Enjoy 2020 without limits!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Battered Dreams - Dreams and Reality #8 - cover

Battered Dreams - Dreams and Reality #8

Hadena James

Publisher: Hadena James

  • 2
  • 9
  • 0

Summary

San Marcos, Texas.  A picture perfect American landscape.  Communities dominated by Friday Night Football, modest homes, and happy families.  Until the serenity of small town life is broken by one family’s discovery of bodies in an abandoned well. 
Local police try to keep the discovery quiet; they seldom deal with murder and aren’t prepared when one of the bodies turns out to be a local high school boy.  The multiple murders drive home the sinister reality that they are no longer innocent of the crimes that plague large cities.  
Based on the skill involved, the Serial Crimes Tracking Unit realizes that this is not the killer’s first time.  As the SCTU digs deep to discover the killer, they uncover more victims.  Anger and fear begin to cause panic in what was once a quiet community.  Aislinn Cain and the members of her team need to find the killer before the town implodes with terror and the citizens begin doling out their own brand of justice.

Other books that might interest you

  • Those Who Walk Away - cover

    Those Who Walk Away

    Patricia Highsmith

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    “Patricia Highsmith’s novels are peerlessly disturbing . . . bad dreams that keep us thrashing for the rest of the night” (The New Yorker).   Ray Garrett, a wealthy young American living in Europe, is grieving over the death of his wife. Ray is at a loss for why she would take her own life, but Peggy’s father Ed Coleman, has no such uncertainty—he blames Ray completely.   Late one night in Rome, Coleman shoots Ray at point-blank range. He thinks he’s had his revenge, but Ray survives, and follows Coleman and his wealthy girlfriend to Venice.   In Venice, it happens again: Coleman attacks his loathed son-in-law, dumping him into the cold waters of the laguna. Ray survives with the help of a boatman—and this time he goes into hiding, living in a privately rented room under a fake name. So begins an eerie game of cat-and-mouse. Coleman wants vengeance, Ray wants a clear conscience, and the police want to solve the mystery of what happened to the missing American.   As Ray and Coleman stalk each other through the narrow streets and canals, the hotels and bars of the beguiling city, Those Who Walk Away becomes a literary thriller that simmers with violence and unease from the acclaimed author of such classics as Strangers on a Train and The Talented Mr. Ripley.   “An atmosphere of nameless dread, of unspeakable foreboding, permeates every page of Patricia Highsmith.” —The Boston Globe  “For eliciting the menace that lurks in familiar surroundings, there’s no one like Patricia Highsmith.” —Time  
    Show book
  • The Sins of the Sons - A Gripping Hard-Boiled Mystery Thriller with a Surprise Ending - cover

    The Sins of the Sons - A...

    Vincent Zandri

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    WILL THE GRAVE SINS FROM YOUR PAST HAUNT YOU TO DEATH?
     
    Can you ever really bury the past?
     
    On a cold November evening back in 1982, real estate lawyer, Marty Finnegan and socialite, Tracy Reynolds, argued bitterly outside the dining room of the Wolforts Roost Country Club. Unbeknownst to them, three drunken teenage boys who attend the same prep school were witnessing their bitter exchange under the cover of darkness. When the boys decide to head out on a joyride that includes holding up Finnegan at gunpoint, their lives take a turn for the worse. Less than twenty-four hours later, the lawyer will be discovered dead in a patch of woods near his home. He died in subzero temperatures, without having worn a coat or boots, his car parked miles away in an airport parking garage.
     
    Now, it’s thirty five years later, and one of the “boys” involved in the original 1982 holdup has found God, and he is about to confess their story to the whole world. But another one of the now middle-aged boys is bent on doing everything in his power to stop the confession.
     
    Enter Jack "Keeper" Marconi, PI, who will reluctantly take on the job of persuading the confessor to keep his mouth shut. But at the same time, the police hire Marconi to delve deeper into the Marty Finnegan cold case file. They want him to determine once and for all, if the lawyer simply died while out for a walk in the freezing cold, or was he murdered in cold blood?
     
    For readers of Michael Connelly, Robert B. Parker, Ace Atkins, Lawrence Block, and more, Thriller Award Winning New York Times Bestselling author Vincent Zandri, brings you an action, suspense, and romance-filled PI novel that is unputdownable.
     
    Scroll up to purchase this tantalizing thriller.
     
    What the critics are saying about Vincent Zandri:
     
    A hugely successful series. Vincent Zandri’s The Guilty is a gripping combination of old-school hardboiled detective yarn and a 80s high-octane action movie. Immensely enjoyable. -Paul D. Brazill, Pulp Metal Magazine *****
     
    ˃˃˃ Tough, stylish, heartbreaking. - Don Winslow, bestselling author of Savages *****
     
    A riveting story..oh, what a story it is: grisly, surprising, and page-turningly suspenseful. A terrific old-school thriller. - Booklist (starred review) *****
     
    Captures readers’ attention from the opening scene...creates a story that... is hard to tear away from once a reader is hooked. - BookPage *****
     
    Sensational...Masterful...Brilliant. - New York Post *****
     
    The action never wanes.- Fort Lauderdale Sun-Sentinel *****
     
    Gritty, fast-paced, lyrical and haunting. -Harlan Coben, bestselling author of Six Years *****
     
    Non-stop action. - I Love a Mystery *****
     
    Vincent Zandri nails reader's attention. - Boston Herald *****
     
    (Zandri) demonstrates an uncanny knack for exposition, introducing new characters and narrative possibilities with the confidence of an old pro...Zandri does a superb job interlocking puzzle pieces. - The San Diego Union-Tribune *****
    Show book
  • White Bones - cover

    White Bones

    Graham Masterton

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    One wet, windswept November morning, a field on a desolate farm gives up the dismembered bones of eleven women... 
     
    Their skeletons bear the marks of a meticulous butcher. The bodies date back to 1915. All were likely skinned alive. 
     
    But then a young woman goes missing, and her remains, the bones carefully stripped and arranged in an arcane patterns, are discovered on the same farm. 
     
    With the crimes of the past echoing in the present, D.S. Katie Maguire must solve a decades-old murder steeped in ancient legend... before this terrifying killer strikes again.
    Show book
  • Good Man Gone Bad - An Aaron Gunner Mystery - cover

    Good Man Gone Bad - An Aaron...

    Gar Anthony Haywood

    • 1
    • 6
    • 1
    Hard times are nothing new for private investigator Aaron Gunner.  Working on the mean streets of South Central Los Angeles, he's seen more than his fair share of trouble.  But when his cousin and confidante Del Curry commits suicide after allegedly killing his wife and critically injuring their daughter Zina, Gunner knows he's about to face the hardest times of all. He doesn't buy the LAPD's version of the shooting and isn't going to wait for Zina to regain consciousness to disprove it.  Whatever drove Del to take his own life---and possibly assault his wife and daughter---Gunner's going to find it, even if it means learning things about his late cousin he'll wish he never knew. But first, he has a paying case to work, proving the innocence of an Afghan War veteran accused of murder.  Plagued by seering migraines and occasional fits of rage, Harper Stowe III is counting on Gunner to fill the holes in his ruined memory that make him the perfect suspect in the killing of his former employer. With a new era of American racism and divided politics on the rise all around him, Gunner must seek the truth behind two fatal shootings now, and grieve for his beloved cousin later.
    Show book
  • The Magic Chair Murder - A 1920s English mystery - cover

    The Magic Chair Murder - A 1920s...

    Diane Janes

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Introducing amateur sleuths Frances Black and Tom Dod in the first of an intriguing new historical mystery series set in the north of England. 1929.The night before she’s due to make a speech to the Robert Barnaby Society on the subject of the famous writer’s ‘magic chair’, committee member Linda Dexter disappears. When her body is discovered two days later, fellow members Frances Black and Tom Dod determine to find out the truth about her death.Could Linda have discovered something about Robert Barnaby that got her killed? Or does the answer lie in the dead woman’s past?  As they pursue their investigations, Fran and Tom find the Barnaby Society to be a hotbed of clashing egos, seething resentments and ill-advised love affairs – but does a killer lurk among them?
    Show book
  • Sweet Taste of Revenge - cover

    Sweet Taste of Revenge

    Mary Ellis

    • 0
    • 5
    • 0
    Private investigator Kate Weller must confront her troubled past and clear her brother’s name in the second gripping Marked for Retribution mystery.When a wealthy socialite is found dead on her luxury yacht, her daughter Lainey hires Kate Weller to investigate. Agnes Westin created plenty of enemies during her climb to the top of society, many with a taste for revenge – but did any of them feel strongly enough to kill her?But Kate has another reason altogether for returning to Pensacola, Florida, the only town she has ever called home. Her brother Liam has spent the past sixteen years in jail for his part in a robbery homicide – and unless Kate uncovers the truth of what really happened that day, she will never be safe. Now someone wants to make sure her repressed memories stay buried. Can Kate clear her brother’s name before the real killer silences them both forever?
    Show book