Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Novels of Iris Murdoch Volume Two - The Flight from the Enchanter The Red and the Green and The Time of the Angels - cover

The Novels of Iris Murdoch Volume Two - The Flight from the Enchanter The Red and the Green and The Time of the Angels

Iris Murdoch

Publisher: Open Road Media

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0


Three unforgettable novels from the Man Booker Prize–winning author of The Sea, the Sea and “consummate storyteller” (The Independent).   “One of the most significant novelists of her generation” (The Guardian), the “prodigiously inventive” British author Iris Murdoch grappled with questions of morality as well as the nature of love in novels that are every bit as entertaining as they are thought provoking (The New York Times). Over the span of her career, she was the recipient of the Man Booker Prize, the Whitbread Literary Award, and the James Tait Black Memorial Prize.  The Flight from the Enchanter: In 1950s London, when the enigmatic and charismatic businessman Mischa Fox turns his entrepreneurial gaze on a small feminist magazine, his intoxicating influence begins to affect the lives of those involved: the fragile editor, Hunter; his sister, Rosa, who splits her time and affections between her brother and two other men; innocent Annette, whose journey from school to the real world ends up being more fraught than she could have foreseen; as well as their circle of friends and acquaintances, all of whom find themselves both seduced and repulsed by Fox.   “Brilliant, witty, and original.” —The Sunday Times  The Red and the Green: In 1916, as World War I rages across Europe, Andrew Chase-White, lieutenant in the British army, travels to Ireland to see his extended family. Though he was raised in England by Protestant parents, many of his relations on the Emerald Isle are Catholic and nationalist. His arrival in Dublin ignites old resentments, new passions, political tensions, and religious crises, sending the family into a torrent of fights and alliances, affairs and betrayals. And as the historic gunfire begins at the General Post Office on the day of the Easter Rebellion, the lives of Andrew and his kin will be changed forever.   “[Murdoch is] prodigiously inventive.” —The New York Times  The Time of the Angels: In a crumbling London rectory after the Second World War, a priest descends into a spiritual crisis and madness. Carel Fisher was once a bastion of faith, a shining example of Anglican goodness and Christian values. But time and circumstance have worn him down as surely as the bombs of the Blitz have broken apart the very walls around him. His convictions have vanished, as has his belief in mankind. As relationships and desires, resentments and retributions, begin to crowd the small church, secrets are revealed that will shatter the lives of all involved.   “Excites and delights.” —The New York Times

Other books that might interest you

  • The Light of Western Stars - cover

    The Light of Western Stars

    Zane Grey

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    This 1914 novel of frontier romance by “the greatest Western writer of all time” was the basis for the classic film starring Victor Jory (Jackson Cain, author of Hellbreak Country).Feeling constrained by her high-society life back east, Madeline Hammond decides to join her brother Alfred at his cattle ranch in El Cajon, New Mexico. But she gets a rude introduction to frontier living when she encounters a drunken cowboy named Gene Stewart. Though his rough demeanor is a shock to Madeline’s refined sensibilities, she comes to realize that he means no harm—and soon learns there are far worse characters for her to worry about. There are some bad men who would do anything to see Alfred run off his land. While Gene tries to prove to Madeline that he can change for the better, tensions in El Cajon are on the rise. And when violence breaks out, Madeline discovers courage matters a lot more than manners on the frontier
    Show book