You wouldn't limit the air you breathe. Why limit your readings?
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
The Admirable Bashville - cover

The Admirable Bashville

George Bernard Shaw

Publisher: Charles River Editors

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

George Bernard Shaw was a prolific Irish playwright who was awarded the Nobel Prize in 1925.  Shaw’s famous plays include Man and Superman and Pygmalion which was adapted into the classic musical My Fair Lady.  This edition of The Admirable Bashville includes a table of contents.

Other books that might interest you

  • Sparks of Phoenix - cover

    Sparks of Phoenix

    Najwa Zebian

    • 6
    • 144
    • 3
    As the phoenix emerges from its ashes, Zebian emerges ablaze in these pages, not only as a survivor of abuse, but as a teacher and healer for all those who have struggled to understand, reclaim, and rise above a history of pain. The book is divided into six chapters, and six stages of healing: Falling, Burning to Ashes, Sparks of Phoenix, Rising, Soaring, and finally, A New Chapter, which demonstrates a healthy response to new love as the result of authentic healing. With her characteristic vulnerability, courage, and softness, Zebian seeks to empower those who have been made to feel ashamed, silenced, or afraid; she urges them, through gentle advice and personal revelation, to raise their voices, rise up, and soar. 
    Show book
  • We Hope This Reaches You in Time - cover

    We Hope This Reaches You in Time

    r.h. Sin, Samantha King Holmes

    • 0
    • 10
    • 0
    A revised and expanded paperback edition of We Hope This Reaches You in Time by Samantha King Holmes and r.h. Sin with all-new bonus material from the authors.Ideas, poetry, and prose from bestselling authors Samantha King Holmes & r.h. Sin.
    Show book
  • New Hampshire - Poems - cover

    New Hampshire - Poems

    Robert Frost

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    This Pulitzer Prize–winning poetry collection from 1923 features some of the most enduring works by one of the finest American poets of the twentieth century.   One of the most beloved and influential poets in American letters, Robert Frost won his first of four Pulitzer Prizes for this collection of poems inspired by the cold and wild places of New Hampshire in winter. From vivid depictions of provincial life to wry accounts of city dwellers to striking contemplations of the end of the world, the poems collected here are quintessential Frost.   Along with the lengthy title poem, this volume boasts some of Frost’s most famous and significant works, including “Fire and Ice,” “Nothing Gold Can Stay,” and “Stopping by Woods on a Snowy Evening,” which Frost himself called “my best bid for remembrance.”
    Show book
  • StEpS - The Journey to Self-Empowerment - cover

    StEpS - The Journey to...

    Kris Ang

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    This is the first-of-its-kind poetry book that provides readers with the option to listen to each poem as they read through them. From the author, Kris Ang’s years of working with business leaders, couples and families, the poems were written as part of the self-empowering process the author experienced having worked on herself and others. “Step In” was the first step into her journey of self-reflection - what brought her joy and the inner struggles she had to confront. Then, “Step Up” to own her narratives and to share these stories with those who mattered to her. Though it was scary, this step was necessary to have authentic relationships. Lastly, “Step Out” to lead the life she’d hoped for and wanted for both herself and those who chose to join her on this poetic journey. Life is as constant as it is impermanent, and she intended to make it a worthwhile path to tread.The poetry book is a collaboration and culmination of creativity and love, filled with original illustrations to enhance the reading experience for readers of all ages.Readers will find some of their stories in the poems and realized that they are not alone. Someone out there understands and empathizes with what they are going through. And they have every means to empower themselves to “Step In”, “Step Up” and “Step Out” to make that change happen for themselves too.
    Show book
  • A Bound Woman Is a Dangerous Thing - The Incarceration of African American Women from Harriet Tubman to Sandra Bland - cover

    A Bound Woman Is a Dangerous...

    DaMaris Hill

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    A Publishers Weekly Top 10 History Title for the season 
    Booklist's Top 10 Diverse Nonfiction titles for the year 
    BookRiot's "50 Must-Read Poetry Collections" 
    Most Anticipated Books of the Year--The Rumpus, Nylon 
     
    A revelatory work in the tradition of Claudia Rankine's Citizen, DaMaris Hill's searing and powerful narrative-in-verse bears witness to American women of color burdened by incarceration. 
      
    “It is costly to stay free and appear / sane.” 
     
    From Harriet Tubman to Assata Shakur, Ida B. Wells to Sandra Bland and Black Lives Matter, black women freedom fighters have braved violence, scorn, despair, and isolation in order to lodge their protests. In A Bound Woman Is a Dangerous Thing, DaMaris Hill honors their experiences with at times harrowing, at times hopeful responses to her heroes, illustrated with black-and-white photographs throughout. 
    For black American women, the experience of being bound has taken many forms: from the bondage of slavery to the Reconstruction-era criminalization of women; from the brutal constraints of Jim Crow to our own era's prison industrial complex, where between 1980 and 2014, the number of incarcerated women increased by 700%.* For those women who lived and died resisting the dehumanization of confinement--physical, social, intellectual--the threat of being bound was real, constant, and lethal.  
     
    In A Bound Woman Is a Dangerous Thing, Hill presents bitter, unflinching history that artfully captures the personas of these captivating, bound yet unbridled African-American women. Hill's passionate odes to Zora Neale Hurston, Lucille Clifton, Fannie Lou Hamer, Grace Jones, Eartha Kitt, and others also celebrate the modern-day inheritors of their load and light, binding history, author, and reader in an essential legacy of struggle. 
     
    *The Sentencing Project
    Show book
  • Milk and Honey - cover

    Milk and Honey

    Rupi Kaur

    • 32
    • 342
    • 0
    The book is divided into four chapters, and each chapter serves a different purpose. Deals with a different pain. Heals a different heartache. Milk and Honey takes readers through a journey of the most bitter moments in life and finds sweetness in them because there is sweetness everywhere if you are just willing to look.
    Show book