Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Flame - The Tale of Love Lust and Art in Venice - cover

The Flame - The Tale of Love Lust and Art in Venice

Gabriele D'Annunzio

Translator Dora Ranous

Publisher: e-artnow

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

The novel "The Flame" (Italian: Il fuoco) is set in 1883 Venice and tells the story of a young artist and his mistress, a famous actress. This novel reflects D'Annunzio's romance with Eleonora Duse, an Italian actress, rated by many as the greatest of her time. Duse was five years older than her lover, and this theme got a reflection in the novel. The protagonist of the story, an alter-ego of D'Annunzio, is a young poet Stelio Effrena, a close friend of Richard Wagner and his artistic successor. He and his lover La Foscarina come to Venice six months before Wagner's death. Both of them have inner conflicts to live through. Effrena tries to find his place as an artist, and La Foscarina suffers from the fact that her incredible beauty is aging, and thus, she will soon no longer be a muse for the great poet. The book is full of D'Annunzio's recollections on art, poetry, music and is often perceived as his artistic manifest. It also reflects the real-life rivalry between two great actresses, Eleonora Duse, and Sarah Bernhardt, who was rumored to return her presentation copy to the author unopened.

Other books that might interest you

  • Look with the Heart - cover

    Look with the Heart

    Barbara Cartland

    • 0
    • 5
    • 0
    After their family mansion burns to the ground, the lovely Erlina Sherwood and her little brother, the 6th Baronet of Sherwood go to the neighbouring estate to ask if they can stay at Meldon Hall. It is just about the only habitable residence in the village left after the Marquis of Meldon on inheriting the family seat disavowed the place and everyone in or near it.
    Because of his neglect, the Hall has fallen  into disrepair – and since local workers and even the Vicar haven't been paid most of the local houses are falling down and most of the villagers have left the area in despair.
    Expecting only to find the Hall's caretaker in residence, Erlina is taken aback to find a strange man sitting alone in the darkness of the shuttered drawing room – 
    Soon she is discover why the embittered and blind "Wicked Marquis" has so cruelly neglected his people and property. Meeting his greedy, unscrupulous cousin and his beautiful lover, she also realises there are people in the world who far more wicked than the Marquis, with whom she is falling in love.
    Show book
  • Love Holds The Cards - cover

    Love Holds The Cards

    Barbara Cartland

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    Accustomed to spending fortunes on fast women and high living, Lord Wynchingham is horrified to lose one hundred thousand pounds in a card game and then finds that he is almost bankrupt. So when Tina Croome, his beautiful orphaned Ward, throws herself on his mercy he says that there is nothing he can do. Unless, she suggests, he uses the last of his credit to launch her into London Society and quickly attract a rich husband, using her large dowry to save her unfortunate Guardian from disgrace and the debtors' prison. Eager suitors flock to the lovely young debutante, Tina, like bees to a honeypot, including Lord Wynchingham's craven dissolute cousin Claude and the unpleasant but very wealthy Lord Welton, who Tina takes an instant dislike to. With great reluctance, she agrees to marry him, but only to save Lord Wynchingham from a dreadful fate. The more she comes to despise her fiancé, the deeper she falls in love with Lord Wychingham. But it is too late to prevent her imminent Wedding to Lord Welton and surely her love is doomed – until the crazed cousin Claude's wicked and murderous kidnap plot intervenes to change her life, and love, for ever.KeywordsThe Prince of Wales, Newmarket, Piccadilly, Berkeley Square, Fleet Prison, the duns, the Beau Monde
    Show book
  • The Laird's Secret - An Emotional and Moving Historical Romance about Love Loss and Redemption - cover

    The Laird's Secret - An...

    Linda Tyler

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    In this heartfelt historical romance, an Englishwoman and a Scottish Laird seek healing from the scars of war and betrayal. 
     
    London, 1953. Life is getting back to normal after the war and Christina Camble is one of those looking to the future. But her trust in men is destroyed when she discovers her fiancé has a wife and child. Giving up her job and flat, she flees London and moves to Scotland, where she hopes to get her life back on the right track. 
     
    Christina’s peaceful life is interrupted when she meets handsome, reserved Alex MacDonald, the Laird of Craiglogie. Physically scarred and emotionally wrecked by his experiences in World War Two, Alex can’t help but be drawn to the sensitive and beautiful newcomer. But as Christina and Alex cautiously grow closer, a romantic rival does everything she can to drive a wedge between them. Can these two, who have lost so much, learn to love and trust again?
    Show book
  • Secrets of a Highland Warrior - cover

    Secrets of a Highland Warrior

    Nicole Locke

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    The key to his past……lies with the enemy sharing his bed!Part of The Lochmore Legacy: a Scottish castle through the ages! Rory Lochmore had expected to wage battle, to claim land and finally secure his standing within his clan… Instead he won a wife. A McCrieff wife. Their convenient marriage could unite the two long-feuding clans forever. But can a political alliance give way to a passion strong enough to stand the secrets of the past?
    Show book
  • Love on the Line - A Laugh-Out-Loud Romantic Comedy - cover

    Love on the Line - A...

    McGarvey Black

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A telephone opinion poll unites two love birds in New York City, but when a blackout cuts their call, will they ever find each other again? After another unsuccessful relationship, twenty-nine-year-old New Yorker Callie Swan is still determined to find love. An aspiring author who makes her living as a phone marketer, she reclaims her virginity and begins writing a guide for finding your soulmate . . . On Valentine’s Day, while conducting an opinion poll, the call connects her to Patrick Walsh. When their ten-minute call turns into a three-hour discussion, both Callie and Patrick wonder if the other is their soulmate. But before they can exchange names and make plans to meet, a massive power outage blacks out Manhattan and their call cuts out. With no way to recover the call, they each set out to find the other using the information they shared during their conversation. Now, their search begins . . .Love on the Line is a heartwarming romantic comedy perfect for fans of Helen Fielding, Sophie Kinsella, and Marian Keyes.
    Show book
  • Call of The Heart - cover

    Call of The Heart

    Barbara Cartland

    • 1
    • 4
    • 0
    Half-starved, sickly and pale, the beautiful Lalitha lives in the shadow of her stepsister, the glamorous Lady Sophie Studley, darling of London's Beau Monde. Because only Lalitha knows the dark secrets upon which her stepmother, Lady Studley, has built a new life for herself and her daughter. Worked like a slave and frequently thrashed with her stepmother's cane, she feels that should one of these beatings go too far her death would merely come as a relief.The conniving mother and daughter's latest deceit involves Sophie's latest two suitors. Betrothed to Julius Verton, Sophie is dismayed to find that he has no money of his own, at least until his uncle, the Duke of Yelverton, dies.With typical callousness she plans to abandon Julius and elope with the immensely wealthy Lord Rothwyn, a friend of the Prince Regent. But she does not love him, only his riches and his position in Society. "Oh, well," she says, "perhaps his Lordship will not live long. Then I shall be a rich widow and will be able to marry Julius when he is the Duke of Yelverton after all!" But when news arrives that Julius' uncle is on his deathbed everything changes. Sophie sends Lalitha to meet Lord Rothwyn at the Church to tell him that he is being jilted. And from the moment the dashing Lord mistakes her for Sophie and seizes her in a passionate kiss, her heart is lost and her life is changed forever –
    Show book