is crumbling quickly into ruin. The country’s one remaining hope is Dr. Thomas More, whose “lapsometer” is capable of diagnosing the spiritual afflictions—anxiety, depression, alienation—driving everyone’s destructive and disastrous behavior. But such a potent machine has its pitfalls. As Dr. More soon learns, in the wrong hands, the powerful lapsometer could lead to open warfare, pushing America into anarchy at full-speed.
    Show book
  • The Girl Who Saved the King of Sweden - A Novel - cover

    The Girl Who Saved the King of...

    Jonas Jonasson, Rachel...

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Jonas Jonasson's picaresque tale of how one person's actions can have far-reaching—even global—consequences, written with the same light-hearted satirical voice as his bestselling debut novel, The 100-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out the Window and Disappeared. 
    On June 14th, 2007, the King and Prime Minister of Sweden went missing from a gala banquet at the Royal Castle. Later it was said that both had fallen ill: the truth is different. The real story starts much earlier, in 1961, with the birth of Nombeko Mayeki in a shack in Soweto. Nombeko was fated to grow up fast and die early in her poverty-stricken township. But Nombeko takes a different path. She finds work as a housecleaner and eventually makes her way up to the position of chief advisor, at the helm of one of the world's most secret projects. 
    Here is where the story merges with, then diverges from reality. South Africa developed six nuclear missiles in the 1980s, then voluntarily dismantled them in 1994. This is a story about the seventh missile . . . the one that was never supposed to have existed. Nombeko Mayeki knows too much about it, and now she's on the run from both the South African justice and the most terrifying secret service in the world. She ends up in Sweden, which has transformed into a nuclear nation, and the fate of the world now lies in Nombeko's hands. 
    Show book
  • Is It Hot In Here or Is It Me? - RJ Ledesma's Imaginary Guide to Flirting Body Language and Pick-up Artists - cover

    Is It Hot In Here or Is It Me? -...

    RJ Ledesma

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Filipino humorist RJ Ledesma shares the five universal steps of flirting that women use to ensnare clueless men; he raises male literacy levels by educating men in the finer points of female body language; and reveals the secrets of professional pick-up artists that make women do things that they will regret in the morning.
    Show book
  • The Family Law - cover

    The Family Law

    Benjamin Law

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    Now a major SBS television series!
    
    Meet the Law family – eccentric, endearing and hard to resist. Your guide: Benjamin, the third of five children and a born humorist. Join him as he tries to answer some puzzling questions: Why won’t his Chinese dad wear made-in-China underpants? Why was most of his extended family deported in the 1980s? Will his childhood dreams of Home and Away stardom come to nothing? What are his chances of finding love? 
    
    Hilarious and moving, The Family Law is a linked series of tales from a beloved Australian writer.
    
    ‘A vivid, gorgeously garish, Technicolour portrait of a family. It’s impossible not to let oneself go along for the ride and emerge at the book’s end enlightened, touched, thrilling with laughter.’ —Marieke Hardy
    
    ‘Benjamin Law manages to be scatagogical, hilarious and heartbreaking all at the same time. Every sentence fizzes like an exploding fireball of energy.’ —Alice Pung
    
    ‘Law is a writer of great wit and warmth who combines apparently artless and effortless comedian’s patter with a high level of technical skill.’ —Sydney Morning Herald
    
    ‘An addictive read.’ —Courier-Mail
    
    ‘Very funny...you may find yourself at times almost barking with laughter’ —the Monthly
    
    ‘An engaging read.’ —West Weekend Magazine, West Australian
    
    ‘Wonderful. Everyone should run to their nearest bookshop and buy a copy.’ —Defamer
    
    ‘Simultaneously weird and instantly recognisable, the Laws are an Australian family it’s well worth getting to know’ —the Enthusiast
    
    ‘Enjoyable, easy reading ... Law is a considerable talent with a long future ahead of him.’ —Literary Minded
    
    ‘The eccentric, clever and beautifully resonant The Family Law. It’s sharply written, brilliantly observed and infused with an authenticity that makes it compelling.’ —Saturday Age
    
    Benjamin Law is the author of The Family Law and Gaysia, and a frequent contributor to the Monthly, frankie and Good Weekend. Benjamin writes for publications, businesses and agencies worldwide, and co-wrote the TV adaptation of The Family Law for SBS and Matchbox Pictures.
    Show book