Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Caravan Moves On - Three Weeks among Turkish Nomads - cover

The Caravan Moves On - Three Weeks among Turkish Nomads

Irfan Orga

Publisher: Eland Publishing

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Irfan Orga, author of Portrait of a Turkish Family, journeys to the centre of Turkey to stay with the Yürük nomads in the High Taurus mountains. He learns their traditions, listens to their legends and lives to feel that heroes dead a thousand years and abducted princesses turned mad by grief are still palpably alive. Orga enters a world untouched by politics or the march of world events. He reconnects us with a once-ubiquitous emotional landscape – a visceral place underpinned by elemental values.
Available since: 05/07/2020.
Print length: 176 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • All Black Cats Are Not Alike - cover

    All Black Cats Are Not Alike

    Amy Goldwasser, Peter Arkle

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    “Filled with true-life tales and stunning hand-drawn portraits . . . a loving tribute to feline eccentricity and charm.” —Real Simple 
     
    This “brilliant” illustrated book (New York Magazine) dives whiskers first into the unique personality, charisma, and character of fifty real all-black cats. 
     
    From Alfie, who has no tolerance for wet humans or being ignored, to Sashi, who enjoys freeze-dried chicken by candlelight and full-on body rubs, each cat comes to life through a lovingly hand-drawn portrait and quick-witted profile. Delightfully quirky and utterly charming, this motley crew of black cats will win over anyone with a dry sense of humor. 
     
    “So fun and sweet.” —Paul Feig, film director and author of Kick Me: Adventures in Adolescence 
     
    “This book . . . is the pick of the litter.” —US Weekly
    Show book
  • The Pretty Delicious Cafe - Hungry for summer romance friends and food? Come visit Ratai Beach - cover

    The Pretty Delicious Cafe -...

    Danielle Hawkins

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    One flaky family. One ex-boyfriend who won't go away. And one handsome stranger who probably will ... For fans of Doc Martin and Monica McInerney, a warm, witty novel, brimming with the trademark romance, friendship and eccentricity that Danielle Hawkins's readers love.  
     On the outskirts of a small seaside town, Lia and her friend Anna work serious hours running their restored cafe. The summer season is upon them, they have Anna's wedding to plan and Lia's ex-boyfriend seems not to understand it's over. When a gorgeous stranger taps on Lia's window near midnight and turns out not to be a serial killer, she feels it's a promising sign. But no one comes without a past, and his arrives in the form of a four-year-old son. Just as Lia decides to give things a try, problems from her own past rear up.The Pretty Delicious Cafe reminds us of the joy -- and hazards -- to be found in family, friends and good food -- and that being a little bit weird isn't necessarily a bad thing.PRAISE FOR DANIELLE HAWKINSThe Pretty Delicious Cafe'everything a summer read should be - warm and witty' Who Weekly'Incredibly fast paced with effortlessly flowing witty dialogue, it's hard to believe The Pretty Delicious Cafe is a book and not a television series -- this is a book fans of Bridget Jones' Diary and Offspring will love to sink their teeth into' Better Reading 'A sweet, tasty treat of a tale, sprinkled with wry humour and sparkling dialogue, dusted with a touch of the bitter-sweet' The Reader booksellers' blog'The Pretty Delicious Cafe, offers more meat and bones than fluff' Otago Daily TimesDinner at Rose's'A cross between All Creatures Great and Small, Bridget Jones's Diary and something the Topp Twins would write if there was only one of them and she was straight, this is a very funny book' Next Book Club'What really carries it is the quality of the writing. The dialogue is absolutely spot on. You would almost believe the author wrote for TV or writes sitcoms. It's very, very funny' Paper Plus, Winter Reads'It's so good that it's hard to believe it's a first novel. It had better not be her last. Please, Danielle' Lee Matthews, Manawatu Standard'Reading this is better than sleeping!' Sunday Star TimesChocolate Cake for Breakfast'Another sweet, gently funny depiction of life in the back blocks of New Zealand' Next 'Helen is frankly delightful - intelligent but oh-so-human ... a plausible, relatable storyline and hugely appealing characters. A charming summer read, and a giggling good time' Australian Women's Weekly'The only problem I could see in the book was the Wallabies did not win often enough' Jodie, GoodReads'This is a delightful, contemporary romance' Herald Sun
    Show book
  • Vibrant Interiors - Living Large at Home - cover

    Vibrant Interiors - Living Large...

    Andrea Monath Schumacher

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    With exclusive projects and new photography, Vibrant Interiors features the best of Andrea Schumacher Interiors. Inviting, imaginative homes that draw the viewer in and ignite the desire to see more, ultimately revealing Andrea’s creativity and skill at developing energetic, exuberant, personality-filled interiors. Regardless of location or style, the skillfully designed homes are layered with a well-balanced mix of complexity and simplicity; sophisticated yet playful; layered but minimal. This dynamic interplay is compelling, unexpected, and creates conversation. In her debut interior design book, Vibrant Interiors, Andrea explores her creativity and ability to transform interior spaces into something unique for each client.
    Show book
  • India - History of Events Causes and Consequences - cover

    India - History of Events Causes...

    Kelly Mass

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Yes! You’ve come across a combo of 3 titles, all about different topics related to the history of India. Take a look at these topics and then decide for yourself. I’m sure this is something you could be intrigued by. 
    Title 1: Kashmir 
    Kashmir is the Indian subcontinent's northern most geographical area. It is quite different from the rest of India. And till the mid-nineteenth century, "Kashmir" only described the Kashmir Valley, which lies between the Great Mountain Ranges and the Pir Panjal Variety. 
    The Kashmir area ended up being a crucial center of Hinduism and later Buddhism in the first centuries, while Kashmir Shaivism developed later, in the ninth century. This is why so many people attribute significant spiritual meaning to the area. It is no wonder, therefore, that some travelers go to this specific area for spiritual purposes. 
    Title 2: The Maurya Empire 
    The Maurya Empire was a South Asian Iron Age historic empire centered in Magadha, created by Chandragupta Maurya in the year 322 before Christ and lasting till 185 before Christ in a loose-knit way. The conquest of the Indo-Gangetic Plain focused the Maurya Empire, and Pataliputra functioned as its capital city (modern-day Patna). Beyond this royal core, the empire's geographical reach was limited by the dedication of army leaders who ruled the armed cities that dot the landscape. 
    Title 3: The Punjab 
    Punjab could be mainly in Pakistan at this moment, but the Punjabi people live and have resided in India also. As disputes emerged between the Indians and Pakistani, the border has moved from one area to another. Still, the Punjabi society is probably a vital aspect of India's history. 
    Punjab is a geopolitical, cultural, and historic area in South Asia, situated in the northern area of the Indian subcontinent and incorporating parts of Pakistan and India. The area's limitations are ill-defined and based upon historic accounts.
    Show book
  • Capsule Craze - The Comprehensive Guide to Building Your Own Capsule Wardrobe - cover

    Capsule Craze - The...

    Rebecca Wellington

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Yet another Friday night and you don’t have a single thing to wear, not even one solid “Go-To” outfit.  
    You can almost feel the frustration that headline produces. Most of us ladies have experienced just this kind of soul-sucking frustration. Your date is waiting, and you stand there in a heap of discarded clothes desperately trying to find that combination that says you are in control, a woman who knows who she is and knows where she is going. Worse than a date, what if it’s a job interview?  
    Capsule Craze: The Comprehensive Guide to Building a Capsule Wardrobe is your answer to that frustration.  
    What’s a capsule anyway? 
    In this quick and easy-to-listen-to audiobook, you’ll learn exactly what a capsule wardrobe is and more importantly, what it isn’t.  
    You’ll learn: The history of capsule wardrobes and the logic that led one revolutionary Englishwoman to create the concept that countless women have used to create that “pulled together” look that we all want. Questions you must ask yourself before starting the process. How to create capsules that work for any occasion and your body type. Specific tips and hints for women age 50 and over. How adding a single accessory can totally change an outfit. A quick overview of the future of fashion. What makes the capsule wardrobes timeless and prevents you from chasing the trends. How to organize a closet so the door actually closes and you know where everything is. Why 20-30 quality pieces trumps overstuffed drawers and closets full of “bargains”.  
    Learn how to structure, build, and maintain a capsule wardrobe tailored just for you!  
    Save your time, your money, and your sanity. Buy Capsule Craze: The Comprehensive Guide to Building a Capsule Wardrobe today.
    Show book
  • The Psychic Power of Animals - cover

    The Psychic Power of Animals

    Bill D. Schul

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Discover the incredible psychic abilities of cats, dogs, horses, canaries, and more in this revelatory book from an expert of interspecies communication. Pets are more than companions. The animals we share our lives with are channels to another world. Documentation exists that proves animals do indeed possess a sixth sense. Discover the mysterious and fantastic revelations about dogs who trace their masters across vast distances; dogs who read minds; dolphins as super beings; conversations between people and animals; the strange friendship between Native Americans and rattlesnakes; animals who reside in pyramids; the German shepherd who taught meditation; the amazing ability of animals to think and reason; and much more that will forever change the way you look at animals.
    Show book