Instant satisfaction for your thirst for knowledge!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
City of Peace - cover

City of Peace

Henry G. Brinton

Publisher: Koehler Books

  • 2
  • 31
  • 0

Summary

When Methodist minister Harley Camden loses his wife and daughter in a European terrorist attack, he spirals downward into grief and anger. The bishop forces him to move to a tiny church in small-town Occoquan, Virginia, to heal and recover. But all hope for serenity is quickly shattered by the mysterious murder of the daughter of the local Iraqi baker, followed by the threat of an attack by Islamic extremists. Harley tries to build bridges to his neighbors, including Muslims and Coptic Christians, and digs into the history of the ancient Galilean city of Sepphoris to find the secret to survival in a fractured and violent world. Past and present come together in surprising ways as Harley sets out to stop the violence and save his new flock. City of Peace is a gripping and fast-paced mystery that will engage people politically and spiritually, leaving them with fresh insight into how they can overcome polarizing divisions among people of differing cultures and faiths.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Promise of a Letter - cover

    The Promise of a Letter

    Kathleen Fuller

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A letter brings him back to his Amish family. It will take someone truly extraordinary to make him stay.  
    Roman is on the verge of leaving the Amish ways. Feeling confined by the strict rules, he longs to do something more with his life. But when things don’t go as planned, Roman’s prospects outside of the community dwindle. Upon learning that his beloved grandmother has died and left a letter urging him to reconcile with his brother in Birch Creek, Roman decides to return home. But he doesn’t plan to stay for long. 
    Leanna Chupp has always made her own way in her small community of Birch Creek. Though some may call her unconventional—strange, even—Leanna is happy. Her unique outlook on life has meant she’s never had many suitors pursuing courtship, which Leanna doesn’t mind. She is content being single. 
    But when Roman and Leanna find themselves working together again, everything changes. Though neither fit squarely within the strictures of the Amish faith, their differences could be the very thing to help them form a deeper connection to their community and to each other. The question remains: will this strengthening bond be enough to make Roman stay for good?
    Show book
  • Three Sisters Torn - Penelope - Book 1 - cover

    Three Sisters Torn - Penelope -...

    Aurora Hills

    • 1
    • 13
    • 0
    Penelope Hartson is tired of London life. The gentlemen are a nuisance, the parties are boring, and she is tired of getting her feet trampled on. All she really wanted to do is read her romance novels and be left alone. When she meets Harrison Barstow, a scholar from the Royal Society, she realizes that perhaps she has suffered to have that one singular moment with someone who understands.
     
    James Barstow, Duke of Embry, has everything. He's wealthy, powerful, and there is no shortage of women that vie for his attention. Men want to be him and women want to be with him. He has no intentions of settling down until his boorish cousin, Harrison Barstow, brings a beguiling creature to his mother's week-long celebration in the country. Suddenly he finds himself panting after someone else entirely.
    Show book
  • The Book of Rumi - 105 Stories and Fables that Illumine Delight and Inform - cover

    The Book of Rumi - 105 Stories...

    Rumi

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Philip Pullman, author of 'His Dark Materials' trilogy, has remarked that “after nourishment, shelter, and companionship, stories are the thing we need most in the world.“ This new collection of Rumi stories fills that need.This fresh prose translation of 105 short teaching stories by Rumi, which form the core of the six-volume Masnavi, explores the hidden spiritual aspects of everyday experience. Rumi transforms the seemingly mundane events of daily life into profound Sufi teaching moments. These prose gems open the mystical portal to the world of the ancient mystic.These stories include well-known and popular tales such as “Angel of Death,” “The Sufi and His Cheating Wife,” “Moses and the Shepherd,” “Chickpeas,” and “The Greek and Chinese Painters” as well as the less commonly quoted parables: “The Basket Weaver,” “The Mud Eater,” and “A Sackful of Pebbles.”Rumi’s voice alternates between playful and authoritative, whether he is telling stories of ordinary lives or inviting the discerning reader to higher levels of introspection and attainment of transcendent values. Mafi’s translations delicately reflect the nuances of Rumi’s poetry while retaining the positive tone of all of Rumi’s writings, as well as the sense of suspense and drama that mark the essence of the Masnavi.
    Show book
  • Blue Ridge Sunrise - cover

    Blue Ridge Sunrise

    Denise Hunter

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    “Hunter’s snappy dialogue and heartwarming prose will appeal to fans of Jan Karon and Mark Simses.” —Booklist review of Sweetbriar Cottage 
    Former free spirit Zoe Collins swore she’d never again set foot in Copper Creek or speak to the man who broke her heart. But return she must when her beloved Granny dies, leaving the family legacy to Zoe—a peach orchard nestled at the base of the Blue Ridge Mountains. 
    When Zoe returns home with her daughter and boyfriend Kyle, she finds that she’s the only person in town who doesn’t expect her to give up the life she’s established far away from Copper Creek. Everyone believes she was born to run the orchard, but how can she make it her home after so many years? 
    Cruz Huntley never quite got over his first love, Zoe Collins, the little sister of his best friend Brady. Not when she cheated on him during their “break,” not when she took off to parts unknown with good-for-nothing Kyle Jenkins, and not even now—five years later. 
    As life-changing decisions and a history with Cruz hang over Zoe’s head, tensions rise between her and Kyle. Even as she comes to terms with the shifting relationships in her life, Zoe still isn’t sure if she can remain in Copper Creek with her new responsibilities . . . and her first love.
    Show book
  • Ray of Light - The Days of Redemption Series Book Two - cover

    Ray of Light - The Days of...

    Shelley Shepard Gray

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Bestselling author Shelley Shepard Gray brings inspirational romance to life in this sweet tale of love in the Amish community, Ray of Light, the second installment of her Days of Redemption series. 
    Roman Keim just wants a break from the family drama at his snowy Ohio home when he heads to an Amish snowbird community in Florida. There he meets Amanda Yoder and her daughter Regina who soon are warming his heart. But will Roman return to Ohio or will he stay and help the young widow embrace a second chance at love? 
    The author of the series Sisters of the Heart and Seasons of Sugarcreek, Shelley Shepard Gray delivers an honest, tender love story in Ray of Light, featuring the challenges of faith, family, and romance.
    Show book
  • Decision - cover

    Decision

    Wanda E. Brunstetter

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Jonah Miller thought he left heartbreak behind when he moved from Pennsylvania to Illinois, settling into a new Amish community as a buggy maker. But his heart is about to be broken again as Elaine Schrock ignores her love and rejects his courtship in order to care for her only living relative, a grandmother with dementia. Jonah is sure he won't find love a third time until he starts dating Sarah, a widow with a son. Now Elaine is feeling the heartbreak as it appears Jonah has finally found the happiness he has long sought.
    Show book