Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Thanksgiving Storybook - Over 60 Holiday Tales & Poems - cover

The Thanksgiving Storybook - Over 60 Holiday Tales & Poems

George Eliot, Louisa May Alcott, Nathaniel Hawthorne, Harriet Beecher Stowe, Andrew Lang, Eleanor H. Porter, O. Henry, Eugene Field, Edward Everett Hale, Horatio Alger, Susan Coolidge, Alfred Henry Lewis, Mary Jane Holmes, Hezekiah Butterworth, Sarah Orne Jewett, Charlotte Perkins Gilman, Lucy Maud Montgomery, Alice Wheildon, Amy Ella Blanchard, Olive Thorne Miller, C. A. Stephens, Alfred Gatty, Ida Hamilton Munsell, Isabel Gordon Curtis, Fannie Wilder Brown, Annie Hamilton Donnell, Edna Payson Brett, Pauline Shackleford Colyar, H. R. Schoolcraft, Rose Terry Cooke, Nora Perry, Cornelius Mathews

Publisher: DigiCat

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Enjoy this meticulously edited collection, dedicated to the holiday of gratefulness and forgiveness:_x000D_ An Old-Fashioned Thanksgiving (Louisa May Alcott)_x000D_ Aunt Susanna's Thanksgiving Dinner (Lucy Maud Montgomery)_x000D_ The Genesis of the Doughnut Club (Lucy Maud Montgomery)_x000D_ Two Thanksgiving Day Gentlemen (O. Henry)_x000D_ The Purple Dress (O. Henry)_x000D_ An English Dinner of Thanksgiving (George Eliot)_x000D_ Ezra's Thanksgivin' Out West (Eugene Field)_x000D_ Three Thanksgivings (Charlotte Perkins Gilman)_x000D_ John Inglefield's Thanksgiving (Nathaniel Hawthorne)_x000D_ Helen's Thanksgiving (Susan Coolidge)_x000D_ Thanksgiving at the Polls (Edward Everett Hale)_x000D_ Millionaire Mike's Thanksgiving (Eleanor H. Porter)_x000D_ The Thanksgiving of the Wazir (Andrew Lang)_x000D_ The Master of the Harvest (Mrs. Alfred Gatty)_x000D_ A Wolfville Thanksgiving (Alfred Henry Lewis)_x000D_ How We Kept Thanksgiving at Oldtown (Harriet Beecher Stowe)_x000D_ The Thanksgiving Guest (Nora Perry)_x000D_ The Thanksgiving Party and its Consequences (Mary Jane Holmes)_x000D_ The Night before Thanksgiving (Sarah Orne Jewett)_x000D_ Miss Heck's Thanksgiving Party (Ida Hamilton Munsell)_x000D_ A Dear Little Girl's Thanksgiving Holidays (Amy Ella Blanchard) _x000D_ Chanticleer: A Thanksgiving Story of the Peabody Family (Cornelius Mathews)_x000D_ The Kingdom Of Greedy (P. J. Stahl)_x000D_ Thankful (Mary E. Wilkins Freeman)_x000D_ Beetle Ring's Thanksgiving Mascot (Sheldon C. Stoddard)_x000D_ Mistress Esteem Elliott's Molasses Cake (Kate Upson Clark)_x000D_ The First Thanksgiving (Albert F. Blaisdell, Francis K. Ball)_x000D_ Thanksgiving at Todd's Asylum (Winthrop Packard)_x000D_ Wishbone Valley (R. K. Munkittrick)_x000D_ Patem's Salmagundi (E. S. Brooks)_x000D_ Mrs. November's Dinner Party (Agnes Carr)_x000D_ The Visit - A Story of The Children of The Tower (Maud Lindsay)_x000D_ The Story of Ruth and Naomi; Adapted from the Bible _x000D_ Bert's Thanksgiving (J. T. Trowbridge)_x000D_ How Obadiah Brought A Thanksgiving (Emily Hewitt Leland)_x000D_ The White Turkey's Wing (Sophie Swett)_x000D_ The Thanksgiving Goose (Fannie Brown)_x000D_ A Novel Postman (A. W. Wheildon)_x000D_ Ezra's Thanksgivin' Out West (Eugene Field)…
Available since: 05/17/2022.
Print length: 900 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Girl Who Cried Diamonds & Other Stories - cover

    The Girl Who Cried Diamonds &...

    Rebecca Hirsch Garcia

    • 0
    • 8
    • 0
    “Bridging tenderness and violence, and brimming with danger and magic, The Girl Who Cried Diamonds will leave you breathless.” — Anuja Varghese, author of Chrysalis
    		 
    “In these 14 hard-edged and unapologetic stories, debut author Garcia tackles topics ranging from human trafficking and drug abuse to eating disorders and middle-age angst, and in no-frills prose, carves out bizarre and palpable realities, breathing strange life into a horde of depressed, deprived, and abused characters.” — Publishers Weekly
    		 
    The boundaries between realist and fabulist, literary and speculative, are shattered in this remarkable debut collection for readers of Carmen Maria Machado, André Alexis, and Angélique Lalonde 
    A girl born in a small, unnamed pueblo is blessed—or cursed—with the ability to produce valuable gems from her bodily fluids. A tired wife and mother escapes the confines of her oppressive life and body by shapeshifting into a cloud. A girl reckons with the death of her father and her changing familial dynamics while slowly, mysteriously losing her physical senses.
    		 
    Infused with keen insight and presented in startling prose, the stories in this dark, magnetic collection by newcomer Rebecca Hirsch Garcia invite the reader into an uncanny world out of step with reality while exploring the personal and interpersonal in a way that is undeniably, distinctly human.
    Show book
  • The Fuhrer's Orphans - cover

    The Fuhrer's Orphans

    David Laws

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    In this moving novel based on true events, a teacher and a British spy discover a group of children hiding from the Nazis in WWII Munich. 
     
    When their parents are taken to concentration camps, twenty-seven children are left alone, hungry, and scared. Claudia Kellner, a German elementary school teacher, discovers the group hiding in a deserted Munich railroad yard. Only able to hide two of them in her home, she is desperate to find shelter for the others. 
     
    Meanwhile, British spy Peter Chesham has penetrated Third Reich territory. But his critical mission is interrupted when he discovers the orphans’ hiding place. Following through on his orders would have fatal consequences for them. But giving up could mean losing the war. Now Peter and Claudia must work together, attempting an impossible rescue operation with the children’s lives—and the fate of the world—at stake.
    Show book
  • The First Murder - cover

    The First Murder

    Carol Goodman Kaufman

    • 1
    • 3
    • 0
    The ME ruled her death an accident. He was dead wrong.
     
    When Mary Jane Bennett is found dead in her bed— alone, strangled by her own scarf, and with every door in the house locked — the medical examiner rules her death accidental, the result of a sex game gone horribly awry. State police decline to investigate further, but Queensbridge Police Chief Caleb Crane doesn't buy for a minute that his good friend died this way, so he undertakes his own investigation. Facing town councilors afraid of bad publicity, an angry medical examiner, and his own personal demons, he labors to solve what he believes is the first-ever murder in his pastoral Berkshire Hills village. Complicating things: the list of suspects includes some of the people to whom he is closest — including his own wife.
     
    “. . . [a] smartly-paced debut novel . . .”—Gerald Elias, author of the Daniel Jacobus mystery series
     
    “. . . one of my favorite mystery reads this year . . . With a talent reminiscent of Louise Penny, Kaufman creates a small town ambience of alliances and hidden resentments among characters whose humanity draws you in while raising your suspicions. The First Murder is an engaging and intriguing journey to an exciting conclusion.”—Sharon Healy-Yang, author of the Jessica Minton Mystery Series
     
    “. . . [a] deftly constructed debut novel [that] kept me guessing until the very end.”—Leslie Wheeler, award-winning author of the Berkshire Hilltown Mysteries
    Show book
  • Warned by a Ghost - cover

    Warned by a Ghost

    Barbara Cartland

    • 0
    • 6
    • 0
    The lovely young orphan Sedela Craven is very excited to hear that the Marquis of Windlesham is returning home from active service in the Duke of Wellington’s Army in France at the end of the long war against Napoleon Bonaparte.
     
    He, however, lingers on in London with his beautiful lover Lady Esther Hasting, an exquisite yet unscrupulous woman who is unfaithful to him while striving to ensnare him into marriage for his riches and his celebrated title.
     
    Informed of this by her Nanny, Sedela dresses up as the Windles’s family ghost, Lady Constance, who appears as a warning whenever the family is in danger.
     
    Entering the Marquis’s bedroom at midnight through a secret passage she warns him that he is in grave peril from a woman who is unfaithful to him with a man he trusts as his friend.
     
    To his fury the Marquis soon discovers that the ‘ghost’ spoke the truth when he catches Esther in bed with his friend.
     
    It is only back at his estate preparing with Sedela for a lavish party for his family and friends that he begins to realise what his heart truly desires and it is Sedela.
     
    But it seems that it is too late, for she has been kidnapped and faces death at the forked tongue of a deadly cobra.
     
    The only hope is that the Marquis can rescue her in time to save her life and their love!
    Show book
  • The Portrait of a Lady - cover

    The Portrait of a Lady

    Henry James

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Henry James’s beloved novel about a young woman’s search for freedom in a world that seeks to tie her to convention In the wake of her father’s death, young Isabel Archer decides to travel to England to visit her aunt, leaving behind the life set out for her in America and spurning the romantic overtures of her Bostonian suitor. At her aunt’s country estate, Isabel is determined to plot a new course unburdened by routine. But, prodded by convention at every turn, Isabel makes a decision that not only undermines her longing for independence, but may seal her fate forever. Among one of Henry James’s most timeless works, The Portrait of a Lady is a rich and nuanced depiction of human psychology and the tension between the pull of social norms and the desire for autonomy. This ebook has been professionally proofread to ensure accuracy and readability on all devices.
    Show book
  • Escape from Paradise - cover

    Escape from Paradise

    Robert J. Szmidt

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    A secret hidden on a colony world could affect the course of a war between humanity and an alien civilization in this bestselling space opera from Poland. It is the mid-twenty-fourth century. After colonizing a significant portion of Orion’s Arm, humanity encounters an advanced alien civilization, which—unwilling to make contact—starts a total war. There is more at stake here than just the conquest of territory. It’s a matter of survival for the human race.  On one of the hurriedly evacuated planets, Captain Darski wages his own private war to save as many people as possible. The colony in the Ulietta System hides a much bigger secret, though—one that could possibly alter the course of the war. Book two in The Fields of Long-Forgotten Battles series.
    Show book