Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Help! I’m Alive - A Novel - cover

Help! I’m Alive - A Novel

Gurjinder Basran

Publisher: ECW Press

  • 0
  • 2
  • 0

Summary

A powerfully emotional story of four people touched by a teen’s death, award-winning author Gurjinder Basran’s Help! I’m Alive is a clear-eyed exploration of meaningful connection in the modern era
		 
After video footage of Jay’s death is shared on social media, a suburban Vancouver community is left to try to make sense of what happened to Jay and whether his death was an accident or a suicide.
		 
Help! I’m Alive explores the aftermath through the eyes of four people all suddenly confronted with who they have been and how they should be in the wake of such loss. Jay’s former best friend, Ash, wonders what happened to their friendship and questions the relationships he has now; Winona, Jay’s troubled girlfriend struggles with guilt and abandonment; Anik, Ash’s older brother, is on a search for the meaning of life but hasn’t left his basement apartment in months; and Pavan, Ash and Anik’s mother, finds Jay’s death lays bare all her personal and maternal anxieties.
		 
Unflinching but life-affirming, Help! I’m Alive is a Gen Z and Gen X coming-to-terms story about loneliness and connection, love and suffering, and the moments that bring us together and drive us apart.
Available since: 05/10/2022.
Print length: 240 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • Fallen Angel - A Novel - cover

    Fallen Angel - A Novel

    Tracy Borman

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    The gripping conclusion to the historical trilogy featuring Stuart-era healer Frances Gorges—from the author of The King’s Witch and The Devil’s Slave.   Life has never been quiet for Frances Gorges at the court of King James, but after finding herself at the center of plots and conspiracies for many years both as an accused witch and a secret Catholic, by 1614 Frances hopes to distance herself from the decadence and ruthlessness of the aging and venal monarch. However, when a handsome stranger appears at a courtier’s country estate, he immediately draws the wandering eyes of the King, throwing the established order of the court into upheaval. George Villiers is ambitious and violent, ready to take down whatever—and whoever—stands in his way, including Frances and her husband Sir Thomas Tyringham. New friends and old alliances—from Francis Bacon and Prince Charles to Sir Walter Raleigh—will offer Frances ways to resist the treachery of Villiers, but danger and Catholic plotting always lurks just around the corner, and sometimes from unexpected sources. With her meticulous eye for detail and evocative storytelling, Tracy Borman’s The Fallen Angel is a riveting conclusion to her trilogy set during the first Stuart monarch’s reign.  Praise for The Devil’s Slave   “Gripping historical fiction with a daring character in Lady Frances.”—New York Journal of Books  Praise for The King’s WitchNamed a Best Summer Debut by Library Journal   “Vivid . . . Everything you would want to read in a novel, ranging from palatial royals and intrigues to betrayals to a love story.”—Washington Book Review, “Essential Novels for This Summer”
    Show book
  • Ulysses - cover

    Ulysses

    James Joyce

    • 0
    • 3
    • 1
    This iconic work of experimental modernism “comes nearer to being the perfect revelation of a personality than any book in existence” (The New York Times).   Taking place on June 16, 1904, Ulysses follows the itinerant journeys of Leopold Bloom and Stephen Dedalus as they make their way through an ordinary day in Dublin. With stream-of-conscious narration, Joyce weaves a sprawling yet incisive portrait of his characters, the nature of desire, and Dublin itself.   First published in Paris in 1922, Joyce’s masterwork was once banned for obscenity in the United States and Britain. Hailed as a work of genius by Ezra Pound, Ernest Hemingway, and many others, Ulysses remains one of the most significant works in English literature.
    Show book
  • The Exiles - cover

    The Exiles

    Vivian Stuart

    • 1
    • 8
    • 1
    VOYAGE TO THE LAST FRONTIER...
    The first book in the dramatic and intriguing story about the colonisation of Australia: a country built on blood, passion, and dreams.
    They were transported from 1780s' England, packed like cattle in cargo compartments: scammers and prostitutes, thieves and murderers — doomed to build His Majesty's new colony in Captain Cook's anchorage in Botany Bay.
    It was a cruel fate even for the toughest of individuals but especially for 15-year-old Jenny Taggart, who was sentenced to lifelong exile for a crime she did not commit. Will there be a future for her in this unknown country, or will she succumb to a rough and brutal life?
    
    Rebels and outcasts, they fled halfway across the earth to settle the harsh Australian wastelands. Decades later — ennobled by love and strengthened by tragedy — they had transformed a wilderness into a fertile land. And themselves into The Australians.
    Show book
  • Blood White and Blue - A Gripping Crime Thriller - cover

    Blood White and Blue - A...

    James Silvester

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    In this gripping spy thriller, post-Brexit tensions are high across the UK, and the fate of the nation is in the hands of a desperate agent.  
     
    Britain is a hotbed of racial discord and economic uncertainty. Only Sir Geoffrey Hartnell, an ageing but hugely respected Member of Parliament, can ease tensions. But as tenuous talks begin, a ghost from the past threatens to bring the UK to its knees. 
     
    Lucie Musilova is a young woman running out of places to hide. Half-British, half-Czech and rejected by both countries in the aftermath of Brexit, she has no choice but to accept an assignment with a secret branch of intelligence services. As the Hartnel case—and her mysterious role in it—spiral out of control, one false move could cost future of the nation . . . not to mention Lucie’s life.
    Show book
  • Submerged - cover

    Submerged

    Thomas F. Monteleone

    • 1
    • 3
    • 0
    “An epic thriller about a secret Nazi submarine and its mission . . . a tasty combination of Ken Follett and Clive Cussler” from the award-winning author (The Novel Pursuit).   Cruising from the sub pens of Trondheim under the cover of darkness—undetected by the sonar scans of Allied enemies—Kapitaenleutnant Erich Heinz Bruckner leads the experimental submarine U-5001 in a last-ditch effort for Nazi victory. But their sinister 1945 voyage ends mysteriously: Bruckner and his crew vanish, along with their classified weapon of mass destruction.   Seventy years later, ex-Navy diver Dexter Bucklin stumbles upon an unknown vessel in the depths of the Chesapeake Bay and is consumed with the need to discover its original, terrifying mission—inadvertently alerting a worldwide cabal that knows all about the U-5001 . . . and the keys it holds to even greater secrets.   A thriller in the tradition of Ken Follett and Robert Ludlum, Submerged follows both Bruckner and Bucklin in a narrative that spans generations of adventure and horror—Lovecraftian tales at their most strange. As these men’s lives converge, a third element surfaces, influencing the Kapitaenleutnant and the ex-Navy diver to make increasingly desperate decisions, ones that will shape the future of civilization.   Thomas F. Monteleone expertly blends history, fact, and fiction with a subtle dose of the supernatural in this Lovecraftian page-turner.  Praise for Thomas F. Monteleone   “Monteleone has a dark imagination, a wicked pen, and the rare ability to convey an evil chill with words.” —Dean Koontz, New York Times–bestselling author   “Tom’s an expert storyteller.” —F. Paul Wilson, author of The Keep and Deep as the Marrow   “A vastly entertaining novel of horror and suspense [that poses] difficult questions about the nature of man, God and the devil.” —Los Angeles Daily News
    Show book
  • Scars - An Unforgettable Psychological Thriller - cover

    Scars - An Unforgettable...

    Dan Scottow

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    The wounds you can’t see take the longest to heal in this modern gothic thriller from the bestselling author of Girl A and Damaged.   In an isolated cottage on the banks of a Scottish loch, a reclusive couple take on a new live-in carer.   As Lucy gets to know her employers, she realizes the house and the people in it aren’t what they seem. Is the house haunted or is something far more sinister living within the walls?   As secrets and lies begin to unravel, Lucy starts to question what is real. But one thing seems certain, if scars cannot heal, people will never forgive . . .  Praise for Girl A “A psychological thriller with a chill factor off the charts! . . . a real nail-biter.” —The Eclectic Review  “Girl A has everything I look for in a book: dark psychological thriller, great storyline, and an unpredictable plot. I’m not exaggerating when I say I couldn’t put it down. This book is so well-written, with a plot that unravels bit by bit, just at the right times.” —Joyful Antidotes   “The story flicks from present to past as it unfolds slowly and almost stalker-like . . . compelling, gritty, dark and twisted.” —Sharon Beyond the Books   “Superbly written . . . Reading Girl A was like being on a scary and unpredictable rollercoaster ride with several shocks and surprises along the way.” —gingerbookgeek   “Fantastic! . . . what brilliant writing . . . A book full of suspense, thrills and drama.” —The Comfy Chair Book Reviews
    Show book