Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Who's Who in the Zulu War 1879: The Colonials and The Zulus - cover

Who's Who in the Zulu War 1879: The Colonials and The Zulus

Ian Knight, Adrian Greaves

Publisher: Pen & Sword Military

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

The Anglo Zulu War continues to attract phenomenal interest.  What was meant to be a quick punitive expedition led by Lord Chelmsford turned into a watershed for British Colonial power.  The ignominious defeat at Iswandhlwana was a terrible blow to British military pride but the heroic stand at Rourkes Drift, while a minor event by comparison, allowed the powers-that-be to salvage some honor.This authoritative book covers all the main players, be they military, political or civilian, with concise yet readable individual entries.  In addition to the military commanders on both sides, we have the VC winners, those at Rourkes Drift and survivors of the massacre.  Individuals such as The Crown Prince Imperial whose actions made an impact all have entries.
Available since: 10/06/2007.
Print length: 272 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Last Lincoln Republican - The Presidential Election of 1880 - cover

    The Last Lincoln Republican -...

    Benjamin T. Arrington

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    The story of the presidential election of 1880, fully explored for the first time in The Last Lincoln Republican, is a political drama of lasting consequence and dashed possibilities. A fierce opponent of slavery before the war, Garfield had fought for civil rights for African Americans for years in Congress. Holding true to the original values of the Republican Party, Garfield wanted to promote equal opportunity for all; meanwhile, Democrats, led by Winfield Scott Hancock, sought to return the South to white supremacy and an inferior status for African Americans. With its in-depth account of the personalities and issues at play in 1880, Arrington's book provides a unique perspective on how this critical election continues to resonate through our national politics and culture to this day.A close look at the contest of 1880 reveals that Garfield's victory could have been the start of a period of greater civil rights legislation, a continuation of Lincoln's vision. This was the choice made by the American people—and, as The Last Lincoln Republican makes poignantly clear, the great opportunity forever lost when Garfield was assassinated just a few months into his term.
    Show book
  • Samuel Adams - A Life - cover

    Samuel Adams - A Life

    Ira Stoll

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    In this stirring biography, Samuel Adams joins the first tier of founding fathers, a rank he has long deserved. With eloquence equal to that of Thomas Jefferson and Tom Paine, and with a passionate love of God, Adams helped ignite the flame of liberty and made sure it glowed even during the Revolution's darkest hours. He was, as Jefferson later observed, "truly the man of the Revolution."  In a role that many Americans have not fully appreciated until now, Adams played a pivotal role in the events leading up to the bloody confrontation with the British. Believing that God had willed a free American nation, he was among the first patriot leaders to call for independence from England. He was ever the man of action: He saw the opportunity to stir things up after the Boston Massacre and helped plan and instigate the Boston Tea Party, though he did not actually participate in it. A fiery newspaper editor, he railed ceaselessly against "taxation without representation."  In a relentless blizzard of articles and speeches, Adams, a man of New England, argued the urgency of revolution. When the top British general in America, Thomas Gage, offered a general amnesty in June 1775 to all revolutionaries who would lay down their arms, he excepted only two men, John Hancock and Samuel Adams: These two were destined for the gallows. It was this pair, author Ira Stoll argues, whom the British were pursuing in their fateful march on Lexington and Concord.  In the tradition of David McCullough's John Adams, Joseph Ellis's The Founding Brothers, and Walter Isaacson's Benjamin Franklin, Ira Stoll's Samuel Adams vividly re-creates a world of ideas and action, reminding us that none of these men of courage knew what we know today: that they would prevail and make history anew.  The idea that especially inspired Adams was religious in nature: He believed that God had intervened on behalf of the United States and would do so as long asits citizens maintained civic virtue. "We shall never be abandoned by Heaven while we act worthy of its aid and protection," Adams insisted. A central thesis of this biography is that religion in large part motivated the founding of America.  A gifted young historian and newspaperman, Ira Stoll has written a gripping story about the man who was the revolution's moral conscience. Sure to be discussed widely, this book reminds us who Samuel Adams was, why he has been slighted by history, and why he must be remembered.
    Show book
  • Mosby's War Reminiscences - Stuart's Cavalry Campaigns - Civil War Memories Series - cover

    Mosby's War Reminiscences -...

    John Singleton Mosby

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Madison & Adams Press presents the Civil War Memories Series. This meticulous selection of the firsthand accounts, memoirs and diaries is specially comprised for Civil War enthusiasts and all people curious about the personal accounts and true life stories of the unknown soldiers, the well known commanders, politicians, nurses and civilians amidst the war. 
     "Mosby's War Reminiscences" is an account of wartime exploits, written by a Confederate army cavalry commander, John S. Mosby. While describing his war experiences, Mosby at the same time wanted to defend the reputation of his commander J.E.B. Stuart, who some partisans of the "Lost Cause" blamed for the Confederacy's defeat at the Battle of Gettysburg.
    Show book
  • The Wall Between Us - Notes from the Holy Land - cover

    The Wall Between Us - Notes from...

    Matthew Small

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    “The biology of Israel/Palestine simply and beautifully revealed,” from the author of Down and Out Today: Notes from the Gutter (Jon Snow, journalist and presenter).   Writer Matthew Small traveled to the Holy Land to further his understanding of the enduring conflict between Israel and Palestine. While there, he discovered beauty, fear and suffering like nowhere else in the world. In these honest and evocative reflections, Small retells his experiences of crossing into the West Bank to work the olive harvest with Palestinian farmers.    He relates his encounters with organizations that are determinedly working to sow the seeds of peace in soils that are deeply scarred by suffering and war. While reliving these unforgettable experiences, through his writing he struggles to find why the wall between these two groups of people exists. Deciding to join a group of international and Israeli volunteers, Small attempts to show that, despite the ongoing occupation, peace is not lost, but still to be discovered.   “Matthew Small, despite the horror of both the war, and the wall, works and travels both sides of the divide, and brings us to an understanding of where the seeds of peace can yet be found.”—Jon Snow, journalist and presenter   “What is really refreshing about this book is the way Small writes from a very personal perspective, often admitting in his diary entries that he’s unsure what to write or how he feels about the situation. His emotion surrounding his visit and the people living amongst the occupation every day is portrayed in a gritty, raw way.”—The Bookbag
    Show book
  • Hillbilly Gothic - A Memoir of Madness and Motherhood - cover

    Hillbilly Gothic - A Memoir of...

    Adrienne Martini

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Adrienne Martini is an award-winning freelance writer. In her candid memoir Hillbilly Gothic, she offers a glimpse at mental illness from a personal perspective, and reveals how the women of her Appalachian family invariably suffer postpartum depression. After the birth of her first child, Adrienne found herself spiraling toward a breakdown that led to her eventual institutionalization.
    Show book
  • Constellations - Reflections from Life - cover

    Constellations - Reflections...

    Sinéad Gleeson

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    The #1 Irish bestseller and winner of Non-Fiction Book of the Year at the 2019 An Post Irish Book Awards, winner of the 2020 Dalkey Literary Awards, named Best Book of the Year by the Guardian, Observer, Image, Irish Times, New Statesman, and Irish Independent, Sinéad Gleeson’s essays chronicle—in crystalline, tender, powerful prose—life in a body as it goes through sickness, health, motherhood, and love of all kinds. 
     
    ""I have come to think of all the metal in my body as artificial stars, glistening beneath the skin, a constellation of old and new metal. A map, a tracing of connections and a guide to looking at things from different angles."" 
     
    We treat the body as an afterthought, until it no longer can be. Until the pain or the pleasure is too great. Sinéad Gleeson’s life has been marked by terrible illness, including leukemia and debilitating arthritis. As a child, she bathed in the springs of Lourdes, ever hopeful that her body would cooperate, ever looking forward to the day when she could take her body for granted. But just as she turns inward to explore her own pain, and then the marvel of recovery, and then the arrival of her greatest joys—falling in love, becoming a mother—she turns her gaze outward. She delves into history, art, literature, and music, plotting the intimate experience of life in a women’s body across a wide-ranging map. From Nick Cave to Taylor Swift, Botticelli to Frida Kahlo, Louisa May Alcott to Lucy Grealy, Constellations is an investigation into the different ways of seeing, both uniquely personal and universal in its resonances. 
     
    In the tradition of some of our finest life writers, Gleeson explores—in her own spirited, generous voice—the fierceness of being alive. She has written “a book [that] every woman should read” (Eimear McBride).
    Show book