Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Lord High Executioner - An Unashamed Look at Hangmen Headsmen and Their Kind - cover

Lord High Executioner - An Unashamed Look at Hangmen Headsmen and Their Kind

Howard Engel

Publisher: Open Road Media

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

A grisly tour of hangings, electrocutions, beheadings—and other state-sanctioned deaths that are part of the long history of the death penalty. In Lord High Executioner, award-winning writer Howard Engel traces the traditions of capital punishment from medieval England and early Canada to the present-day United States. Throughout “civilized” history, executioners employed on behalf of the kingdom, republic, or dictatorship have beheaded, chopped, stabbed, choked, gassed, electrocuted, or beaten criminals to death—and Engel doesn’t shy away from the gritty details of the executioner’s lifestyle, focusing on the paragons, buffoons, and sadists of the dark profession.   Packed with all-too-true stories, from hapless hangings to butchered beheadings, this historically accurate look at the executioner’s gruesome work makes for a thoroughly gripping read.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Encyclopedia of the FBI's Ten Most Wanted List - Over Fifty Years of Convicts Robbers Terrorists and Other Rogues - cover

    The Encyclopedia of the FBI's...

    Duane Swierczynski

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    In 1949, a crime reporter looking for a way to fill a column published the nation’s ten worst criminals as classified by the FBI: two accused murderers, four escaped convicts, a bank robber, and three “confidence men.” In addition to the stark black and white photos that accompanied the article, the public was most moved by the idea that law enforcement was asking them for help. Fired up by the gesture of confidence, Americans banded together to wholeheartedly support the motion, leading to tips that helped facilitate the capture of the advertised criminals. Some of those on the list even surrendered voluntarily due to the increased publicity. The rogues’ gallery showcases fugitives such as:• William Raymond Nesbit, first on the list to be captured• James Earl Ray, assassin of Martin Luther King Jr.• Ted Bundy, ruthless serial killer• Ruth Eisemann-Schier, kidnapper and first woman to make the Top Ten• Ramzi Ahmed Yousef, 1993 World Trade Center bomberThis encyclopedia includes criminals’ photographs, crime details, and “interesting fugitive facts” as well as a brief history of the list and what it has accomplished in more than fifty years.
    Show book
  • Against Their Will - Sadistic Kidnappers and the Courageous Stories of Their Innocent Victims - cover

    Against Their Will - Sadistic...

    Nigel Cawthorne

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Kidnapping memoirs sell huge numbersTrue crime compendiums sell very well and this is the first comprehensive collection of the most disturbing kidnappings of all timeIncludes all the biggest cases--Jaycee Lee Dugard, Elisabeth Fritzl, Colleen Stan, and Elizabeth SmartFrom the author of a serial killer collection that has sold over 20,000 copies
    Show book
  • Robert Berdella: The True Story of a Man Who Turned His Darkest Fantasies Into a Reality - Real Crime by Real Killers #1 - cover

    Robert Berdella: The True Story...

    Ryan Becker

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    One man’s Robert Berdella is another’s Kansas City Butcher. 
    We may not always see what truly hides within the minds and hearts of certain people, and where we believe is a good, pure individual, lays a terrible murderer capable of the most horrible acts. 
    Robert Berdella was one such man, a helpful and friendly individual who — in a spree separated by a few years — managed to capture and horrifically torture seven young men, murdering six along the way. Control and dominance were his tools, the pain was his method. 
    The Kansas City Butcher had no mercy, and his victims soon learned that he had no limits in terms of defiling or humiliating their bodies, minds, and spirits once they were bound and gagged. 
     
    Robert Berdella: The True Story of a Man Who Turned His Darkest Fantasies Into a Reality is a book that recounts the tale of the Kansas City Butcher, a man capable of committing the most truly degrading acts on his victims, a monster who will never be forgotten by the families of those young men whose lives he destroyed. 
    Be warned, reader, you aren’t just about to read about Bob Berdella and his acts. 
    You are about to walk into his very mind. 
     
    Show book
  • Angels with Dirty Faces - Three Stories of Crime Prison and Redemption - cover

    Angels with Dirty Faces - Three...

    Walidah Imarisha

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Fascinating real-life stories. It is a creative nonfiction exploration of crime, prisons, redemption and new possible futures. It looks at the criminal justice system through the lives of three people who have suffered and/or committed horrific acts of violence.The book poses the question “Sometimes people do unimaginable damage to one another – and then what? What do we as a society do?” It explores this unflinchingly, keeping the complexities and contradictions in the forefront, and moves the conversation from theory into the much messier world of reality. It offers a framework to address violence and protect communities from harm, while recognizing that everyone in our society has the possibility of transformation and redemption. And it tackles these issues in accessible ways, allowing the reader to connect emotionally with the stories being told...and the people behind them.Beautifully written, riveting material.Translates weighty topics—crime and punishment, race and identity, prison reform and abolition—into human terms, turning “criminals” into people, without avoiding the tough questions.In the tradition of Toni Morrison, Alice Walker, bell hooks.
    Show book
  • Auto Theft and the Mexican Border - (Two Thousand Miles of Unlawful Commerce) - cover

    Auto Theft and the Mexican...

    Detective Elias Camacho

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Of the thousands of stolen vehicles each year, many are stolen along the Mexican and U.S. Border. Where do these vehicles go? Are these stolen vehicles ever found?
     
    What are the U.S. Law Enforcement personnel doing to prevent, locate and repatriate these stolen cars? Is Mexican Law Enforcement personnel involved in this lucrative trade? What are American Consulates and Embassies doing to retrieve these stolen cars back to the U.S.?
     
    Learn from a 39 year Auto theft veteran Investigator who worked in Mexico for 17 years, of what happens to these stolen cars. Learn of what preventative measures (if any) that can be implemented to help you keep your car from being stolen. Learn if any current treaties exist that can help the victim of stolen vehicles found in foreign countries.
    Show book
  • Dear Mr Ted - cover

    Dear Mr Ted

    JD Stockholm

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    This is the complete Dear Teddy Series. Dear Mr. Ted, contains all four books. 
     
    Dear Teddy Book One -  
     
    Little boy little boy, 
    Curled in a ball. 
    I know your secrets, 
    I know them all 
     
    I write in my journal as much as I can. I talk to Mr. Ted. He is my only friend. He understands when the bad man comes. He holds my hand when I have nightmares and my mummy doesn't hear me cry. Mr. Ted doesn’t tell. He won’t say when my daddy hurts me. He keeps my secrets and my stories. I love Mr. Ted. He is the only one who loves me back. 
     
    Mr. Ted. 
    I keep falling asleep. Bad things happen. I get sore all the time. But I don’t know why. My mum says it’s a demon. Because I got evil. Please make me be good. 
     
    ... 
     
    Where does an abused child turn when he has no one to talk to? Believing that he is evil and meant to be a victim, he tells his horrific journey to his only friend, Mr. Ted. The boy is five. In his own words through the compelling pages of his journal, he writes in terrific detail of unspeakable abuse forced upon him by his parents. Through manipulation and control, he is moulded into a creation of their own design. Fear follows close behind in the guise of the “bad man.” 
     
    Telling Teddy Book Two-  
     
    Mr. Ted. I love you very much. 
     
    I love my Mr. Ted. He is all mine and he is magic. He keeps me safe from the bad man. I hug him all tight. We sit on the floor by the fire. I don't be allowed to sit on the chairs. I am too evil. 
     
    Me and Mr. Ted like to write stories. He tells me what to write. Then I draw the pictures about it and we make it all nice. I put it in my scrap book. My Nan bought me the scrap book. It is big and has lots of pages. It has a car on the front and my name.  
     
    Stupid Boy Book Three -  
     
    ” I am a stupid boy, with stupid hair and stupid clothes. I am always stupid, forever. My badness comes out and makes it all stupid. I don’t tell Mr. Ted though. He is my friend. We go outside and we get to play. We chop up all the bad people with our swords. We play with Andrew too. He is magic, he is invisible. He doesn’t know that I am Stupid Boy. Nobody ever wants Stupid Boy.” 
     
    Stupid Boy is the third instalment of Dear Teddy, and continues the pain-filled journey of a seven-year old boy through his horrific childhood of abuse. In his own words, he shows you his scars and tells you the lies that he believes; every page an accounting of the deliberate destruction of a child by those he loves and the strangers he is forced to please. 
     
    His gentle spirit will reach out and amaze you with its strength. Wrap your arms around him as he opens his heart once more and shares his life with you. 
     
    Goodbye Teddy Book Four -  
     
    This journey has been an odd one; I didn’t even know I was on it. Dear Teddy was born out of a conversation with my therapist at the time, a way for the child to speak after so many years of silence and being locked away in the dark. Once I gave him a pen and told him it was okay for him to talk, he didn’t stop. He had so much to say, and he did.  
    Goodbye Teddy is the fourth and final book in the Dear Teddy series, as with the previous books; it is told through the eyes of the child. He asks you to walk with him as he shows you his world. This is a tale of child abuse in all forms. Every page takes you through the horrific events and the ways he came to survive them. It shows you the betrayal by those very people that should have protected him; his mother and father. 
    Listen as he shares his secrets, his fears, his hopes and dreams. Laugh with him, cry with him, but don’t stop or close your eyes.  
     
     
     
    Show book